Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars15
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2007
Great book..Its hard to believe that these small bikes could be so versatile.Add a touch of madness from the ever so colourful vietnamese and you have a collection of unreal photographs of a place where safety,traffic rules and load restrictions simply do not apply....Check out page 49
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2008
Fantastic memory for anyone who has ever been to Vietnam in particular Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
I bought this book to remind us of a trip we made last year to Vietnam and Cambodia. The photos are superb and bring back all the memories of seeing how much the Vietnamese are able to carry on a small bike. People, animals and other goods are all carried without any concern for the Health and Safety both to the driver and the bike. Hans Kemp has captured all aspects of this use of the small motorcycle by people who will do what it takes to earn a living.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2015
Thia is a great book of photos, which bring back memories of our wonderful holiday in Vietnam. There is no text, although there are pages which twll exactly what "burden"is on each bike! Some of them I would not have believed had I not been there! A superb collection of photos on this subject!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2010
This is an excellent book that instantly transported me back to Vietnam and the crazy roads. How he managed to get some of the shots with such steadiness is amazing! A great book if you have been or are thinking of going to Vietnam
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
Bikes of Burden brings the colour, vibrancy and eye-popping sights of the transportation of all manner of produce and hardstuffs on streets of Vietnam into your sitting room. A joy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2010
Beautifully produced book. Stunning photos. Very nostaligic, true to life, view of every day street-life in towns & cities of Vietnam. Excellent value. Would have cost $40 in Saigon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
We were in Vietnam recently and saw some of these bikes around. It seemed like the perfect book to have at home. It's composed mostly by photographies, don't expect a lot of text.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
This book is amazing looking through it every page tells a story just by looking at the pictures,I would recommend this book to anyone who likes adventure and pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
Life in Vietnam - both rural and urban - captured wonderfully with this book showing all sorts of stuff being carted around teh country by people on their motorbikes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)