Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling Listening..., 10 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. C. Coker (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dracula (Classic Fiction) (Audio CD)
The audiobook by Naxos is more like a radio play than a conventional reading of a book by one narrator, but this has been well done, and I found myself absorbed by it. I have been listening to this in my car as I commute and I could feel a slight sense of fear as it got dark and Count Dracula started to make his presence in London felt...
It has been slighty annotated, but not so much as to detract from the story, and I would highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, tense and creepy, 2 Dec 2009
This review is from: Dracula (Classic Fiction) (Audio CD)
I know my review has been clumped together with reviews for the book so sorry but this review is solely for the abridged Naxos audio book of Dracula featuring Brian Cox not the novel (although I do recommend that as well!).

A wonderfully tense atmosphere is created on this recording of Dracula, I thoroughly enjoyed listening to it, easily envisioning Stoker's vivid and frightening imagery, which was supported very well by the talented readers, who left me genuinely unnerved at times.

This is abridged, however I didn't feel it lacked anything, in fact Bram Stoker's novel works very well in this format. This is not your average audio book being read by one actor, rather, this edition is replete with dramatic music, sound effects and a whole cast of actors to bring the various characters to life. Each character is played by an actor, all of which I thought were excellent in their parts, Brian Cox in particular is wonderful and the woman who plays Mina Harker also. No part of this famous story is told as it happens, instead each interlocking and overlapping parts of the mystery is conveyed through dairy entries, memorandums and newspaper clippings. I love listening to horror books, having dark tales whispered in your ear can be all the more chilling if the atmosphere of the tale is captured and in this case it definitely is and having each segment read by the various writer's makes the tone all the more intimate. I though that the music composed for the recording was good, not too overbearing, however I felt that the dramatic pauses between chapters were sometimes too long.

I don't think this has lost its edge, true there are trashy elements; there's copious amounts of garlic, smoke, wolves, flowing night dresses and women in need of rescuing. But all this is part of the tales charm and allure, as I've always been fascinated with its themes of transformation and sexuality, it is still an engaging, compelling and frightening. There as so many extraordinary vivid scenes that stuck with me; particularly the part when Harker comes across a 'sleeping' Dracula, that gave me shivers!

The strongest aspect of the novel is in my opinion the imagery. It is a little disappointing however that the first part where Harker reaches Transylvania and meets Dracula and discovers his terrible secret is the best part, the ending sequence didn't enthral quite so much as it a really just the main characters sitting around deciding what needs to be done, then calmly and systematically doing it, over a prolonged period.

This is a great buy, the price reflects the fact that it isn't very long but the quality is fantastic. I think this will be a treat for anyone who loves the book or a wonderful introduction to Dracula for any who haven't read it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Dracula On Audio, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dracula (Classic Fiction) (Audio CD)
3xCD's Running time 236 minutes approx.

This is a excellent adaption of Bram Stokers undisputed masterpiece in horror writing star's Brian Cox as Count Dracula.

Having escaped from Dracula's castle in Transylvania Jonathan Harker seeks the help of Abraham Van Helsing a vampire hunter who Harker wants to help him kill Dracula & save his wife Mina who is going to be Dracula's next victim.

Will Van Helsing & Jonathan Harker be able to save Mina from Dracula in time or will Dracula capture Mina & turn her into a vampire taking away her soul so she can be his one true love forever?

Timelord Thoughts.

This is the best audio adaptation to date thanks to some wonderful production values by Naxos audiobooks.

This play has a real chilling atmosphere enhanced by some wonderful sound effects & music that creates nail biting tension & provokes our fears somewhat.

Brian Cox gives a superb performance as Count Dracula which is chilling yet Cox adds a brooding charm into Bram Stoker's iconic character.

I listened to this audio adaption over a couple of nights in my bedroom in the dark & I must say it has a dark creepy gothic tone & at 4 hours long it doesn't outstay it's welcome is paced quite well all but a few minor pauses that occur throughout the play at times.

So lock the door, turn off the lights & let your imagination wander as you listen to this audiobook horror classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than any film..., 21 May 2007
By 
Michael Shields (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula (Classic Fiction) (Audio CD)
Forget about any Dracula film you have seen (the greatest horror book ever written is still waiting to get filmed properly)and buy this. A wonderful cast acts the story perfectly and they are helped by a deeply chilling and atmospheric music score. If you just let your imagination run wild with the imagery then a perfect 3 hours or so of vampire horror awaits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good Purchase, 17 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula (Classic Fiction) (Audio CD)
This product arrived quickly and in good condition. I purchase audio books to listen to when driving, and this one is a good addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula (Classic Fiction) (Audio CD)
Helped to while away a long, long car journey. The miles just sped buy whilst we were totally caught up in the narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and atmospheric, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula (Classic Fiction) (Audio CD)
This audio is great for long journeys especially in the dark. No annoying personalities or voices in the drama recording. True to the story. Good purchase highly reccomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dracula, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula (Classic Fiction) (Audio CD)
Bought as a gift and this talking book great. A wonderful way to listen to classic literature when making a long car journey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Dracular audio book, 26 Nov 2010
By 
Christian Edwards (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dracula (Classic Fiction) (Audio CD)
First off, this is NOT the book it is an AUDIO book on CD that you listen to.

This is (in my opinion) the very best of all the Dracular audio books. It is abridged and so leaves out much of the dull stuff but at 4 hours long is more than enough for an audio book. It is slightly dramatised with some excellent eerie music and the odd sound effect like wind and wolves howling. There are several well acted characters. This is better than the newer BBC radio 4 dramatised version which just has too many characters all talking at once sometimes, which on audio is just too confusing and better that the other versions read solo (Richard E Grant is the best of these) which just seem too dull and often lifeless with no real characterization.
I am a big fan of audio story books and have quite a few in my collection - you will be very pleased with this one.

Go to Amazon USA site to hear short audio clips of most of the different versions available.
Come on Amazon UK, catch up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dracula (Classic Fiction)
Dracula (Classic Fiction) by Stoker; Williams; Jason (Audio CD)
Used & New from: 0.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews