Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book.
A great little purchase, as we had heard so many scary stories about Tunisia this little book put our minds at rest with the do's and dont's about going to Tunisia. I would recommend this little book for anyone travelling to Tunisia. Excellent value. Great seller, would I recommed this seller, yes I would prompt service and a quick delivery.
Published on 13 Dec. 2012 by Caz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Berlitz:Tunisia Pocket Guide
I bought this book as I couldn't find a book specifically for Tunis. But the book seemed to have a whole section on Tunis when I read about it on Amazon, so I thought that would be exactly what I needed. Not so. The book is far too general and has only a small amount of info on specific tourist sites, restaurants, hotels etc. A couple of areas near Tunis like Carthage and...
Published on 24 April 2012 by Myrev


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book., 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Tunisia Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
A great little purchase, as we had heard so many scary stories about Tunisia this little book put our minds at rest with the do's and dont's about going to Tunisia. I would recommend this little book for anyone travelling to Tunisia. Excellent value. Great seller, would I recommed this seller, yes I would prompt service and a quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Berlitz:Tunisia Pocket Guide, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Tunisia Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this book as I couldn't find a book specifically for Tunis. But the book seemed to have a whole section on Tunis when I read about it on Amazon, so I thought that would be exactly what I needed. Not so. The book is far too general and has only a small amount of info on specific tourist sites, restaurants, hotels etc. A couple of areas near Tunis like Carthage and Sidi Bou Said, are described in slightly more detail, but on the whole, this guide is more of an oveview of Tunisia. It explains in general what kind of food to expect, without recommending any specific restaurant, or beaches, or museums, or any other tourist attractions. I know that Tunis is not a big tourist destination compared to Hammamet or Souss etc. but to have a tourist guide on a whole country, I suppose you can never really expect great detail. We went to Tunisia 3 weeks ago, and used a Lonely Planets guide instead, which was much better, just go to the Lonely Planets website. But also very useful, we found, is to get a local tourist map when you get there (hotels usually have them for free), as this has all the best tourist sites in and near Tunis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb guides to every country, 24 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Tunisia Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Berlitz are superb guides! They manage to cover all the important points, find all the information you could need, and produce it all inside a colourful, concise and really useful format.
We went to Tunisia shortly after the Arab Spring, and weren't able to put the whole book to the test: but what we saw was made far more informative through reading the Berlitz guide first; and it all links in to what we could not see on this occasion.

The photography is superb: photos you could probably not get by yourself, and so clear that the detail of eg mosaic panels is more precise than you can actually observe on site - partly because you could not get close enough; partly because to take good photos of mosaics often means sluicing them with water before the shutter clicks.

The information in Berlitz guides includes where to eat out locally, and the kind of local specialities - both food and souvenirs.

Altogether: another excellent guide, and an inducement to revisit Tunisia as soon as it becomes possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Berlitz, Tunisia pocket guide, 8 Sept. 2011
By 
This review is from: Berlitz: Tunisia Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
An excellent guide to Tunisia, contains much usefull information on customs, places of interest and many other things too. A very good handy guide.
Great service from Amazon too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but a little out of date, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Tunisia Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
This book was useful but is slightly out of date, as some of the shops, restaurants ect had now closed down. It was very useful for information in relation to tourist sights as some of the local tour guides had poor English or wouldn't explain things unless you paid them. It also didn't prepare for the culture of Tunisia for example the constant harassment and having to pay for added extras. For example we paid to visit a zoo but had to pay the zoo keepers to tell us information or let us feed the animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just enough information, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Tunisia Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Wanted a basic book before heading to Tunisia and this was just right! Its a bit out of date but quite adequate for resort holidays!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile Buy!!, 29 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Berlitz: Tunisia Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
A great value for money buy - very informative and a great way to prepare and gain some local knowledge for our Tunisia trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handy little guide, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Tunisia Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Handy little book to take away with you. Nice size to take out and about with you, and has a few tips and some language help on some simple phrases. Would be nice if it had some more basic language in it but other than that I good useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars all the sites were deserted and it was sad to see but nevertheless great for photography without crowds, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Tunisia Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Was there on holiday just after the Arab Spring and we were welcomed with open arms, all the sites were deserted and it was sad to see but nevertheless great for photography without crowds. The guide was as usual invalueable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars hOLIDAY NECCESSITY, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Tunisia Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
THIS WAS PURCHASED FOR MY GRAND DAUGHTER AND FRIENDS.
IT WAS VERY INFORMATIVE AND HELPFUL. THE PHRASES AND TIPS WERE UP TO THE STANDARD THAT i HAVEALWAYS RECEIVED FROM THIS TYPE OF PRODUCT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Berlitz: Tunisia Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides)
Berlitz: Tunisia Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) by Berlitz (Paperback - 14 May 2009)
Used & New from: £2.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews