Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab book for a recent holiday to Lake Como
This book is great and I used it on a recent holiday to Lake Como - it has a friendly and informative writing style and loads of pictures to give you a real flavour of what's to come on your holiday. The map that comes with it is also great - especially if you have your own car while you're away on your holiday as it recommends drives around a number of areas. The only...
Published on 15 Jun. 2009 by Baglady

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars supplements needed
The "insight" is a very nice and shiny book, but cannot stand alone for vacation purposes. It is a bit monochrome in its perspective, as it appears that the suggested sites are the impressions of a single individual, rather than a compatilation of all the things in the area. We used for a vacation at Como Lake, and it needed more specific companions, in order to work as a...
Published on 3 July 2011 by KRISTINE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab book for a recent holiday to Lake Como, 15 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Insight Guides: Italian Lakes (Insight Regional Guide) (Paperback)
This book is great and I used it on a recent holiday to Lake Como - it has a friendly and informative writing style and loads of pictures to give you a real flavour of what's to come on your holiday. The map that comes with it is also great - especially if you have your own car while you're away on your holiday as it recommends drives around a number of areas. The only downside to the book (and all others that cover a 'region') is that it can't drill into the detail in any one place although it does a very good job of pointing out the key attractions of each location in the Italian Lakes area. I took 2 books on the area on holiday, the other being the Rough Guide to the Italian Lakes which is much more text driven and focuses on alot of useful, practical information. Between both books I got everything I needed to ensure that I covered everything I wanted to while away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars supplements needed, 3 July 2011
This review is from: Insight Guides: Italian Lakes (Insight Regional Guide) (Paperback)
The "insight" is a very nice and shiny book, but cannot stand alone for vacation purposes. It is a bit monochrome in its perspective, as it appears that the suggested sites are the impressions of a single individual, rather than a compatilation of all the things in the area. We used for a vacation at Como Lake, and it needed more specific companions, in order to work as a complete guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better researched, 5 July 2012
This review is from: Insight Guides: Italian Lakes (Insight Regional Guide) (Paperback)
I bought this book after browsing a copy in a bookstore, as it seemed to be very comprehensive and I liked the driving tours in the back. We used the book for a trip that included Verona, Lakes Garda and Iseo, Brescia and Bergamo, but took another book to supplement it for our time in Milan, as this book only covers Milan in a very cursory manner.

First the good - the restaurant recommendations that we used were all very good and the photos and information in the book were helpful in the advance planning for our trip.

The not so good - there were some inaccuracies in the book (eg photos with the wrong captions, towns that were described as worth a visit that turned out to be dreadful holes, driving routes that were just wrong) and a significant amount of vagueness in the driving directions. This last was a real problem, as our Michelin road map was not very detailed and the Italians do not believe in clear informative road signs. We spent a lot of time turning round and retracing our steps trying to find the right road.

I actually began to question whether the author had personally visited the region, or based the book on other travel guides and a bit of Google to be honest. It's a shame, as the format of the book is very good, it's just the lack of research that lets it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insight Italian Lakes Guide, 26 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insight Guides: Italian Lakes (Insight Regional Guide) (Paperback)
Not a bad purchase - but I found that I really needed another guide to supplement this insight one to give me the fullest details of the lago Maggiore location we visited. The piece on Stresa, where we were staying, was adequate but not detailed enough to my mind. In short, a worthwhile purchase (at an Amazon cost of about 50% of the publishers' price).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No insight whatsover, you're better off just going to tourist info, 23 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Insight Guides: Italian Lakes (Insight Regional Guide) (Paperback)
This book is singularly the most useless and ill-researched guide book I have ever consulted. I am just back from a trip around Lake Como and Lake Maggiore, and frankly, the majority of the advice in this book, thin as it is, is best avoided. Bellagio is hardly a "three star" destination, its just a grotesque tourist trap. It would have been helpful if the guide had actually pointed out that its practically impossible to swim anywhere on Lake Como (because of the absence of beaches and because its quite dirty and smells of marine diesel from all the motorised lake traffic). That would have actually been a bit of insight.

My personal favourite recommendation by this book was an eatery in Locarno, only one of three of four that it recommended in the city - Casa Del Populo. Aside from the use of tinned vegetables (mushrooms and artichokes) on a pizza made in the Ticino (a positively Mediterranean climate with abundant fresh vegetables and markets), I do object to be charged CHF10 (about £6) for a bottle of San Pellegrino. Maybe the Insight reviewers make their status known in advance so they get better treatment than us average joes when they eat out?

Genuinely, save your money, do a bit of research beforehand on the internet, and then pop in to the tourist info when you arrive and ask your hosts in the region. Or just follow your nose. You are bound to have more insight inherently than any information you will glean from this superficial and lazily thrown together guide book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Guide for Lake Maggiore i found, 30 May 2012
This review is from: Insight Guides: Italian Lakes (Insight Regional Guide) (Paperback)
I bought a selection of guides for a holiday to Lake Maggiore and this one was definately the best- can't comment on Como and Garda but seemed ok for them as well. Full of plenty of pictures , maps , information in a style and design easily readable and a size format that i could easily carry about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Insight Guides: Italian Lakes (Insight Regional Guide)
Insight Guides: Italian Lakes (Insight Regional Guide) by Insight Guides (Paperback - 18 Feb. 2009)
Used & New from: £0.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews