Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book- made me want to drive a camper van!
I bought this as a gift for a friend who has a gorgeous VW camper van and also likes cooking. Its hardback, beautifully illustrated with photos throughout and so nice I nearly kept it. The recipes are practical- usally just need two rings and no more than one or two saucepans or a wok.

The photos are amazing- sweeping deserted beachscapes with a lone camper van...
Published on 14 May 2010 by sam155

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Camper Cook book
This book contains fantastic photos of VW Campers on every page. However this is a recipe book, of which the recipes are ok. Nothing wrong with them, just as per the usual recipe books, you cant actually find anything you like in them!!! If like me, your into VW's, then you will be more than happy with all the photos. However if your looking for something to solve your...
Published on 18 July 2010 by debra


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book- made me want to drive a camper van!, 14 May 2010
By 
sam155 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original VW Camper Cookbook: 80 Tasty Recipes Specially Composed for Cooking in a Camper: 1 (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift for a friend who has a gorgeous VW camper van and also likes cooking. Its hardback, beautifully illustrated with photos throughout and so nice I nearly kept it. The recipes are practical- usally just need two rings and no more than one or two saucepans or a wok.

The photos are amazing- sweeping deserted beachscapes with a lone camper van under the sky, or gatherings of camper vans haveing little parties so it makes you desperate to join in and lead the cool life.

The authors are indeed camper van owners themselves and have put a lot of love and work into this book. It would also be helpful for anyone who lived in a small flat or liked camping or caravanning. A really lovely attractive book. Its for cooks, campers and daydreamers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drool inducing culinary knowhow, 22 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: The Original VW Camper Cookbook: 80 Tasty Recipes Specially Composed for Cooking in a Camper: 1 (Hardcover)
Have you ever been camping and wondered why you see so many people scratching their heads and peering onto your plate while you're trying to eat your supper, obviously wondering why their dried up lettuce leaves on a bed of stale cheese doesn't look nor smell as appetising as what you are about to devour? Me either till i bought this book! Ever since I took delivery of the VW Camper cookbook i'm getting constantly peered at and spied upon when stepping out of my van with my plate of delicious genuine VW Camper nosh and settling down with a smile as broad as the amazon (the river, not the purveyors of fine gifts) into my favourite fold-up chair, and drooling like a Bulldog. And you don't even need to own a VW Camper to own the book; mine's a Mazda Bongo! So if you enjoy scrummalicious food and like the idea of cooking it in a wendy house on wheels then this book is for you, but if you don't want to be stared at and drooled over by envious onlookers and you don't have any 8-foot tall wind-breaks to knock up around your pitch, then still buy it but only use it whilst camping on top of Ben Nevis on christmas day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VW Camper Cookbook, 2 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Original VW Camper Cookbook: 80 Tasty Recipes Specially Composed for Cooking in a Camper: 1 (Hardcover)
Handy book for the camper van. Not so good if you don't like avocado as there are a few recipes with these in. One or two recipes,need a very large pan. The sauce recipes are very easy to make with a double page spread with illustrations.
Overall a lovely illustrated book with some appetizing simple recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!, 31 July 2011
This review is from: The Original VW Camper Cookbook: 80 Tasty Recipes Specially Composed for Cooking in a Camper: 1 (Hardcover)
Really great book! Recipes are delicious, really easy to cook in a vw camper or just on a camping stove like we did. The recipes are nutritional and healthy, adventurous, yet simple. The food is not just burgers and sausages, it gives ideas for camping cuisine! Not only main meals, but salads, sandwiches, dressings, sauces even a chocolate cake and a ginger bread! Gives advice at the beginning of what cooking utensils and pots etc to take on your trip. Very nice book. The food also includes food from around the world, with an authentic recipe for Malaysian ribs! There is even a really simple WW2 recipe! All the food is amazing, we have cooked most things in it now. We actually use the cookbook at home too, not just while camping. The pictures are also lovely, it has been really well thought out. A wonderful book, extremely highly recommended! A great gift for someone else or yourself, this really is the original! I just can't wait for the next one now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cooking, 26 Aug 2009
By 
Agnes Chapman (FiFe Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Original VW Camper Cookbook: 80 Tasty Recipes Specially Composed for Cooking in a Camper: 1 (Hardcover)
My husband and I go caravanning regularly we have found the camping recipes excellent with very little thought you can change the basic recipe into something else and it can become a little "posher" they are two of the best books that I have used I would certainly use them at home as well for speed when you are in a hurry.The Original VW Camper Cookbook: 80 Tasty Recipes Specially Composed for Cooking in a Camper: 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars food and campers - who could ask for anything more, 14 April 2009
By 
Mr. Aj Smith "brude" (hythe, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Original VW Camper Cookbook: 80 Tasty Recipes Specially Composed for Cooking in a Camper: 1 (Hardcover)
what a fantastic book! we haven't actually tried any of the recipes yet but the pictures of the vans (and locations) are fabulous (and are well worth the money themselves). i, but not my trousers, am looking forward to the chocolate cake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect business person, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Joseph Dempsey (Kildare Town, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original VW Camper Cookbook: 80 Tasty Recipes Specially Composed for Cooking in a Camper: 1 (Hardcover)
Perfect communication and as described
Book is great can't wait to start it on camping. I'd highly recommend to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Pictures, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original VW Camper Cookbook: 80 Tasty Recipes Specially Composed for Cooking in a Camper: 1 (Hardcover)
NIce book. Got it for a VW camper van enthusiast, and he loved it. Has lovely pictures and although recipes are fairly simple it has some good ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for camping, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original VW Camper Cookbook: 80 Tasty Recipes Specially Composed for Cooking in a Camper: 1 (Hardcover)
If you are cooking on gas rings camping or in a camper, this book is packed with great food can cook with ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The original vw cookbook, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original VW Camper Cookbook: 80 Tasty Recipes Specially Composed for Cooking in a Camper: 1 (Hardcover)
A very good book loads of recipes good photes plenty of information it will surprise a lot of new camper owners to what you can cook in your van
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews