Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy size
This guide is ideal for a short visit. It's small - fits easily in a handbag so can be taken everywhere with you - and contains everything you might want to know: a brief history of the place, things to see, maps, some standard phrases in Portuguese etc. It is also written in a chatty, personal style.
Published on 19 Feb. 2012 by Clare

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as up to date as the publication date implies
Having bought this publication I was disappointed to find that the map information was (in several cases) not up to date reflecting recent new roads and road numbering which is confusing.
Published on 17 April 2012 by Robin Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy size, 19 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Madeira Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
This guide is ideal for a short visit. It's small - fits easily in a handbag so can be taken everywhere with you - and contains everything you might want to know: a brief history of the place, things to see, maps, some standard phrases in Portuguese etc. It is also written in a chatty, personal style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little book!, 10 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Berlitz: Madeira Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
We went to Funchal for a week and this book was really useful. It enabled us to feel confident about finding our way around without having to find anyone to ask. I would definitely buy another book in this series when I go somewhere I haven't been before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madeira Book, 22 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Madeira Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Good Product, very well written and full of all the information a traveller to Madeira would need. Would reccommend this book to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a week or two's visit, 18 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Berlitz: Madeira Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
A good overview of Madeira, the culture, what to see and where to go.

I found this book very helpful for planning our visit and used it every day whilst there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great compromise between portability and information, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Madeira Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
I used this guide mainly around Funchal and found it to be easy to find information which was accurate and easy to digest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars compact but complete, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Madeira Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
the guide is compact and very handy. the whole island is very well covered.
there are a lot of interesting news, nice places to see and someting about the history.
this edition is up to date and considering the cost the guide is really a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little holiday book, 12 Jun. 2012
By 
Mrs. P. M. Hart (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Madeira Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
We had a fantastic holiday in Madeira and this book was great. It fits easily into a small bag with information on this beautiful island. Lots of hints tips, reviews of hotels and restaurants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Berlitz Madeira Guide, 18 May 2012
By 
J. Rankin (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Madeira Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
A good, very useful guide book, but best combined with another guide, such as the Madeira Landscapes Car Tours & Walks book by J Underwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very handy 2013 Aug, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Madeira Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
It took a very long time to arrive, but was up-to date and useful for our first trip to Madeira.

One point to note is that it was widely available in the gift shops all around Madeira if this has an impact on your purchase. We ended up using a great discount voucher book that you can get a the gift shops by the cable car in Funchal. Look out for it.

Overall, as far as guide books go it is easy to read and up-to date, what more can you ask for!

Top Sites were:
Cliff-top palace and gardens

Recommend the hop on hop of bus, good value for a day to get around the town of Funchal.
Pirate ship tour is good fun

Suggest you go in 2014 as there is a lot of building going on during the summer of 2013 which spoilt the port view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as up to date as the publication date implies, 17 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Berlitz: Madeira Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Having bought this publication I was disappointed to find that the map information was (in several cases) not up to date reflecting recent new roads and road numbering which is confusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Berlitz: Madeira Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides)
Berlitz: Madeira Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) by Berlitz (Paperback - 26 May 2011)
Used & New from: £3.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews