Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good guide
Handy book
Published 1 month ago by Ab

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Handy size - good taster of whole region
I chose this guidebook over the others because none of them devote many pages to Malcesine, Limone and other northern points on Lake Garda and this was the smallest, so handy to carry. I liked the maps in various scales inside the front and back covers. The little "asides" in the page corners are illuminating and the general information at the back is useful, e.g. about...
Published on 9 Oct 2009 by S. Woods


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Handy size - good taster of whole region, 9 Oct 2009
By 
S. Woods "gem seeker" (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Berlitz: Italian Lakes & Verona Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
I chose this guidebook over the others because none of them devote many pages to Malcesine, Limone and other northern points on Lake Garda and this was the smallest, so handy to carry. I liked the maps in various scales inside the front and back covers. The little "asides" in the page corners are illuminating and the general information at the back is useful, e.g. about food and wine specialities of the region.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't choose for Verona information, 18 May 2010
By 
S. Cockle (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Berlitz: Italian Lakes & Verona Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
I would not recommend this book for visitors requiring information on Verona. Looking at the guide book you would be forgiven for thinking that there was very little to do in Verona and not much in the way of recommended restaurants. Although Verona is quite small there are lots of interesting places to visit which could have been covered in more detail in the guide book. We also ate in very good osterias which weren't given a mention in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Far too superficial to be of any real use, 25 Jun 2011
This review is from: Berlitz: Italian Lakes & Verona Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
I was struggling to find any guidebooks before a recent trip to Verona so ended up picking this one thinking that it would provide at least some useful information about the city - especially as the title specifically refers to Verona.

As it turned out the Lonely Planet book about Venice I bought a couple of years ago had more useful information about Verona in the excursion section than the 6 measly pages this book devotes to the city.

I'm giving this book 1 stars for the fact that it actually has some information about Verona and the lakes. I was considering giving it a second star for the handy size but this has to be countered by the fact that the size is achieved by omitting valuable information.

When I arrived in Verona I purchased a widely available guide book called "Verona - new practical guide" which is available in a number of languages, including English, for 5.00. This book was infinitely more useful as it included lots of information about sights presented in the form of walking tour itineraries. And if you want books covering the Italian lakes then better ones are published by both Rough Guides and Lonely Planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Travel Guide, 12 July 2012
This review is from: Berlitz: Italian Lakes & Verona Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Probably a great guide if you are touring the lakes but as we were only in one place on lake garda there wasn't much relevant info for our location.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ARRIVED TOO LATE, 28 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Italian Lakes & Verona Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
I ordered this item together with the one on Venice a week before I was due to go on holiday, they both arrived after I had set off so were no good to me on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berlitz: Italian Lakes & Verona Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Handy book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Berlitz: Italian Lakes & Verona Pocket Guide (Berlitz Pocket Guides)
Used & New from: 3.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews