Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 2 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Shanghai (China Coast Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
You won't put it down...the sort of saga they don't publish anymore because they think we don't read. A sympathetic character who is flawed and in period so not over politically correct but engaging. A plot that engages you too. A cast that seems real because they are not all perfect people but human.

And the history is not a lecture.

Sorry when it ended and so much richer than many of todays writers who would not dare do this anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't think why this book isn't better known., 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shanghai (Kindle Edition)
Can't think why this book isn't better known. Like the characters and particularly the description of what Shanghai must have been like in the first half of last century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shanghai (Kindle Edition)
This book has dominated my life for the past week. I have felt completely involved with the characters and it opened my eyes to life in China at this particularly time in history. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!!, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shanghai (Kindle Edition)
Borrowed and read this book years ago and always wanted to own it and read it again. Now its on my kindle :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shanghai, 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shanghai (Kindle Edition)
I have read this book before and really enjoyed it.I found that it was one to put on my 'reread' list. Shanghai is a very interesting book,spot on in its contemporary times,full of plots and subplots and also having a streak of romance that I like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 20 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Shanghai (China Coast Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
Very readable and interesting book giving a colourful account of Shanghai in its early trading days and the life of an English ex-pat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shanghai (Kindle Edition)
Living in Hong Kong this book creates how I imagine Shanghai would have been in the 1900's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big-in-every-way bestseller in the mid 80s., 26 July 2001
By 
This review is from: Shanghai (China Coast Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
A super epic set against the grandeur of this international city. Elegant, sweeping, mezmerizing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shanghai (China Coast Trilogy 1)
Shanghai (China Coast Trilogy 1) by Christopher New (Paperback - 1 April 2003)
Used & New from: £2.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews