Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 February 2011
In 1985 the BBC made a 3 part mini series of the life of Oscar Wilde.

It is a wonderful production and extremely good viewing.

However, I do not know what method was used to turn the BBC production into
a DVD as I think the quality of the DVD is not as good as it could be.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
This John Hawkesworth (Upstairs Downstairs, Duchess of Duke Street) BBC adaptation is excellent. The casting of Michael Gambon as Oscar Wilde is a declaration of genius. For such a relatively short series of three episodes it encapsulates fully the history of this great and mistreated man who suffered greatly from the injustices done to him. No adaptation about Oscar Wilde could fail to launch into a love story encompassing all the hurt, sacrifices and torment that goes with such a love and 'Oscar' does this to perfection. It ranks as highly as 'Wilde' (1997) starring Stephen Fry and is far better than 'The Trials of Oscar Wilde' (1960) which, although good on detail, suffered from the lack of depicting the whole sordid truth. The entire cast are excellent and the entire feature so moving it has to rank as one of the very best Oscar Wilde tributes ever screened.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2009
Mr Gambon is a wonderful actor but I feel he portrayed Oscar a little soft and limp in this series. In going for a fey, fin de siecle atmosphere the series was a little laid back and lacked the occasional fire and fury of OW's relationship with Bosie and of Bosie's with his father. Worth buying if you're collecting all you can on OW - there's very little about on DVD. Incidentally, I'm SURE I've seen the actor who played Bosie presenting the weather on ITV recently!
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
I was alarmed when I received the DVD as I could understand nothing on the cover as it was all written in Dutch. However, as it was a BBC production and there was no mention of this in the product description on the amazon site I hoped that it would nevertheless be in English (I don't speak or read Dutch). In fact you can have the sound in English but the only subtitles available are in Dutch. I would like to return the product and would be interested to know if it is possible to have a version with English sound AND subtitles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
A very good biopic about Oscar and Bosey. Of course, the story itself is frustrating and tragic for the modern viewer. Frustrating because Oscar's decision to stay in Great Britain, against all sane advice, and to be assassinated by the state and society was so unnecessary when he could have gone to France (which he ended up doing anyway). Tragic because of the hateful treatment of gays by the people and state apparatus of the day, which stole his life, his family, his reputation, and his entire estate. Like Mozart, Oscar Wilde's widow became wealthy within a few short years of his untimely death.

Michael Gambon is quite good, but I was disappointed by Robin Lermitte's Bosey. I have been a great fan of his and, because he is incredibly good looking in other roles, I thought he would be perfect as the boy Oscar gives his life for. But he is rather uninteresting and not nearly as pretty as he should be for the story to make any sense at all.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
Rather old, but interesting TV series about Oscar Wilde.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
Not as good as the film Stephen fry acted in
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Super fast delivery by seller! Many thanks. Looking forward to watching the Dvd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)