Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 12 Aug 2006
By 
Wilhelm Snyman "Wilhelm Snyman" (Cape Town, W Cape South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You'll Die in Singapore: The True Account of One of the Most Amazing POW Escapes in WWII (Paperback)
A gripping, totally absorbing tale, well told about the daring escape of a group of men from Singapore after its surrender to Japan. These guys had guts and endurance and I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to get a clearer understanding of how some people manage to overcome adverstity and to those who want a clearer, more intimate understanding of the tragic events in SE Asia during World War II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Dramatic Tale, 21 April 2009
By 
C. J. Guyver "Chris G" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You'll Die in Singapore: The True Account of One of the Most Amazing POW Escapes in WWII (Paperback)
There are many memoirs of heroism and suffering relating to the war against the Japs 1940-45 and this one is especially interesting in that Charles McCormack and his taciturn Aussie sidekick, Donaldson, completely outwit the enemy despite extraordinary odds against them. The story has great momentum and the narrative is descriptive both emotionallly and of what the escapees see and hear. I was left wondering what happened to all the people they encountered along the route-march to freedom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars waited alonng time to read a story as this, 5 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You'll Die in Singapore: The True Account of One of the Most Amazing POW Escapes in WWII (Paperback)
Can't think of enough superlatives to describe this fantastic tale of escape and evasion
The first edition was written in 1954 so there is a stiffness and arrogance about some of the conversations between the escapees, which brings a touch of unreality. The author seems to have added as many descriptions of a setting sun as he could think of almost as an after thought.

If you are prepared to overlook the many spelling errors and grammatical mistakes you are left with a book that you can't put down
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars humbling...., 31 Jan 2003
By 
D. R. Martin "RAF Kid" (South England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Let me tell you... this book is a must. A bunch of guys, not all soldiers, make a daring pow escape attempt from a japanese pow camp. They run around Singapore, 'Steal' a boat, and then get shot in the Mallaca straits. then, they WALK (virtutally) 2000 miles to the end of Java - it takes almost a year. 16 start off, 2 arrive. One has to get married on the way. I first read this book as a 10-year old kid living in Singapore in the 60's, when my father was in the RAF. Now, in my late 40's I still read it and it's still brilliant. Read it! If you read it only once it''s worth it. e? I've read it about 50 times now and I still find it amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars un put downabl, 28 Oct 2013
If you feel sorry for yourself,read this book,you will read it until the early hours,and rush hometo continue to read it,the author must be one tough man and exsoldiers will understand the pressures these men went. Through i first read this book when it first came on the bookstand ,andihave read it overthe years about. Si. xeen times.l willnever undrstand why some filmproducer have not made a film of it,shindlers list comes close to to being one of the best made,but this true story wouldbring greaterunderstanding of what somemen had to go through,the sad part comesknowing this man died later in life not winning a major recognization from those people who give out awards for best books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a truly great escape, 27 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. D. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is possibly the most daring escape I have ever read about.
The men who escaped from German pow camps were very brave men,but what Charles McCormack achieved was truly outstanding as recapture would mean certain execution by the Japanese.
This book is a must read for anyone interested ww2 ,and once you start reading, it is hard to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A glimpse into an amazing escape, 7 Feb 2012
By 
Henrik Østerlund Gram (Kløfta, Norway Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these first-hand accounts from people who have experienced suffering way beyond anything the current generation can begin to comprehend. The behaviour of the japanese in many ways surpases even the nazis and that's saying something! I only wish the book had more detail and the reader is left with many questions on what happened with some of the people he comes across. It's a quick, but very interesting read. A solid 4(+) of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I read the original of this book some 35 years ..., 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the original of this book some 35 years ago, it's a must for young and old, to gain an understanding
of what man can endure through the will to survive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous true story, 18 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like true stories based on the war during the 1940s and not squeemish on the content, then this is the book for you. It is the best written account I have ever read. If any more information on this book is given it would ruin it for the reader. The tale is in a Japanese prisoner of war camp, telling you how terribly the prisoners were treated and what the conditions were like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You'll Die in Singapore: The True Account of One of the Most Amazing POW Escapes in WWII
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews