Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILIANT LAST VIEWED 27 YEARS AGO .., 1 Jan. 2013
By 
Miss S (Wirral, Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life and loves of a She-Devil / Region 2 / Dutch Import / Miniseries (DVD)
Its not hard to see why this fantastic mini series was awarded a BAFTA ..brilliant cast , outstanding , gritty and raw peformance of all .

I was delighted to see this original UK mini series available to purchase and did not hestitate to add to basket ...glad i went for the Dutch Import, there is no issues with audio or visual quality and im about to watch it for the third time , having watched it on my laptop ( where i had to pinch myself if it was HD !!! , compared to Hammer House Of Horror Dvd collection ) also watched using my blue ray , brilliant , id noted other reviewers with other places doing the dvd , some were not happy with qaulity , so im lucky .

I have a very clear memory of 27years ago , i remember watching the mini series the first time around , if something is good it makes an impact , so much so that i typed the name in here to see if i could get it after remembering ..

I had a wonderful evening watching the tale unfold , Julie T Wallace , i dont think anyone on earth could of done that part as well as Julie .she was superb and more ..ive never seen anger so convincing , when she was shouting and crying with Waterman who played "she's" husband ...Mr Denis Waterman as cool as ever ..did he ever not have IT in anything he played ...loved it ...one look from Denis and you feel yourself getting nervous , loved the close ups , Pat Hodge . looking out of this world , loved the make up , fashions , they did a fantastic job ...even down to the nails on Wallace , they were doing nail art then , the kids pob dont know that . All the diff personalities as the story unfolded that she devil made herself , one particualy sticks in my mind ..the *nanny* how could we forget and the bottom spanking scene ...and fuunnier still , seeing Tom Baker ( who i was nevver into as doctor who and that silly coloured neckwear , in his tardis ) was super cool and amazing playing a diff part to what people generally associate him with ..the wonderful Vicar or Rev Father getting sozzled to have naughty sex ( yes we got to see that too ) and beating himself up before and after ...And of course the wonderful Liz who could win an award for just walking on and saying nothing , had me in fits of giggles and i saw a hint of Pat Hodge trying to hild back the laugh at Liz wonderful laughing scenes ..it really was infectious ...I loved every min of this mini series and those who dont view the one and only TRUE BAFTA winner with this cast have turely missed out , i would not dream of insulting by looking at any other version ...thanks for memories ..incidently im still in the same postion in life i was when i watched it 27 years back ...time hasnt moved for me and looking at Pats pictures on the net, it hasnt for Pat ...thanks for memories x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devilishly Good., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life and loves of a She-Devil / Region 2 / Dutch Import / Miniseries (DVD)
Firstly quick delivery from seller.Next I remember seeing this when it first aired and think its only been on once since.Great story,fantastic cast and particularly funny too.Gentlemen take note lest you unleash the inner She-Devil,you have been warned!.Picture and sound quality are not pristine but not terrible either,subtitles easily switched off.Why the BBC have never remastered and updated/re-released this is beyond me perhaps too niche market,if you have not seen this seek out this hidden gem,you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the film !, 28 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Life and loves of a She-Devil / Region 2 / Dutch Import / Miniseries (DVD)
The title of this review says it all, really - far better than the sanitized Hollywood version of the original story. A stellar performance by Julie T Wallace with excellent support from Patricia Hodge and Dennis Waterman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ?, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life and loves of a She-Devil / Region 2 / Dutch Import / Miniseries (DVD)
I bought this dvd for my wife. She loved it first time round, and as already watched it many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life and loves of a She-Devil / Region 2 / Dutch Import / Miniseries (DVD)
I love the story. The cast is well chosen and the acting is perfect.
It is far better than the American version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulously dated., 12 Jun. 2013
By 
DBT "dt" (God's Own County) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life and loves of a She-Devil / Region 2 / Dutch Import / Miniseries (DVD)
An absolutlely ground breaking drama - in its day. Weldon's tale of revenge and obsession is beautifully enacted by the quiverringly beautiful Patricia Hodge and the equally sensual Julie T Wallace. Dennis Waterman is superb as the cringeworthy Bobbo. It's fabulous, fun and frightening - the only reason it's four stars is that it's production is which really dated which surprised me a little - but not to the detriment of enjoyment. Mary Fisher lives in a house by the sea. Indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great drama, 5 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life and loves of a She-Devil / Region 2 / Dutch Import / Miniseries (DVD)
wasn't sure about the dvd being a dutch import but it was the only one i could find and all is great just switch off the dutch subtitles and all is well brought back a lot of memories from first seeing this as a child although it is now looking rather dated did we really wear those clothes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life and loves of a She-Devil / Region 2 / Dutch Import / Miniseries
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews