Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars16
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 23 February 2011
All you need from a great, compact guide. Information on reasonably priced places to stay, what to see and do with photography that will whet your appetite and more. The book is divided into interesting tours with small but detailed maps. Lightweight and easy to carry around. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
This was a perfect guide to use on our holiday to Guernsey. It gave us ideas for trips out with lots of useful background information. Based on the guide we walked from St Peter Port to Fermain Bay and followed this up with walks all along the cliff paths on the East and South coasts - breath taking views and tucked away bays. We had the guide with us all of the time and it really helped us to make the most of our trip - brilliant.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2011
I used the guide extensively on a 3 person week in Guernsey and found it invaluable. We hired a car and saved a lot of time by reading up on our itinerary beforehand. It is a beautiful island and we found the South Coast very impressive scenically........
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2011
This little guide book is packed with all the essentials! We went for a long weekend to Guernsey and had no idea what to expect. This book tells you all the places to visit and very detailed walks in order to get the most out of your trip. It points out some useful information about things not to miss and has a very decent restaurant guide! I really feel you get great value for money here and if you're going to Guernsey, this is your guide!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
This inexpensive book is invaluable for visitors and tourists. The tours suggested in book provide a good day to day planning for visiting the place in the island other Islands nearby. Its size fits a pocket or a smallish hand bag. hence it can be carried everywhere for on the spot consultation.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2012
Bought this having just binned the Thomas Cook guide to Guernsey on first reading(too much info on Jersey and too little on Guernsey.)

The Insight guide would appear to be the best of the bunch of guides currently available. It doesn't waste space on Jersey (great) although may have more on Alderney than you'd like. (I know a lot of GY visitors do day-trips to Sark and Herm but Alderney??)

Not especially keen on the organisation of the guide into tour itineraries (think alphabetical might have been better given the small size of the island) BUT the information IS comprehensive and up-to-date with helpful things like opening hours.
11 comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
Handy sized book for tourism use packed with information and good quality illustrations and photographs. Good companion to the all weather map.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
I purchased this guide book as I am considering a holiday to Guernsey. The book is easy to use and well laid out. It provides the basics on sightseeing and travel and accommodation available. I am pleased with book and would recommend it.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
Having never been to Guernsey before, we bought the book.

It's OK, but Guernsey is small enough to explore on your own without this book - you can drive around the perimeter of the entire island in an hour. We barely looked at it after we'd arrived

It's good to give you an idea of what there is to do, but you can get that on the Guernsey tourist website and they send out a comprehensive glossy guide for free, which covers the same stuff as this book.

Pick up some local guides when you arrive, and coupled with the Guernsey tourist guide, they'll do you. And if in doubt, ask a local!

Guernsey is a fab place, so go visit!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
This book was very helpful in planning our holiday on Guernsey and neighboring islands, there is so much to see and do there that you need this book. There are two or three books as good as this one on Amazon but each takes a slightly different approach, so choose carefully.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.