Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good a book that you can dip into anytime,
I use this book after I have meditated, read a passage and try to understand the meaning for myself, promotes interesting thoughts and the more you read the more it makes sense, you begin to think and act differently, you begin to ask yourself questions, and contemplate on what you have just read,
Published 23 months ago by Cute Koala

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars As it isn't
What I like about this version is the Sanskrit text, the roman transliteration and word-for-word translation of the text. This is a great format. The actual book and binding is also of very good quality.

However, while the Bhagavad Gita is one the greatest songs ever composed, the interpretation presented here seems to be very biased. It is easy to compare the...
Published 10 months ago by Frank Skinner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars As it isn't, 24 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
What I like about this version is the Sanskrit text, the roman transliteration and word-for-word translation of the text. This is a great format. The actual book and binding is also of very good quality.

However, while the Bhagavad Gita is one the greatest songs ever composed, the interpretation presented here seems to be very biased. It is easy to compare the word-for-word transliteration actually presented with the commentary to see this. For example, words that clearly do not mean Krishna Consciousness have been translated/interpreted to mean as such. When you read the commentary, it seems to often go off on it's own agenda and not actually reflect the verse itself. For me this is a real shame.

Clearly the Gita discusses and develops a whole range of methods of practice in order for the apparent Jiva (individual) to attain realisation of the absolute non-dual Brahman. There are also countless interpretations. However my feeling is that because of the inherent biases present in this rendition, many of the finer points and instructions of the Gita have been lost.

I would therefore not recommend this version to a reader looking for a true understanding of the Gita and it's sublime teachings. However, if your interest is in the Hare Krishna organisation/ISKCON this would be the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good a book that you can dip into anytime,, 30 July 2013
By 
Cute Koala (South yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
I use this book after I have meditated, read a passage and try to understand the meaning for myself, promotes interesting thoughts and the more you read the more it makes sense, you begin to think and act differently, you begin to ask yourself questions, and contemplate on what you have just read,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dimensions, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
I neglected to find out the dimensions of this book, the product description tells you how many pages the book has (well over 800- I suppose that was a clue), but not it's dimensions.. Hence I have ended up with a book 16cm X 3cm. In other words "short and stubby", with the smallest of print size. (Magnifying glasses at the ready).

The comprehensive content extras of this book as described is good, but the overall comfort of reading is spoilt by it's awkward size.....................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Amazing Book To Possess, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
This is a must read book for anyone following a spiritual path or just wants qustions to their answers of what why and how life is....The Bhagavad Gita as part of vast vedic text is the oldest spiritual teachings known to man,,,from which ALL other teachings came from...it is constantly being verified scientifically and will raise you awareness in the most profound way..leading to trancendence and enlightenment if read with the correct heart condition....this knowlege should be standard for everyone on the planet!...The service for delivery was very quick..and this version of the book beautifully illustrated..and small enough to pack away in you handbag or briefcase..More than highly recommended..Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth a penny, 17 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
The Hare Krishna's are today somewhat of a joke, but Prabhupāda was a very brilliant writer and populariser of the Bhagavad Gita. They used to give this version out in airports. Lucky travellers!

It isn't cultish. 'Bhagavan' does indeed mean Divine Personality of God-Head, and 'Krishna consciousness' is a fine rendering of the more stale translations of respectable scholars. So Swami Prabhupāda managed to write a nice flowing American English Gita.

The only trouble is that 'Atman' is translated as 'Soul' and so giving the impression of dualism. Swami Prabhupāda also believed in the popular idea of reincarnation. Prabhupada was also a brillian sanskrit scholar and even though his translation is alien to the more 'respectable' schools, who are we to judge? And Dharma is translated as religion when, really, Dharma means harmony, but this is being picky. But reading this you see A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupāda designing a religion of God and soul for the West. I have no problem with this, this is fine. There are dualist schools of philosophy in India as well as the grand advaita tradition. If you look at celebrity worship today, then it is similar to the bhakti tradition we see in India and in this version. So instead of worshipping the latest fleeting pop superstar, you instead worship Krishna, the eternal.

Ill stop rambling now. This is definitely worth checking out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Complete misrepresentation of the Gita!!, 7 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
I generally don't write reviews for books, but I am compelled to in this case. What I loved about the book was the English translation of the sanskrit texts but the commentary on the Gita verses are so biased that I felt like the author is constantly trying to impose his / Hare Krishna movement's views on the reader forcefully.

The essence of Gita is completely lost in the commentary on the verses provided by the author and the author makes it look as though the Bhagavad Gita encourages people following it to have a "Holier than Thou" attitude which is so untrue.

I am completely disappointed by this and I would urge the readers to look somewhere else if you would want to get the TRUE essence of Gita. But if you are into Hare Krishna movement, you don't have to look beyond this one.

The author has done a complete disservice to the Bhagavad Gita by trying to distort the facts and views represented in the Gita to further his own movement's cause. Such a shame!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bhagavad Gita, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
This book is exactly what I wanted for my research the product was in good condition except for a small dent in the hard back caused by rough handling in transit ( Post Office take heed ) not the company fault as it was well protected I take a word from Gandhi Gi read a verse a day and contemplate on it many more should read this book it was written before the Bible and is very learned, Thank you 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Indian Literature, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
Been to India and wanted a copy of the book as left other behind. Full interpretation of text to enable reader to study in greater depth. Well made copy in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible quality / delivered wrong size, 29 May 2015
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
It's nothing like what shows in the picture..on my first wear iself, stitches came off.
Quality of material is awfully poor!! And on top of it they delivered the wrong size. ( I ordered M and received L) very much disappointing! And the picture shown is so deceiving!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bhagavad Gita- As it is (Hardcover)
The book was just what I was just what I was looking for. I am searching for spiritual answers to our heritage. I want to learn as much as I can about this sort of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bhagavad Gita- As it is
Bhagavad Gita- As it is by A.C. Bhaktivedanta swami (Hardcover - 11 Nov. 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews