Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket guide Malta
Excellent small and convenient guide book, it proved useful on a recent holiday and withstood plent of abuse on beaches and being packed into rucksack etc. Cheap but useful for all areas of Malta.What more could you need?
Published on 24 July 2011 by Deka's

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Badly Researched
We spent 5 days in Malta and for such a small island this guide was really disappointing. At first we were frustrated with how little detail the book had in then we found it to be hugely inaccurate. The guide described Rabat as an 'untidy town' which couldn't have been further from the truth. Yes, it's not as picturesque as Mdina but definitely worth a visit if you're in...
Published 23 months ago by Alex


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket guide Malta, 24 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Malta Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent small and convenient guide book, it proved useful on a recent holiday and withstood plent of abuse on beaches and being packed into rucksack etc. Cheap but useful for all areas of Malta.What more could you need?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great pocket guide book, 5 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Malta Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
This handy book gives loads of info about the history and the places of interest on the archipelago and has been really useful for planning our trip. Its allowed us to pick the bits that will most interest us (we've only got a week in Malta) and gives plenty of detail to keep curious minds satisfied. I like the page that gives the pronunciation of various places too.
The sections on restaurants and hotels aren't particularly of interest to us but when the book is so reasonably priced having "surplus" sections isn't really an issue. It certainly contains the info we did want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, 2 Aug. 2012
By 
G. Twiss - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Malta Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Bought this guide based on positive comments in other reviews, and am delighted with it. It's always difficult to judge just how useful a guide will be, but this one will definitely be going with me. I keep dipping into it, and it will be well-thumbed by the time I get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little book, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Malta Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
This may be a little book but it is packed with information. Worth it for our weeks stay. Lots of information about places around the island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Badly Researched, 9 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Malta Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
We spent 5 days in Malta and for such a small island this guide was really disappointing. At first we were frustrated with how little detail the book had in then we found it to be hugely inaccurate. The guide described Rabat as an 'untidy town' which couldn't have been further from the truth. Yes, it's not as picturesque as Mdina but definitely worth a visit if you're in the area. Also, no mention of the Aviation Museum, a five minute walk from the Ta' Qali Craft Village and 100 times more interesting and definitely in need of more support from tourists. There was also no mention of the noon cannon salute at the Upper Barrakka Gardens, also a must see. Very disappointing, would not recommend this book; you're better off doing a half an hour web browse and saving yourself a few £s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Berlitz Malta Pocket Guide review, 7 Nov. 2012
By 
Anne Roche (Leixlip, County Kildare Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Malta Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
There were surprisingly few guides to Malta, but this little gem covered just about everything I needed to know. Most of the other guides were quite old, many of them not even using Euros as the current currency. But this guide had a very useful on where to eat, how much to expect for the bill, guides on how to tip, guides on local popular food. Also a wealth of information of what to see and how to get there. My only problem was the maps. They were so tiny that it was nearly impossible to read the names of the towns, major landmarks etc. I'm going to have to buy a magnifying glass or wait until I get to Malta and pick up a larger map.
Very good value for money, considering the limited choice on offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable on my first visit to Malta, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Malta Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Small enough to carry in your pocket, yet packed with all the information you could possibly need. Surely what you'd come to expect from Berlitz. Does what it says on the cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Malta pocket guide, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Malta Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Informative and nice and compact to travel with. Impressed with the travel tips and language information. Also included information about the Maltese cuisine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Malta Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
I would highly recommend this book as an informative guideline to visiting Malta. Pocket size makes for easy pick up and put down. Weight is not an issue. Perfect handbag size. It is concise and informative and set out in a manner which is easy to follow, including daily routes to use as a guideline. The folded maps are an added bonus in working out an itinerary whilst following the literature. In conjunction with hands on tourist information in Malta I can highly recommend this small guide book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Malta Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Bought this as it was our first trip to Malta and couldn't have managed without it, very informative and an ideal size
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Berlitz: Malta Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides)
Berlitz: Malta Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) by Berlitz (Paperback - 4 May 2011)
Used & New from: £0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews