Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A belting (ish) read
Probably the first zombie apocalypse-esque thriller?

Join Malone, Summerlee, Challenger and Roxton as they are seemingly left as the sole survivors of a worldwide poisoning epidemic. Good read, predictable ending but still worth a go.
Published 7 months ago by C. S. Bancroft

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This person (Sotger) has taken books from my site (globalgrey) ...
This person (Sotger) has taken books from my site (globalgrey) (where they are completely free) and which I worked hard on formatting, and is selling them on Kindle, passing them off as their own.
Published 20 days ago by A. Tahir


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This person (Sotger) has taken books from my site (globalgrey) ..., 5 July 2014
By 
A. Tahir "globalgrey" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This person (Sotger) has taken books from my site (globalgrey) (where they are completely free) and which I worked hard on formatting, and is selling them on Kindle, passing them off as their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled., 5 July 2014
Yep, this seller is selling these ebooks, which are taken without permission from the free site, GlobalGrey. All his books are from that website, and are available there for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A belting (ish) read, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poison Belt (Kindle Edition)
Probably the first zombie apocalypse-esque thriller?

Join Malone, Summerlee, Challenger and Roxton as they are seemingly left as the sole survivors of a worldwide poisoning epidemic. Good read, predictable ending but still worth a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing but still nice, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poison Belt (Kindle Edition)
I think 'The Lost World' was much more exiting to read.
It's still a nice read and I do like Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's style of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rather poor story, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poison Belt (Kindle Edition)
Did not realise there was a further Challenger/Malone book after the "Lost World". Having read it I can understand why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A professor challenger story, 30 Nov 2012
By 
M. H. Stimson (bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poison Belt (Kindle Edition)
Real boys own adventure with professor challenger. The ending is a bit weak but the whole thing goes along well. The usual Challenger team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, but loses a star for racism and a weak ending, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poison Belt (Kindle Edition)
I think at this point it's accepted that Arthur Conan Doyle is a great writer, and his science fiction writing is almost on the same level as his detective stories. For the most part, it also manages to avoid being dated - it's still easy to read and well paced in modern terms.

Unfortunately, some things HAVE dated. For example, Africans are casually referred to as "n****rs", which is likely to make modern readers at the very least feel uncomfortable. In Doyle's defense, that kind of language was common at the time and he almost certainly didn't mean anything malicious by it, so it's not anywhere near as much of a deal breaker as it would be in a modern book.

The other main flaw is the ending, which I found disappointing. It's difficult to explain why without spoilers, so I'll just say it relies too heavily on deus ex machina and leave it at that.

Overall, it's a fun, easily digestible adventure book in spite of its flaws. If you haven't read "The Lost World" (the book this is a kind of sequel to) I'd advise you to read that before or instead of this, because it's truly amazing, but this is still well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Poison Belt (Classic Fiction)
The Poison Belt (Classic Fiction) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Audio CD - 1 July 2009)
12.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews