Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a true story of amazing courage and survival
This was quite harrowing to read at times. What men are capable of doing to each other is mind boggling. This book describes real horror, being trapped in a boat with only the sea as a choice of escape - literally a choice of the devil or deep blue sea!! Yet, the author survived to tell the tale. I recommend reading this book as it shows that people had to survive the...
Published on 8 Aug. 2012 by jaki

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been a lot better. Dissappointing
This book promised to be good but the detail is scanty at best. The story jumps and moves at such a pace you find yourself wanting so much more information. Why after only a couple of days in the raft were so many people giving up and jumping overboard ? There is no build up to the truely horrific acts committed by the Javanese blacks on board. Then the descriptions of...
Published 3 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a true story of amazing courage and survival, 8 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boat: Singapore Escape: Cannibalism at Sea (Paperback)
This was quite harrowing to read at times. What men are capable of doing to each other is mind boggling. This book describes real horror, being trapped in a boat with only the sea as a choice of escape - literally a choice of the devil or deep blue sea!! Yet, the author survived to tell the tale. I recommend reading this book as it shows that people had to survive the horrors of WW2 in more ways than I had been aware of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been a lot better. Dissappointing, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book promised to be good but the detail is scanty at best. The story jumps and moves at such a pace you find yourself wanting so much more information. Why after only a couple of days in the raft were so many people giving up and jumping overboard ? There is no build up to the truely horrific acts committed by the Javanese blacks on board. Then the descriptions of the Japanese POW camps which other authors have des river in graphic detail is again brief and scant with no depth. There is no relationships or character development throughout. Overall a disappointing read which could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly enjoyable description of what must have been a very harrowing experience!, 12 Sept. 2014
I thought this was well written and in common with all the books about this subject, very humbling in all that these people had to go through in order to survive. Hopefully the families of some of those who did not survive would get some peace of mind by knowing what happened to their loved ones as truthfully described by the author.
On the issue of a small disappointment with the publisher - at the end the book shows extracts of other books on the same subject but they are not available as e-books as far as I can find. A minor frustration which did not spoil my enjoyment of the book itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I found out my grandfather ( Royal Artillery) was on ..., 8 Nov. 2014
I found out my grandfather ( Royal Artillery) was on board the Roosenboom and was one of those who lost his life. Thankful to Walter Gibson for his book. Rest in peace those unfortunate passengers and crew. I'm only sorry it had taken 70 years for records to be released enabling me to find out his fate, just too long for my grandmother to know. What a world we live in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ticks all the right boxes, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite an old book written in a very dated type format, very correct and to a degree should be anything other than what it is.

In years to come I would hope this would be considered a classic, its a very remarkable book in that it reads like fiction, but its not and blatantly so.

Gritty subject, beautifully told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Boat: Singapore Escape: Cannibalism at Sea
The Boat: Singapore Escape: Cannibalism at Sea by Gibson Walter (Paperback - 15 July 2007)
£8.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews