Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theory Made Easy For Little Children Book 1, 4 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Theory Made Easy for Little Children, Level 1 (Paperback)
This is an excellent theory series for young children.

I have taught the piano for many years and use this with all of my younger pupils. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

To the pupil it does not feel like a theory exercise book but believe me they learn an awful lot from it. Book 2 is equally as good and moves very smoothly from book 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theory Made Easy for Little Children Lv1, 17 Dec 2007
This review is from: Theory Made Easy for Little Children, Level 1 (Paperback)
My children started in this theory book when they were 4 and 5. It was so much fun for them that every day they were eager to do more. It is perfect for young children with the use of colour pictures, puzzles and games, and easy exercises some of which have stickers that you use to fill in the answer, others you fill in yourself. Mine were always especially excited when they got to another one of the sticker activities.

It takes children steadily through the basics of theory (note names and lengths, time signatures, etc.) in a very gradual way. There is enough repetition to ensure the child knows their stuff, but there are not pages one one thing, just an explanation of the point to be learned and a fun activity to practise using it. Not bad for the price either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent start., 7 Feb 2009
By 
G. Radic "X" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Theory Made Easy for Little Children, Level 1 (Paperback)
Super way to start the, often unnecessarily, difficult journey through music theory. Well presented, lots of colour, fun images and well paced for the youngest ones. A must for those children who like music and like to learn with a pencil, rubber and colouring pens in their hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theory with stickers, 3 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Theory Made Easy for Little Children, Level 1 (Paperback)
This is a great book for beginner theory lessons. It has sitckers to use with the exercises which for many students is a sure way of grabbing their attention, which child doesn't like stickers? My students often want to spend longer on their theory because they enjoy colouring and doing the puzzles. They are happy to do some at home too which helps to consolidate what we have been talking about in the lesson.
Parents love these books too.

Buy it, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Nov 2009
This review is from: Theory Made Easy for Little Children, Level 1 (Paperback)
This book is fantastic and although aimed at younger children my 7 year-old loves it and is flying through it. Looking forward to here progressing through the all the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars theory for small musicians, 7 Oct 2011
This review is from: Theory Made Easy for Little Children, Level 1 (Paperback)
This is the first of a series of theory books for little musicians. It is colourful and fun to use. From a teacher point of view it is carefully laid out and reinforces important theory points - all my pupils have enjoyed using this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best theory book!!, 4 Nov 2009
This review is from: Theory Made Easy for Little Children, Level 1 (Paperback)
My 5 yr old loves this book; so do I.
For me these are the best books for approx 4 - 6 yrs olds.
It is clear, no nonsense, and easy to follow;
the exercises are varied, but review and repeat the same subject material: too many theory books deal with, say, note values, then move on.. they go way too fast for little ones.... by the time a 5 yr old has learned how to write the notes C, D and E on the treble clef she's probably forgotten how to draw a minim! Ms Ng will gently comes back to the same topic so the child can practise again.
It's also a good mix of some stickers and some writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars piano theory book, 22 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Theory Made Easy for Little Children, Level 1 (Paperback)
It's a super theory book for my 6 years old who started to learn piano three weeks ago and a bit struggle to read the music note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent for small children approx age 4 to 9, 20 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Theory Made Easy for Little Children, Level 1 (Paperback)
I wanted to give my 7 year old some basic music lessons myself and wanted some material to help me as I am not a music teacher and didn't want to put her off with a dry boring approach. This first book first introduces some different length notes with their names and appearance, what stave and clef are and what simple time signatures mean. It goes on to show the pitch of a few notes and where to find them on a keyboard some basic fingering etc The first notes learnt are the cdefg below middle c. These are fine for piano of course but as we are learning guitar it is an octave below the notes beginner guitarists usually start with but not a big issue. I can't recommend the approach the book takes highly enough. The information is presented in tiny increments with lots of repetition and there are loads of colourful stickers to place in boxes, matching games, mazes etc giving the feel of an entertaining activity book. Would think it suitable for an interested 4 year old and still not too insulting for 9 or 10 year old. Obviously not for adults! My daughter has absorbed and retained all the information presented in a painless way and is thoroughly enjoying the game of clapping out rythms to many of mummy's simpler pieces of music. Will be buying further books in the series ASAP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suitable for five years upwards, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Theory Made Easy for Little Children, Level 1 (Paperback)
Good music theory book for beginners, but they do need to be able to read! Lots of stickers make it fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Theory Made Easy for Little Children, Level 1
Theory Made Easy for Little Children, Level 1 by Lina Ng (Paperback - 1 Jan 2001)
£2.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews