Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply, a magic read for business writers...
As a professional - and professionally jaded - hack in business writing, I thought I'd pretty much seen and read it all before.
But 'We Me Them & It' is something else.
If you have been writing for senior managers as long as I have then you'll know how easy it is to get into a groove. You might also know how imperceptibly that groove can...
Published on 19 Mar 2006

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks substance and better books are available
This was a disappointing book from start to finish, given it's powerful claim of how to write powerfully for business.

For me, I found it to be flawed on a number of points:

1. The book seems to extract 'writing for business' from all other facets of marketing and communications, and treats it as a completely separate entity. Given that writing for...
Published on 20 Sep 2011 by G Marwaha


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply, a magic read for business writers..., 19 Mar 2006
By A Customer
As a professional - and professionally jaded - hack in business writing, I thought I'd pretty much seen and read it all before.
But 'We Me Them & It' is something else.
If you have been writing for senior managers as long as I have then you'll know how easy it is to get into a groove. You might also know how imperceptibly that groove can become a rut.
'We, Me, Them & It' is like a great blast of fresh air. I challenge any professional writer, however cynical, not to be moved and (yes I admit it) inspired.
So do yourself, your clients and above all your writing a favour. Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A man with a passion, a book with a purpose, 23 Mar 2010
Crafted by the seasoned wordsmith John Simmons, "We, Me, Them & It" is a gloriously fresh perspective on copywriting. This how-to book is written in such an eloquent style and with such passion that you hardly notice you're actually being instructed.

The book looks at branding and copywriting by focusing on four different components: the company (we), the writer themself (me), the audience (them) and the product or service (it). John Simmons takes us through past projects he has been assigned in each area, how we can write from the perspective of each in a more more emotive style, how we can develop a tone of voice, how if we can be passionate about words and word usage, and bring more of ourselves to work, we can write better for business.

Having read one or two frightfully dull books on copywriting in the past year, this book was a joy to read. And it certainly inspired me to fire up the computer and get typing away!

"We, Me, Them & It" is well worth investing in for an alternative, engaging take on copywriting. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best there is..., 28 April 2009
By 
Kerry Lackey "Passion-Stoker" (Malaga, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If words are your porn; John Simmons is a star.

I devoured his book We, Me, Them and It in one swift helping and more recently, gorged my way through The Invisible Grail too. If your work involves putting mind to paper (or screen) to outpour readable offerings, may I suggest that you click on Add To Shopping Basket now.

When words are all we have, learning wordsmith wizardry at the foot of such a sorcerer, is a rare treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Simmons knows his stuff, 23 Jun 2014
By 
Julian Abel "Jah Shiva" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you write or communicate for a living, read this book. John does much more than tell, he brings you into his world of writing for business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and Entertaining, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is far from the tutorial you might expect from a book about brand language. It's full of stories and case studies, some of which are factual and thought provoking. Others are funny and endearing. 'We, Me, Them and It' also offers an insight into the author's history, both working and personal. There are some fantastic quotations and opinions within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 8 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We, Me, Them and it: How to Write Powerfully for Business (Writers Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
Simmons spends time explaining his proven ideas of best practise and, crucially, why the techniques proscribed work. Highly recommended read for professional writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful and Thought Provoking, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We, Me, Them and it: How to Write Powerfully for Business (Writers Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
I initially saw this book in the local library and borrowed it on a whim. After a dozen or so pages, I was on Amazon ordering my own copy, as I wanted one to keep for myself. It's a difficult book to sum up. It's a business book in one way, an essay on language on another and an homage to the power of words throughout. I suddenly found myself, at the author's prompting, going back to read some favourite poems I hadn't read in years, and wanting to find some new ones. I started to think about the language I hear and use every day at work, and found myself wanting to communicate much more simply and directly. Drop the jargon. Say what you mean. Say it with feeling when you need to.
In it's way, it's inspirational, but in a subtle sense. You might not finishing this book feeling you want to go out there and knock down doors, more that you'd like to open them up through an emotive persuasion. (Yikes, I even seem to be trying to employ some of the stuff I learned in this review! That's enough of that then.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks substance and better books are available, 20 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We, Me, Them and it: How to Write Powerfully for Business (Writers Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
This was a disappointing book from start to finish, given it's powerful claim of how to write powerfully for business.

For me, I found it to be flawed on a number of points:

1. The book seems to extract 'writing for business' from all other facets of marketing and communications, and treats it as a completely separate entity. Given that writing for any form of communication needs to fit in the wider communication/marketing strategy - tone of voice, the target audience, the type of communication (print, online etc) - I cannot see how you can separate it out.

2. The author talks about himself and his projects - a lot. On just about every page are tedious links and examples to his work - no sense of balance to other work and communications that he has seen/read. It almost reads like a series of memoirs. I was expecting non-John Simmons examples of what works well and what hasn't worked well. It is difficult to relate to work that you haven't seen.

3. There is no flow to the book. You would expect some clear chapters on writing for various forms of business communications, yet the book reads like a collection of paragraphs that have been cut and pasted together. In the end, Simmons' has done a good job of over-complicating a topic that other books cover more succinctly.

And, not the author's fault, the book book was written in 2006 - it's actually very dated now (for example, he thinks the word "stakeholder" would no longer be used in a couple of years).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

We, Me, Them and it: How to Write Powerfully for Business (Writers Trilogy 1)
£8.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews