Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight into the Jewishness of the Gospel
I read this book in it's original form, as chapters three four and five of "Messianic Jewish Manifesto" by same author, David Stern. That book is what is says on the cover.

"Restoring the Jewishness of the gospel" was extracted from it to present the parts which are of most relevance to Gentile Christians only (according to David, the term Christian is...
Published on 24 Sep 2001 by John Clements

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking
This was an interesting but challenging read in an easy to read style. Although I think the authors points should be backed up with greater detail. I fully accept that anybody reading the bible old & new testaments needs to gain greater understanding of it's cultural context (i.e. the Hebrew way of thinking) which this books sheds a little light on but it's main focus...
Published on 12 Aug 2012 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight into the Jewishness of the Gospel, 24 Sep 2001
This review is from: Restoring the Jewishness of the Gospel: A Message for Christians (Paperback)
I read this book in it's original form, as chapters three four and five of "Messianic Jewish Manifesto" by same author, David Stern. That book is what is says on the cover.

"Restoring the Jewishness of the gospel" was extracted from it to present the parts which are of most relevance to Gentile Christians only (according to David, the term Christian is essentially 'Gentile'; Jewish believers in Yeshua, Jesus, as the Messiah are 'Messianic Jews')

Everything about this book - and this author - has proved to be excellent in my assessment. David Stern has an ability to present his case and all the reaons for it in a pleasant, yet confrontational manner, one which, to me is fresh and invigorating.

In this book David presents outlines and then details of the overlapping history of Israel and the Christian Church and how they have impacted each other, both good and bad are presented.

As Christians there is so much to learn from the material presented here. I thoroughly recommend it, it is particularly good as an introduction to the whole area of 'Jewish Roots' teaching.

Buy it! And then go on and look at the other publications from Jewish New Testament Publications! The message will change your thinking; it may change your life!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for Christians, 6 May 2013
By 
E. Parkinson (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have felt for many years that Christians have lost, or choose to ignore, the deep Jewish roots of Christianity; this book, written by a Messianic Jew helps to counter that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking, 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an interesting but challenging read in an easy to read style. Although I think the authors points should be backed up with greater detail. I fully accept that anybody reading the bible old & new testaments needs to gain greater understanding of it's cultural context (i.e. the Hebrew way of thinking) which this books sheds a little light on but it's main focus is on the relationship between the Church and the Jewish people. At this stage I remain to be convinced of the authors main points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for all Christians., 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I devoured this book and it was wonderful to learn that we ( followers of Christ) are grafted onto the vine, and so much a part of Messianic Judaism. Very exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Contains history which helps us to see why the Jewishness of our faith has been lost, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book also contains useful background information on Jewish customs of the time which brings deeper meaning to some texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly one of the most comprehensive, consise and direct ..., 11 Nov 2014
Possibly one of the most comprehensive, consise and direct messages I have read in ages. I bought 8 to give away as Xmas gifts. This is ideal for EVERYONE and Gentiles everywhere need to read this book. I cannot praise the content, it's accuracy and word based truth enough. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think., 11 Aug 2012
By 
I. Asquith (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have never doubted the Jewish origins of Christianity but I had never realized how the Jewish aspect had been suppressed by the established churches. Well worth reading if you are a concerned Christian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars While this is a shortened version of the larger work ..., 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While this is a shortened version of the larger work it is succinct and focused. It should be on every leaders desk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This to me is the only way to get back to the true faith. Toda
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restoring the Jewishness of the Gospel: A Message for Christians (Paperback)
A must read for all real Christians! Eye opening stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Restoring the Jewishness of the Gospel: A Message for Christians
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews