Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars visually appealing, 7 Feb 2011
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Insight Guides: Cork & Southwest Ireland Step By Step (Insight Step by Step) (Paperback)
This comprehensive guide to the area includes a pull-out map. There is a large-scale map of Southern Ireland and on the reverse, larger scale maps of Cork and Killarney. This handy map also has useful information and suggested walks. The step by step guide is a great idea with twelve tailor made itineraries, an overview of food, shopping and sights to see plus a short history. The walks and tours cover the main sights with a small tour maps showing the route and suggestions of where to eat and drink. For the stroller there are city walks of just 1-5km (1-3 miles) and for those who prefer to tour by car or train, there are much longer itineraries up to 87km (53 miles). To make the most of the scenery, suggestions are given for the best mode of transport. With this guide, although you can select what to leave out, the itineraries are thorough. The tours are supplemented by an A-Z of useful information as well as a small directory of accommodation and restaurants. This book is a joy to use. It is both visually appealing and practical. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cork and SW Ireland guide, 30 April 2011
By 
Mr. D. W. Douglass (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Insight Guides: Cork & Southwest Ireland Step By Step (Insight Step by Step) (Paperback)
Fantastic. Was extremely useful. The suggested routes were spot on and the food and drink recommendations were very accurate. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars help yourself to a great holiday!, 30 May 2011
This review is from: Insight Guides: Cork & Southwest Ireland Step By Step (Insight Step by Step) (Paperback)
Really useful guide both for driving and walking around towns and cities. Lots of information to get you started, and good directions for finding places. Something for everyone, lovely scenery, good food and drink, useful maps. Would have missed lots of great things without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Cork & Southwest Ireland Step By Step (Insight Step by Step) (Paperback)
There was nothing I could fault about anything. I would recommend to anyone. Timing was essential an it was great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Guide book explained in depth, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Cork & Southwest Ireland Step By Step (Insight Step by Step) (Paperback)
Have not yet visited Ireland but have booked to go in July,we have been considering it for several year`s now,my wife`s father came originally from Cork and often told us of the hardship of the Irish people prior him coming to England,we are therefore visiting my wife`s hertage our trip is open ended with no return journey,s booked,we wish to see as much as possible whilst in Ireland along with the warm hospitality we are told that we will recieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Cork & Southwest Ireland Step By Step (Insight Step by Step) (Paperback)
Really helpful book and we used it the whole holiday. Made travelling around with the family areal pleasure. Information was useful and reasonably up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Cork & Southwest Ireland Step By Step (Insight Step by Step) (Paperback)
This book was very good. It gave us good ideas about planning our daily trips. The maps were also very useful. We did however find that it missed out/glanced over a few areas that we stumbled across and felt they definately deserved to be included. Such as Fota Wildlife Park - this definately is worth a visit and its reference in the book does not do it justice. We also would recommend a visit to Clonakilty and in particular its Model Railway Village - this didn't get a mention in the book. Other things such as restuarants - eg. Fishy Fishy in Kinsale - a real treat for fish lovers. Overall the book is very worthwile to give you a plan of action but don't be afraid to venture off the routes suggested!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insight Guides : Cork and Southwest Ireland Step by Step, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Cork & Southwest Ireland Step By Step (Insight Step by Step) (Paperback)
Have just returned from a fortnight in Ireland where we made full use of this book. We visited Cork, stayed in Kenmare and explored the Rings of Kerry and Beara. The maps are very good, the itemised areas of interest very useful and background information very helpful. If I had any disappointment it would be that although there are listed walks around the city of Cork, there are few if any detailed walks elsewhere even though the book advertises itself as "The Region's best walks and tours". However, overall, I would recommend this book as an inexpensive introductory guide to this beautiful country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant book, 15 Aug 2011
This review is from: Insight Guides: Cork & Southwest Ireland Step By Step (Insight Step by Step) (Paperback)
Went to Co Cork and Southwest Ireland for a week, this book was brillant. It added to our holiday, as we explored areas we had not planned to do so.

Also great value for money as it includes a detailed pull out map.

We stayed in one of the recommended places in Cork, it was lovely.

So if you are considering travelling to this area, I would recommend you take this book with you and enjoy. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Cork & Southwest Ireland Step By Step (Insight Step by Step) (Paperback)
Insight guides are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Insight Guides: Cork & Southwest Ireland Step By Step (Insight Step by Step)
6.79
Usually dispatched within 9 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews