Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good a book that you can dip into anytime,
I use this book after I have meditated, read a passage and try to understand the meaning for myself, promotes interesting thoughts and the more you read the more it makes sense, you begin to think and act differently, you begin to ask yourself questions, and contemplate on what you have just read,
Published 17 months ago by Cute Koala

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dimensions
I neglected to find out the dimensions of this book, the product description tells you how many pages the book has (well over 800- I suppose that was a clue), but not it's dimensions.. Hence I have ended up with a book 16cm X 3cm. In other words "short and stubby", with the smallest of print size. (Magnifying glasses at the ready).

The comprehensive...
Published 10 months ago by Everton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good a book that you can dip into anytime,, 30 July 2013
By 
Cute Koala (South yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
I use this book after I have meditated, read a passage and try to understand the meaning for myself, promotes interesting thoughts and the more you read the more it makes sense, you begin to think and act differently, you begin to ask yourself questions, and contemplate on what you have just read,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dimensions, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
I neglected to find out the dimensions of this book, the product description tells you how many pages the book has (well over 800- I suppose that was a clue), but not it's dimensions.. Hence I have ended up with a book 16cm X 3cm. In other words "short and stubby", with the smallest of print size. (Magnifying glasses at the ready).

The comprehensive content extras of this book as described is good, but the overall comfort of reading is spoilt by it's awkward size.....................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars As it isn't, 24 Aug 2014
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
What I like about this version is the Sanskrit text, the roman transliteration and word-for-word translation of the text. This is a great format. The actual book and binding is also of very good quality.

However, while the Bhagavad Gita is one the greatest songs ever composed, the interpretation presented here seems to be very biased. It is easy to compare the word-for-word transliteration actually presented with the commentary to see this. For example, words that clearly do not mean Krishna Consciousness have been translated/interpreted to mean as such. When you read the commentary, it seems to often go off on it's own agenda and not actually reflect the verse itself. For me this is a real shame.

Clearly the Gita discusses and develops a whole range of methods of practice in order for the apparent Jiva (individual) to attain realisation of the absolute non-dual Brahman. There are also countless interpretations. However my feeling is that because of the inherent biases present in this rendition, many of the finer points and instructions of the Gita have been lost.

I would therefore not recommend this version to a reader looking for a true understanding of the Gita and it's sublime teachings. However, if your interest is in the Hare Krishna organisation/ISKCON this would be the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Amazing Book To Possess, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
This is a must read book for anyone following a spiritual path or just wants qustions to their answers of what why and how life is....The Bhagavad Gita as part of vast vedic text is the oldest spiritual teachings known to man,,,from which ALL other teachings came from...it is constantly being verified scientifically and will raise you awareness in the most profound way..leading to trancendence and enlightenment if read with the correct heart condition....this knowlege should be standard for everyone on the planet!...The service for delivery was very quick..and this version of the book beautifully illustrated..and small enough to pack away in you handbag or briefcase..More than highly recommended..Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Indian Literature, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
Been to India and wanted a copy of the book as left other behind. Full interpretation of text to enable reader to study in greater depth. Well made copy in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bhagavad Gita, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
This book is exactly what I wanted for my research the product was in good condition except for a small dent in the hard back caused by rough handling in transit ( Post Office take heed ) not the company fault as it was well protected I take a word from Gandhi Gi read a verse a day and contemplate on it many more should read this book it was written before the Bible and is very learned, Thank you 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
The book was just what I was just what I was looking for. I am searching for spiritual answers to our heritage. I want to learn as much as I can about this sort of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bhagavad Gita- As it is
Bhagavad Gita- As it is by A.C. Bhaktivedanta swami (Hardcover - 11 Nov 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews