Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC, Where's the UK Version
This is a great two part series. I've always loved the creatures that come from the Burgess Shales, and this is my favourite of Attenborough's series.

But, in the UK, you can only get the dvd version. Actually, this is true of a lot of the BBC productions. You want Bluray? You need to buy it from elsewhere in Europe. In this case, it's the Dutch version...
Published 14 months ago by JBV

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong dvd
This was a copy and not even the right one....the case was first life however the DVD was of India's great river.
Published 7 months ago by Miss L.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC, Where's the UK Version, 4 May 2014
By 
JBV "JBV^_^" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
This is a great two part series. I've always loved the creatures that come from the Burgess Shales, and this is my favourite of Attenborough's series.

But, in the UK, you can only get the dvd version. Actually, this is true of a lot of the BBC productions. You want Bluray? You need to buy it from elsewhere in Europe. In this case, it's the Dutch version.

The discs are the same as they would be from the UK, even the title sequences, you just need to turn off the Dutch subtitles. Only the back of the box is different, but who reads that once you have the disc home?

Don't bother buying the official UK release on DVD. This is glorious Hi-Def. The way the series was mean't to be seen.

Buy It.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb dutch blu-ray, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
Excellent Dutch Blu-ray. Yet another masterpiece from David Attenborough. Plays both episodes and extra in order although it is possible to change that using the pop-up menu. Subtitles in Dutch appear automatically but can be easily removed using Subtitles button on remote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plays on North American blu-ray players, 28 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
Not only has no blu-ray version of this fascinating two-part documentary been released in North America (blu-ray Region A), but we also lack a standard DVD release (DVD Region 1). Being DVD Region 2-locked, the UK DVD currently for sale on Amazon.com and .co.uk will not play in most North American machines. Amazon.com lists an Italian blu-ray available from third-party sellers, which is advertised as Region A and B so should play on North American blu-ray players, but that's going for ~$32 USD or ~£21, more than twice the price of this Dutch blu-ray from Amazon.co.uk. Amazon gives no region code information for the Dutch release, but I took a chance by ordering anyway, fingers crossed that it would be region-free. I remained on tenterhooks even once it had arrived, as the package and disc lacked any region code details, so was relieved and delighted when I popped it into my North American blu-ray player and it played without incident.

The programme highlights recent discoveries and theories that tackle the big questions of how and why the first animals evolved into the incredible diversity found in the fossil record and living around us today. Sir David pitches the information at a level that a layperson can grasp, without falling into gross over-simplifications that would raise protests from evolutionary biologists (like me). If you've seen any of his other work, you'll be well aware that he is unmatched for being able to inject a sense of awe and wonder, whatever his subject, and it's no different here; thanks to his trademark enthusiasm, the segments in which he discusses dusty fossils are no less exciting than the clever animations of bizarre extinct species.

In addition to the two 1-hour episodes of First Life, the blu-ray includes a 55-minute "making-of" documentary, Attenborough's Journey, which takes us behind the scenes and explains the importance of this series in Sir David's oeuvre.

Fans of other Attenborough nature series should consider First Life a mandatory purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only one to buy., 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
This is the only "full version" plus "blue ray" that I could find and only at Amazon UK, not available in the states. Primarily made for the Netherlands I believe, but audio is in english. Just turn off the Dutch captions. Narrated by David not Segorni.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fossil show, 29 Jan. 2015
By 
Dean Wirth "Mcdean" (Calgary Alberta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
Great fossil show. Amazing shots of fossils and good animated sequences. Only issue is german subtitles i cant get rid of because i have a north american blu ray player. One of his best shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
A must have for the ones who like such documentaries. Just have to erase the duch legends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
This is an excellent item, which I recommend to anyone interested in the origins of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
love it tho it doesn't return to the main menu after playing the last episode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Life, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
Classic David Attenborough, well made and well presented. About the only criticism is that it took a while to sort out how to turn of the Dutch sub titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely one to own, 24 Aug. 2012
By 
John (Perth, Western Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ] (Blu-ray)
Exactly what I've come to expect from Attenborough and the BBC Documentary team.
Superior in every way. I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Attenborough's - First Life [ 2010 ] [ Blu-Ray ]
£7.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews