Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2011
My daughter likes playing with these cards and they are a bright and colourful way to learn Spanish words (though the choice of them seems rather random at times). However, as another reviewer noted they use South American Spanish which is sometimes different from Castillian. For example, the Castillian word for car is 'coche' but here they give 'carro'. And banana in Castillian is platano, whereas these cards have 'banana'. Having accidentally used the latter in Spain before I can guarantee you'll get confused looks!

The Spanish words are spelt phonetically too which is a great idea but again the pronunciations are South American. This really isn't a problem unless you want your child to learn Castillian Spanish which I do so I am having to adjust things a little.

Nice idea - but perhaps the publishers could release a Castillian version for Europe?
1010 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2010
I bought these for my 4yr old because she was showing an interest in spanish, mainly from watching Handy Manny. The cards themselves work very well for her except she sometimes gets confused wth the numbers because they use a picture of something ie 3 carrots for the number 3. So she is not always sure if its the number or the picture. I suppose the repetition would eventually solve that problem. I would have thought using the number of dots for the corresponding number would have been better for a child. I still give it 4stars because apart from that they still do the job quite well.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
I bought this item to my boyfriend. However, many words are in Spanish from South America. It is ok whether you want to learn Spanish from Venezuela or learn some vocabulary, but it is not Spanish from Spain.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2011
My kids loves to play with this cards, and they learn both English and Spanish words. We play the cards in different ways according to the rules or we invent new games.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
It says these are for kids, but they are just as useful for someone of my more advanced age to start out on!! Very useful.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
Very basic but even they managed to have mistakes. Five of the flash cards are totally wrong:
For car it says carro and in Spanish is COCHE!
For banana it says banana, and in Spanish is PLATANO!
For living room it says sala and in Spanish is CUARTO DE ESTAR
For Orange de colour it says anaranjado and in Spanish is NARANJA same as the fruit
For Deer it says venado and in Spanish is CIERVO

I AM returning them and never buying from Berlitz if all their product have got this kind of quality checks.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
Apart from language learning and revision, the colourful simple illustration led to further conversation and creative art activity. This is an extremely useful toll working with kids. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
These cards are fine if you're learning Mexican Spanish, but the phonetic pronunciations are no good if you are trying to teach children Spain Spanish. Words and pronunciations are different.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
This set of flashcards is excellent. Words are appropriate for beginners and very easy to read as the pronounciations are clearly detailed. Very good strong cards in bright cheery colours
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
this is basic but good for absolute beginner who needs to build vocabulary and has difficulty remembering the spanish pronunciations
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)