Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb ... for me!
I'm off to stay with a friend near Helsinki this summer so I thought I'd buy this little guide to Finland's capital. No doubt my friend will think he'll have to take the strain in organising anything to do but I wanted to know a little about what there is to see in Helsinki so as to give him some idea what I would like to see.

The book is nicely organised, as...
Published 13 months ago by K. J. Greenland

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent guidebook but can be hard to find what you want
This guidebook has pretty much cornered the market, with few other series offering a title on the Finnish capital. Which is a bit of a shame as Helsinki is a surprisingly diverse and pleasant city to visit, with lots to do. The guide is slim and small enough to carry in a handbag, and includes colour illustrations and a good map. A section on excursions covers Tallinn,...
Published on 7 Aug 2011 by BookWorm


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent guidebook but can be hard to find what you want, 7 Aug 2011
By 
BookWorm "BookWorm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Insight Pocket Guide: Helsinki (Insight Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
This guidebook has pretty much cornered the market, with few other series offering a title on the Finnish capital. Which is a bit of a shame as Helsinki is a surprisingly diverse and pleasant city to visit, with lots to do. The guide is slim and small enough to carry in a handbag, and includes colour illustrations and a good map. A section on excursions covers Tallinn, Turku, Porvoo and Tampere. The information on accommodation etc. is fairly limited, as is the practical information; this is more of a book to help with the sightseeing on the ground than the pre-trip planning. It lacks a language section (other than numbers and days of the week) which was quite frustrating - they could easily have included the words for hello, please and thank you! The structure of the book is around a number of walking itinararies. The restaurant section is at alphabetical by name. This can make it hard to find what you want quickly.

Overall, not a bad guidebook and one that is useful to have, especially in the absence of any better rivals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb ... for me!, 27 May 2013
By 
K. J. Greenland "kevinthegerbil" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Insight Pocket Guide: Helsinki (Insight Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
I'm off to stay with a friend near Helsinki this summer so I thought I'd buy this little guide to Finland's capital. No doubt my friend will think he'll have to take the strain in organising anything to do but I wanted to know a little about what there is to see in Helsinki so as to give him some idea what I would like to see.

The book is nicely organised, as follows, but how useful it is, will always be subjective. Some things covered will be of interest, some will not. You may wish that some sections were more detailed.

1. A brief but still interesting "History and Culture" of Finland and Helsinki.
2. A double page map of Helsinki. It's best to use the larger fold-out map inserted in the back cover.
3. "Orientation" - 6 tour itineraries based on geographical area and not theme. This is the main draw of the book and gives a wealth of places to see and things to do in the capital. Don't expect a lot of information on every single thing though. It's all brief but enough information is given. One would suspect most people would not wish to stick rigidly to the tours but use them to see what Helsinki has to offer and make their own plans. This section has got me excited!!!
4. "Excursions" to Porvoo, Tampere, Turku and Tallinn (Estonia). This section will of course be useful depending on if you decide to go to these places. You may ask yourself why a city in another country is included but the Finns and Estonians are brothers and it's easy enough to pop over for the day or stay the night on a ferry which the locals do regularly.
5. "Shopping" - A list of some of the department stores, shopping centres, speciality shops and markets in the capital. It's not an exhaustive list but does give you a taste.
6. "Eating Out" - An eclectic list of only some of the restaurants with average cost of a three-course meal given, ranging from under E25, E25 to E50 and over E50. Some may find this section all too brief.
7. "Nightlife" - Another all too brief section about what to do in the evening!
8. "Calendar of Events"
9. A wealth of all the "Practical Information" you will need.
10. A useful fold-out map of Helsinki.

I have found this book so useful and has wetted my appetite. It may lack detail in nightlife and restaurants for you. However, it's very helpful in that either you can let the book decide where you go and what you do during the daytime, or, like myself, gives you lots of places to think about so you can make your own itinerary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Travel starts with the first step..., 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Pocket Guide: Helsinki (Insight Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Great guide, a bargain. Insightful, well written. Good pictures, useful info, not too weighty. Ideal for a city break. Splendid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not amazing, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Pocket Guide: Helsinki (Insight Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
This book was OK. There appears to be a lack of any other guide books for Helsinki, so given that I guess it's better than going without a guide book. Not a huge fan of the way the book is laid out, but it did the job. Just wish there was something better available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three days in Helsinki, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Pocket Guide: Helsinki (Insight Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
We spent the best part of two days following, to some extent, a mixture of the suggested walking tours in the book and found them very helpful with the specific Instructions. Helsinki is an ideal place to walk as it is relatively small. The book should be updated though as a few things have changed since the last edition. On our arrival we took the airport bus to the central station and looked for the suggested tram, No 6. After a long wait and some questions to bus drivers it turned out the tram needed was No 4! Otherwise very helpful and good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars weekend trip, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Pocket Guide: Helsinki (Insight Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
We used this guide for a 3-4 day trip to Helsinki last week and it was very useful. The map was clear and handy to have on arrival. It outlined the most useful places to visit and gave tips on a few not so obvious places, such as the interior of the Helsinki library. I also used it for a day trip to Porvoo and found the map helpful to guide me around and show what to see, and where to find the chocolate shop! On the negative side, the photos could be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helsinki Guide, 16 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Pocket Guide: Helsinki (Insight Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Very useful , as we were only there for the day , and it helped find our way around , and pointed out the important sights to view. Well written and illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Pocket Guide: Helsinki (Insight Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
All that is needed for a trip to Helsinki.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trip with friends, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Pocket Guide: Helsinki (Insight Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Returned with friends after going here on a Baltic CruiseFound lots more to see and do map was good too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Helsinki Guide, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Pocket Guide: Helsinki (Insight Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Nice informative guidebook ~ Just small enough to be able to take around, with a useful attached map makes it ideal for a short visit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Insight Pocket Guide: Helsinki (Insight Pocket Guides)
Insight Pocket Guide: Helsinki (Insight Pocket Guides) by Norman Renouf (Paperback - 6 Jan 2011)
5.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews