Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
14
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2012
Much of this is what you do not need to know and would never bother to ask about. This little book gives an interesting enough but extremely brief overview of some historical aspects and monuments but it is hardly worthwhile to bring with you on a tour. Moreover, it is not a useful volume for planning a trip, and there are very few suggestions for eating-places and accommodation.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2011
I bought this croatia guide to find out a bit more about the place before we go on holiday there. It came very quickly from the seller and is a mine of information. We will definately be taking the book with us to assist us whilst on holiday.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
This is a really nice little travel guide. Handy hints and tips and ideas for great places to go. Really lovely pictures which is a must for me and because its only small and light it's just perfect to fit into your hand luggage.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
This book was ordered to get some holiday ideas. It stated that it was used, and when it arrived I was pleasantly surprized as the book was as good as new. There were no marks or writing in it and it was reduced greatly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2012
it's nice, handy, light, a lot of info about history, food, restaurants but especially about culture and itineraries to do. ideal for backbag holidays ;)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
Great coverage, perfect size for bag or pocket. Includes detailed maps of major destinations inc. Dubrovnik. History section, top things to do etc. Ideal if you want a general overview of resorts etc. Although if more detail is required I'd recommend purchasing a destination specific book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
I bought this guide book for a short trip to Croatia, where I travelled between Split and Zagreb (the two largest cities). I needed a small guide book as I was travelling between quite a few countries and needed something that didn't weigh a lot, or take up much room.

As a introduction to the country, the book is good. As with the others in this series, it contains a helpful potted history. This is as well as a useful practical info section, short phrases section and eating out etc. But in terms of anything else, the book is pretty terrible. The sections on Zagreb/Split were tiny and just simply do not contain enough info to be useful. Size is not an excuse, as I also purchased a similar-sized Lonely Planet Pocket Guide for Berlin, which contained mountains more information on what to do/where to go.

Lastly, one of the major bug bears I have with this book is that it does not cater at all for budget travellers. There was very little/no information on hostels, and the restaurants seemed to be exclusively mid-range and up. Considering that this is probably the cheapest guide book you can buy, this is pretty ridiculous!

Therefore, I would only recommend this guide book if you already know what you want to do/go to in Croatia, and you want a brief go-to-book for practical information/phrases. If not, avoid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
Only covers the very basic and the place I am planning on going to had only one sentence written about it in the whole book. Found more info on the Internet than in this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
Going on a package holiday to Istria not as helpful as might have hopes. The quoted prices for food and drink were way out of line for where we stayed (Porec)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
I like these little travel books as they are easy to carry around with you. They give lots of useful information condensed in small space.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)