Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars25
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2008
Great for car journeys, well produced, and lots of interesting stuff. Recommended for children 8 plus. My 10, 14 and 18 year old all enjoy these Naxos books, and so do their parents.
Well done naxos.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2008
This audio CD book, alongside with other Naxos educational CDs for children, is absolutely fantastic. It contains loads of information, so adults' interest is guaranteed as well as children's fascination. It's a must for curious little minds. Presented in an easy listening format, it educates and enterntains at the same time. Boring car journeys became a highly enjoyable and educational experiences in our family since Naxos CDs were purchased. Being non-fiction, they can be listened to over and over again, offering a chance for the child to remember and/or understand more details each time.
0Comment|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2009
we have a number of them. they are good for car journeys and also in the background when arts and crafting. a good starting point for various discussions as well.
my daugther [8] partic liked this scientists one and thinks she would like to be a famous scientist one day. it is easilly accessible for 7+
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
i'm 12 years old and i love this c.d, i would recommend it for children my age. it really helped me in science and it is great for long car journeys, i listen to it over and over again! it has 2 discs in it and the way it's laid out is really clever as each scientist has their own story! i really would recommend it!
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2010
Very interesting for children and adult alike. In my opinion for kids from 8+, still interesting for others, but could be partly difficult to follow for younger listner. Adults will certainly not be bored in listening to this CD during long car journey or on a plane. Some old history will come back to mind and some new details will be gained from this great CD. It is well presented and give you hunger for more CD of the same series. At least it did with our family. Definitely something to listen together.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2010
My child of 9 really enjoyed listening to this cd. Relaxing but lively and keeps your interest. I feel it will be interesting for her for some time in the future. Good buy!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2011
The whole family have enjoyed listening to this series on long car journeys. Very informative and entertaining. The kids now have the CDs in their bedroom and play them again every so often.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Excellent! Sadly not too big - I'm hoping there is another edit ion coming out to cover another group of famous folk.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
This is a great series for children to learn a bit of history and science while sitting in the car. The stories follow the lives and discoveries of each person in a friendly, accessible manner without being too confusing or boring.

Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
I've played it through and through twice now, and I'm still engulfed and fascinated by these brilliant minds. It's nice to get the chronology straight and a basic insight of "the man behind the math".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse