Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb dutch blu-ray
Excellent Dutch Blu-ray. Yet another masterpiece from David Attenborough. Plays both episodes and extra in order although it is possible to change that using the pop-up menu. Subtitles in Dutch appear automatically but can be easily removed using Subtitles button on remote.
Published 8 months ago by Nigel L

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars return
not poss to write a review as i returned this item it was wrongly purchased for xmas by me so
Published 6 months ago by Jill Jackson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb dutch blu-ray, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
Excellent Dutch Blu-ray. Yet another masterpiece from David Attenborough. Plays both episodes and extra in order although it is possible to change that using the pop-up menu. Subtitles in Dutch appear automatically but can be easily removed using Subtitles button on remote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
This is an excellent item, which I recommend to anyone interested in the origins of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
love it tho it doesn't return to the main menu after playing the last episode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BBC, Where's the UK Version, 4 May 2014
By 
JBV "JBV^_^" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
This is a great two part series. I've always loved the creatures that come from the Burgess Shales, and this is my favourite of Attenborough's series.

But, in the UK, you can only get the dvd version. Actually, this is true of a lot of the BBC productions. You want Bluray? You need to buy it from elsewhere in Europe. In this case, it's the Dutch version.

The discs are the same as they would be from the UK, even the title sequences, you just need to turn off the Dutch subtitles. Only the back of the box is different, but who reads that once you have the disc home?

Don't bother buying the official UK release on DVD. This is glorious Hi-Def. The way the series was mean't to be seen.

Buy It.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only one to buy., 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
This is the only "full version" plus "blue ray" that I could find and only at Amazon UK, not available in the states. Primarily made for the Netherlands I believe, but audio is in english. Just turn off the Dutch captions. Narrated by David not Segorni.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DA very good programme but there agian what do you expect from him, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
great programme --
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite 5 *, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Kilrymont (Somewhere in Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
The subject matter of this mini series, being dead, is inherently harder to make interesting than live animals being filmed for real in their natural surroundings - so we're shown lots of fossils and plenty of CGI effectst that are interesting inasfar as they're capable of taking us. The quality overall is what you'd expect from the producers, and the image quality is way past my ability to fault in any way. That one missing star was probably only ever likely to be gained by a bit of time travelling back to film our fossils when still alive. Bit of a tall order really, so four stars will have to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Life, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
Classic David Attenborough, well made and well presented. About the only criticism is that it took a while to sort out how to turn of the Dutch sub titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely one to own, 24 Aug 2012
By 
John Waghorn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
Exactly what I've come to expect from Attenborough and the BBC Documentary team.
Superior in every way. I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars return, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
not poss to write a review as i returned this item it was wrongly purchased for xmas by me so
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ]
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews