Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars194
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 8 December 2011
I had heard lots of good things about the Diary of a Nobody, but was not really sure I would enjoy this type of work so put off reading it. However, finally I got round to it and found a pleasant, amusing read which, whilst it didn't become one of my all time favourites, I am nevertheless glad I read. This edition contains not only the diary itself, but lots of the original illustrations created by Weedon Grossmith, which are delightful and really help to bring the characters and story to life, as well as giving you an idea of how literature was often presented in the 19th century.

Charles Pooter is a clerical worker who has worked at the same job in the same company for years. He has been overlooked for promotion throughout that time. He decides to keep a diary of his middle-class, run of the mill life. In that diary we meet his long-suffering wife Carrie, his son Willie who renames himself Lupin as he feels his real name is too common, some of his less than respectful colleagues and a number of his friends - most notably Gowing and Cummins.

He makes lots puns/jokes which he thinks are hysterical but are actually awful, and his complete obliviousness to this is actually very amusing. He has social aspirations which he can never quite realise. He is bothered by tradesmen who don't seem to take his social status seriously, and ensuing conflicts are very funny.

The diary is really an early example of the type of observational humour which many of our stand-up comics use today. The diary remains remarkably modern/funny even now, more than 100 years after it was first released. Many of the problems Pooter encounters are so familiar even now. He can't understand his son's use of language or lack of work ethic/social aspirations, his friends eat his food and drink his booze without returning the favour, the plumbing doesn't work and neither does the plumber seem to, he keeps banging his foot on the piece of household junk he persistently means to move but never gets round to, the neighbours throw rubbish into his garden and their kids are rude. He seems to have not an ounce of luck, and he is insulted/embarrassed or unintentionally offends those around him at every turn. And yet he is very likeable as throughout all this he strives to retain his dignity.

Whilst this is no great philosophic commentary on humanity, it does exactly what it sets out to. It gives you an amusing, entertaining glimpse into the ordinary life of an ordinary man. If nothing else, it will give you a good, light, non-challenging read whilst reassuring you that you are not the only one who seems to find normal life so frustrating! Well worth a read.
11 comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2004
This heart-warming classic is a strong contender for the funniest book ever written. Read it immediately, then buy a second copy as a peace offering for your worst enemy - if it doesn't wipe the snarl off their face, they're a lost cause....
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2009
The Diary of a Nobody tells in diary form the story of a certain Mr Pooter, clerk by profession and a man of no importance or interest. He is somewhat pompous, dull, and stuffy, with pretensions towards gentility but lacking in social skills and self-awareness. He is quite a ridiculous figure, and one who is taken advantage of by many who he is pleased to call his friends, and mocked by his juniors at work. Additionally, all tradesmen are his nemeses. As he sets this down in his diary, however, Mr. Pooter is often oblivious to his own foolishness and to the impression he creates in others, and in the reader.

Mr. Pooter's son Lupin is the main source of incident in his father's life. He is a youth of high spirits and little respect for his elders, including his father. Lupin undertakes a love affair with a young lady called Daisy Mutlar; he is desperately in love with this young lady , who seems to Mr. Pooter to be of no remarkable attraction or accomplishments. Concurrent with this torrid affair, Lupin finds and loses several jobs, joins an amateur dramatics club and speculates on the stock exchange with his father's money.

Though over 100 years old, this book is still funny for the modern reader. It was written with the contemporary audience in mind but the humour has not dated. As another reviewer noted, Mr Pooter is something of a 19th century David Brent. The style is notably uncluttered and unaffected. It is a short book(145 pages approx. in this edition) and extremely readable. From a relatively uneventful start, it gathers momentum with the arrival of Lupin. Pooter's character broadens somewhat to become a decent everyman, though none the less ridiculous for that. This book ends long before the reader has had enough of the bumbling central character, and is a very pleasant, undemanding read.
22 comments|137 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2004
This is a wonderful book - I chuckled, smirked and slapped my head with delighted exasperation (whilst sitting on crowded commuter train - I am something in The City you know) at Pooter and his bewildered stumbling through the cosmic joke of his existence.
In some ways it is an 'old' book, the obsession with class and position drip through every page, with Pooters inept attempts to maintain or enhance his social position. But in many ways it is about the modern world - the alienated nobody, slogging away in an office, thinking he is better than this - when of course he isn't.
So glorious, that I am considering forming a religion based on the exquisite wisdom found inside this slim volume.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 17 February 2004
This book is a little subtle - if you can't read in between the lines then you won't find it funny. If you can then the subtle humour can't help but amuse you. Pooter is lovable, ridiculous, pompous and trivial - a fully rounded character who is quite oblivious to how most of the world perceives him.
A classic.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2008
I honestly never knoew that such an old book could be so hilarious! It's written in such a brilliant way that you can "see" it all happening - it very vivid. I think they should do a film of this! One of the best books I have read for a long time!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2010
Charles Pooter is a successful late Victorian clerk living in a well appointed town house in (then) fashionable Holloway. Charles has delusions of literary grandeur and he believes his diary to be a work of great literary significance. However, the joke is on Mr Pooter as his diary is merely a list of slights and petty grievances.

The book must have been quite subversive when people first read it. After all, wasn't the man meant to be the head of the household in the Victorian scheme of things, his word law? Pooters' diary can be read as merely a long list of things that he fails to control: his wayward son, Lupin. His wife, Carrie (who actually gets some of the best jokes), his domestic staff and his professional life. Pooter stands on his dignity and ends up falling flat on his face.

Pooter has become something of an archetype is British popular culture-you can glimpse him in later comic figures such as Anthony Hancock, Captain Mainwaring and Basil Fawlty. George and Weedon Grossmith have made an enduring fiction out of the stuff of life that still resonates today.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2003
Diary of a Nobody tells the story (in diary form) of Edwardian clerk Mr Charles Pooter. Mr Pooter is a roaring stereotype of the turn of the century, white-collar, lower-middle class to which he belongs, from his snobbish pomposity and sense of social importance, to his suburban home in Holloway (home: The Laurels). Pooter is a man out of his time, his ideals and attitudes are those of the mid 19th century when his position as clerk would have obtained for him the social respect that Pooter still clearly thinks he deserves. However, the Great Agricultural Depression meant that clerks positions were no longer as secure as they had been 30 years previously, while the spread of education and literacy meant that the rank of office clerk were considerably less exclusive or esteemed. Pooter completely fails to recognise this and much of the books humour stems from his inability to change with the times and his continuing bemusement as to why people he considers beneath him (his grocer, his cleaner, his son's friends) fail to show him the respect Pooter feels he deserves.
While much of the humour could be lost on those unfamilar with the finer points of contemporary Edwardian society, this does not mean that enjoyment of the book is exclusive. Pooter is a genuinely warm, well meaning character, completely recognisible to a 21st century audience. While the peiod may differ, many of the problems which cause Pooter such worry are exactly the same as today. He his constantly vexed by the behaviour of his son (the ridiculously named Lupin), friends (Cummings and Gowings) and his job.
All in all, Diary of a Nobody is an inoffensive yet heart warming tale. While it may seem dated, reading it definitely remains an amusing and worthwile way to spend an afternoon.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2011
I remember reading and liking this novel a few years ago and when I chanced across it in the library decided to give it another go to see if it was as funny as I recalled. I personally found it even more enjoyable this time and have since downloaded it for free to my kindle so I have a permanent copy.

The book is set in late Victorian London and focuses on the affable Charlie Pooter, an ordinary middle aged man who believes himself much funnier than he actually is and feels that the world on some level is conspiring against him which is demonstrated by the mishaps he repeatedly gets himself into. Chronicling his mundane life through his diary, he recaps encounters with friends, family and acquaintances, believing that his journal will perhaps be a literary masterpiece, when in actuality it is more a continual record of people who have slighted him and a long list of his embarrassing gaffes.

If you enjoy subtle British humour and wry characterisations about snobbery and social climbing then this is definitely a book you should try. I loved practically everything about this novel, in particular Charlie's unfunny jokes and puns which he and seemingly everyone around him, found to be utterly hilarious but were more cringey than anything else. I feel for his son Lupin, really I do. In today's society Charlie would undoubtedly be that embarrassing dad who is the first one up jiving at a party or humiliating him with corny stories in front of his mates. He is a really believable individual who you can emphasise with for all his fau paux's and endeavours but one who you would probably try your best to avoid at social gatherings (sorry Mr Pooter).

As far as diaries go, this is most certainly worth a look and it is a novel that has really stood the test of time which proves how witty and well written it actually is. Recommended.
33 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2009
It is really heart-warming to read all the positive reviews this book has received, full of warmth and genuine affection for Messrs Grossmiths' hilarious but gentle expose of fin de siècle middle-class London life. I came across it rather by accident in a charity shop and admit to being a little sceptical after reading a little about its authors George and Weedon Grossmith. They were both apparently leading lights in Victorian Musical Hall which I have always associated, perhaps unfairly, with comedy of a particularly raucous and unsophisticated kind. The humour created here however, is both extremely subtle and acutely well-observed. The sort of observational humour in fact that is more often associated with very modern comedians. Our hero, Charles Pooter is one of the best, most convincing and fully-rounded humorous creations I have ever come across. His absurd middle-class pretensions and aspirations are enough in themselves to make a cat laugh but combine these with his excruciating puns, his anxious bafflement at the behaviour of his son and his innate sense of fun which regularly fights its way past his austere guard, and you have a comic character to rival the very best.

On some levels the book feels old-fashioned, it is after all over a hundred years old and some of the language and the pre-occupations of its characters are inevitably different to ours but at the same time it reveals universal human behaviours and emotions that resonate as strongly today as at any time. Perhaps the best of these are the 'generation gap' issues which arise constantly between conservative, sensible Charles and his impetuous theatrical son Lupin. Neither understand the other at all and at times seem to speak different languages. Ultimately though their affection for each other breaks down the antagonism and Charles is left with a considerable amount of respect for his energetic son.

If I have a criticism it is that the book ends too suddenly. Perhaps a 'diary' is entitled to end in this way but I thought it was a shame that no real conclusion was achieved. It is quite rare that I finish a book wishing that it had gone on and on and this was certainly one such a occasion.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.