Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited Series, 26 Oct 2010
This review is from: HIGH CHAPARRAL - SEASON 1 - (REGION 2) - (DVD-ROM)
I have waited many years for this Superb Western series to be made availale, now finally to the Dvd scene it has arrived. The first series is complete with all 28 episodes, the Visual quality is excellent, however I had a few problems with the sound. Supplied with German/English soundtracks, selecting English on Disc Number one, the first 1.5 mins of the pilot episode the soundtrack is in German, and reverts to English automatically, (2 other users have experienced this bad recording,)which in this day and age is well below expected standards. However please dont let this minor thing put you off, the hopefully 2-4 seasons will be made available in the not to distant future. Highly Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review From Germany, 6 Feb 2011
This review is from: HIGH CHAPARRAL - SEASON 1 - (REGION 2) - (DVD-ROM)
UPDATE April 3, 2013: THE COMPLETE SERIES is now available in a Box Set at Amazon.de (Germany)
Search: High Chaparral - Die komplette Serie [26 DVDs]

Okay folks here's my review short and simple:

1) Picture quality is great; remastered from the originals.

2) DVD 1 has about 1 minute of German (and un-remastered film) at the start of episode 1 regardless of whether you've set it to play in English or not that must remain.

2b) By the way that German at the beginning simply relates that Cochise doesn't want any whites on his hunting grounds and that the death of Mangas Coloradas has ticked him off...and so it begins..Buck and Big John also thank a family for their hospitality.

3) I've ordered Season Two because frankly I'm now hooked.

4) Do have a DVD player and TV that can play Region 2 DVDs! (My Windows Media Player here in Germany does play them, you may want to look into that)

5) Only four stars because DVDs 5 and 6 had tech problems which require me to return the set for a new one. However these problems disappeared when viewing the two episodes which were effected on my computer instead of on my DVD player(s).

6) No way a true High Chaparral fan will be disappointed.

7) Packaging leaves much to be desired, very strange system which "holds" the DVDs in place, but then again SO WHAT?

8) There is about a minute or so of film adverts at the beginning of each DVD in German.

9) Episodes titles are written in both German and English seen when navigating the DVD.

10) DVD navigating instructions are in German, translated as follows from page 1:

"ALLE ABSPIELEN" = Play All

"EPISODENAUSWAHL" = Episode Selection

"EPISODENÜBERSICHT: = Episode Overview

"SPRACHEN/TON" = Language/Tone

"EPISODE FORTFAHREN" = Start Episode

From page 1 select "SPRACHEN/TON" = Language/Tone

Then select "ENGLISCH MONO DOLBY DIGITAL" i.e. "English"

Next, right below that, choose "EPISODE FORTFAHREN" = Start Episode

You are now off to the High Chaparral!

11) You can order High Chaparral "Staffel 1" and "Staffel 2" = "Season 1" and "Season 2" direct from Amazon Germany alot cheaper, [...], than what is now being asked in the USA. THEY ARE IN STOCK:

[...]

Adios amigos!!

Changed my mind, got to give 'er 5 stars..hehe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Please note this DVD is in German, 27 Nov 2010
This review is from: HIGH CHAPARRAL - SEASON 1 - (REGION 2) - (DVD-ROM)
Although in the packaging it says the DVD plays in English automatically after 3 seconds - this is not the case. I have an up to date DVD player but it does not have an audio button, however my much older Pioneer does have one and it works. The picture quality is great and like the other reviewers I have been waiting for this to come out on DVD for years and can't wait for the remaining series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High Chaparral, 27 Oct 2010
This review is from: HIGH CHAPARRAL - SEASON 1 - (REGION 2) - (DVD-ROM)
After years of waiting we finally get get see The High Chaparral (my favourite TV show ever) in superb quality - and uncut. I bought this direct from Amazon.de as it was cheaper and it is worth every penny I paid for it.

The picture quality is excellent - only a couple of minor imperfections running through the entire 1st season but these are in the film masters. English or German dialogue throughout except for the first 30 secs of the pilot where the English masters have been lost (note the opening few seconds have not been remastered / cleaned and are full of dust specks). This is the first time I have seen the latter as it was cut from UK transmissions since it was first aired.

You won't be disappointed though the only extras are original episode air dates. Season 2 due December!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy from Germany direct, 16 Jan 2011
By 
G. Curtis (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HIGH CHAPARRAL - SEASON 1 - (REGION 2) - (DVD-ROM)
The quality of this is excellent and I would highly recommend it.

One caveat though; don't buy from Amazon UK - buy it directly from the German site; it is much cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High Chaparral., 19 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. J. W. Lewis "mrohms 2002" (Leeds west yorkshire uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HIGH CHAPARRAL - SEASON 1 - (REGION 2) - (DVD-ROM)
The series is well made and good value for money.
I first had a problem because the sound is in German. Literature is in the box telling to press the audio button to change to English.
My DVD player doesn't have such a button, even though it's 4 months old. However I have an old machine with this facility and all is well.
This could happen again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great western series, 9 Mar 2011
By 
W. J. Marshall (southampton, hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HIGH CHAPARRAL - SEASON 1 - (REGION 2) - (DVD-ROM)
My wife bought me this for my birthday and it is a terrific present.She bought it through the german site for about 25 less than the english asking price.A U.K. release is required please of every series.Episode one has german language and terrible picture for the first ninety seconds,then everything is fine with picture quality and sound.I remember seeing this on bbc in the seventies and eighties,but not these particular episodes.They are tough,gritty and realistic.What i found especially suprising is the level of violence in the early episodes.They put a lot of spaghetti westerns to shame with the body count,especially during apache attacks.Despite the violence,the apaches are treated as human beings,not just cannon fodder.The characters develope as the series progresses and it is easy to see why this series was so popular in it"s heyday.This is a great series that time has been very kind to and it deserves a far wider release than just the german market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews