Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2014
The dynamics between Lynley and Havers are excellent. They never overstep the mark and are always professional and yet one can see friendship--a deep regard based friendship--building. The acting is wonderful as at time one resents Lynley's insensitivity and self-pity and at others one feels for his situation. Havers is grossly misunderstood and deserves far more from the police force than it gives her credit for; especially in terms of Lynley who fails, in my opinion, to be as generous as he owes her. Pity that his wife/love interest is not consistent. I liked very much the last actress as she was naturally warm and seemed well-adjusted which allowed me, as a women. to understand Lynley love and need for her first Emma Fielding; then and by far the weakest actress . Lesley Vickerage and the best most sympathetic actress in the role Catherine Russell. Lesley Vickerage I found a self-involved, cold woman and it remained a mystery to me why Lynley would be interested in her. She also seemed far more impressed by his title and position than the man himself. The stories were very well developed and worth watching both for the plots, their complexity and for fine acting of Nathaniel Parker as Inspector Lynley and also and especially Sharon Small as Barbara Havers.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
12-disc Dutch import of one of the better examples of the genre.Nathaniel Parker is very convincing as the aristocratic detective,and is superbly supported by the wonderful Sharon Small as his combative sergeant(when she isn't being demoted for shooting senior officers with a flare gun!).The plots are always interesting without stretching belief too far,and the series is eminently watchable and enjoyable.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
It is a brilliant series which was promptly delivered. The individual stories are typical of quality, British police/crime writers and translate to the small screen superbly through good scripts and acting. I would recommend this collection to anyone who enjoys quality crime drama.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
OK, so there are a few snags but would still rate this great value. Packaging a bit primitive (discs stacked 12 deep on spindle) I've put mine into separate Tesco slimline CD/DVD cases to improve access) Navigation of titles clunky but a bit easier to manage if the "play all" option selected (Titles all copied as Part 1/Part 2 and don't flow from one to the next otherwise) If subtitles in Dutch aren't a problem for you this set can be heartily recommended - buy another couple of Box sets with the savings!
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
I caught an episode of this almost by accident (repeated on BBC3?) and recognised some of the scenery in the Peak District and especially in the village where my Parents lived for almost 40 years. Having enjoyed the one episode, so I bought the box set. While there are grounds for comparison with Morse (Lynley's classic Jensen, later replaced by a Bristol) and other "cop partnerships", Lynley is well drawn and absolutely not perfect, so is a credible character perhaps in the vain of a 21st century Peter Wimsy. Havers, similarly, is a strong character well portrayed and their professional relationship develops entirely believably. The supporting cast is also very strong: Helen, Lynley's love interest /wife is particularly superbly portrayed. So there it is. It's a good series, well made, strongly written and performed in the same category as Morse, Lewis, Vera, and others. If you like the genre, you'll love this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
A no frills box-set (unless you think optional Dutch subtitles are really cool) that is great value for money. I'm a great fan of Lynley and most of these whodunnits keep me guessing until the end. The romantic tension between Lynley and his sidekick Havers is an added interest without being too heavy.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
An excellent series, based faithfully on the books. The ony drawback is that the subtites are in Dutch and soetimes the accents of the characters are hard to follow without subtitles.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
I had been waiting for the release of all the series. Hate to keep buying one then another. I've started collecting all the British detective series and this ranks up there with Lewis, Morse and Frost. There is a rapport between the two main characters, even better because they are different sexes but different back grounds also, they both genuinely care for each other but nothing sexual. She keeps him from being Lord Snooty and he keeps knocking the chip of her shoulder. The only down side to this collection is the box it comes in. I've read other peoples reviews on boxes like this and all the discs are sat on top of one and another. Didn't bother me, I bought a 12 disc container and I'm as happy as Larry.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Lynley and Havers are top entertainment in my opinion. I love Havers, an absolutely everiday human being, whom relate to us all. I like also inspektor Lynley, who has an phylosofical attidude, to everything of the problems of human life. These two makes a super combination. Top Entertainment! Even if many of my women aquitanses dont like Lynley, iI like him and his stupid paramour .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
i love crime dramas and this is up there with the best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)