Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moleskine on the move
I've long been a Moleskine convert, so I was looking forward taking just one book with me on a recent trip to London (rather than my usual tourist map book, Moleskine notebook and address book....). This little baby performed admirably, and I'll continue to use it on future trips to record notes and opinions of eateries, bars, shops and attractions as I experience...
Published on 23 Feb 2007 by J. D. Cartlidge

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grey Print
It concentrates on the centre of London-understable so as London is so large. It is pocket diary sized but about twice as thick, so easily carried. The layout is good but why do they use a silver grey colour for the type? It is hard to read especially so under artificial light.
Published on 6 Feb 2010 by Mr. M. P. J. Potter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moleskine on the move, 23 Feb 2007
By 
J. D. Cartlidge "cognos27" (Sandbach, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: London Notebook (Moleskine City Pocket Book) (Hardcover)
I've long been a Moleskine convert, so I was looking forward taking just one book with me on a recent trip to London (rather than my usual tourist map book, Moleskine notebook and address book....). This little baby performed admirably, and I'll continue to use it on future trips to record notes and opinions of eateries, bars, shops and attractions as I experience them.

Downsides? The map is very centrally focused (starting at Kensington in the West), although in its detail I can't fault it. There are also some 'features' such as the tracing paper that obviously looked good in the design studio, but on the ground seem a bit lame. I'm sure future editions will be more practical in this respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grey Print, 6 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. M. P. J. Potter "London Welsh" (Stafford,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: London Notebook (Moleskine City Pocket Book) (Hardcover)
It concentrates on the centre of London-understable so as London is so large. It is pocket diary sized but about twice as thick, so easily carried. The layout is good but why do they use a silver grey colour for the type? It is hard to read especially so under artificial light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Write your own guidebook, 1 Aug 2009
By 
Alison "runninggirlcycling" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: London Notebook (Moleskine City Pocket Book) (Hardcover)
I love Molekine notebooks and this is perfect for my next trip to London.

The book contains:
Personal data page
Contents page
Fold out tube map with station index
Transport contact details
2 pages for travel planning
Measures and conversions page
International sizes page
Page with a ruler marked
Detailed maps
Street index
Several blank pages for "notes and thoughts"
City file pages where each 4 pages is a tabbed section with 6 spaces to write in on each page, tabs are marked with icons that relate to dining, drinking, accommodation, encounters/people, info/shopping/where to go and books/music/cinema.
The next 6 tabbed sectioned can be customised.
The last few pages are scored with 6 square rip-off peices per page.
Tracing paper is provided so you can draw things over the maps and stick them over the page.

There are three ribbons/bookmarks.

I just wish they had more UK cities covered. I'd like to write one about my favourite places in my nearest city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic product!, 20 Aug 2008
This review is from: London Notebook (Moleskine City Pocket Book) (Hardcover)
Since I bought this moleskine city guide I don't think I've ever left it at home. It has proved an invaluable way to make little notes about the city I live in. For example, I have been able to record quirky little cafes on side streets, found by chance, and would probably never be found again without somewhere to note it all down. I can see this turning into a way to collect my musings and witterings about London.

A lovely product that I will keep for life - or at least until it is falling apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too small for comfortable writing, but OK for organising some facts, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Notebook (Moleskine City Pocket Book) (Hardcover)
I bought this notebook for being my #1 reference for anything that I'd need to do in London.
Actually this was my second purchase of the same notebook, as I managed to lose one in Milan - but no-one ever returned it...
So I was willing to pay for the same blank notebook for the second time. Which is a good sign, right?

Unfortunately the pages are too tiny for comfortable writing.
You wouldn't want to write any longer instructions than just contact info about places worth visiting.
Due to its thickness you can't write on the central 8+8mm of any page.

Also I disagree with anyone who loves the paper of this notebook
Although I use a good Uniball Micro 207 Signo 0.5mm pens, the in goes through paper and also sticks on the opposite pages.
So the paper doesn't suck in the ink, and the ink sticks on your fingers, other pages, etc.

Also the grey print makes the text really hard to read. And English conversion tables should be more usable!

On the positive note, the tabbed pages are very useful for organising information in categories. This was one of my main reason for buying it.

Also the format itself is good for carrying it in pockets, but it comes with a disadvantage of being too uncomfortable for writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great :), 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Notebook (Moleskine City Pocket Book) (Hardcover)
its just what you need when you are in London you can have every thing on your phone but what happens if you run out of battery this lovely pocket sized book has saved me a few times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars moleskine porn, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Notebook (Moleskine City Pocket Book) (Hardcover)
i adore moleskine's and the travel ones have great maps, and tabbed sections that you can use for place you want visit or notes on what you have done. the only thing about them is you need to find a decent pen as ink is slow drying on them and also there is no place in the notebooks to hold a pen, this is a real shame. but doesnt stop me using moleskine diary's every year, and several note books... i think im addicted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moleskine London City Notebook, 15 Mar 2011
By 
J. Whitworth "TinMan" (Littleborough OL15) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Notebook (Moleskine City Pocket Book) (Hardcover)
I bought this prior to a couple of days in London. It's clear that a lot of thought had gone into it and there were more 'sections' for you to use than a couple of days would need. I found the whole notebook extremely useful. The maps were ideal for what we wanted, and even though TfL have tube maps coming out of the woodwork at every tube station it's good to have the central zones as part of the notebook. I liked the 'tracing' overlay papers but didn't use them extensively on this occasion, but it's good to have something to scribble on with a single item like a coffee shop without ruining the map. Used near enough all the sections to some extent and thought it a very worthwhile addition to a trip to the capital. I would certainly buy one of the other City Notebooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, 15 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Notebook (Moleskine City Pocket Book) (Hardcover)
Pretty much every diary/journal/calendar I have ever bought is guaranteed to contain a London Underground Map. I have the full tube map somehow squeezed into notebooks 1/5th the size of this book.
Yet somehow Moleskine failed to include the full Underground map in a book that is supposed to be dedicated to the city!
The map contained in here cuts off pretty much all of the South London stations, and the top 1/4 of the North London stations. I have never seen a version of the Underground map with omissions before, and here is one, in a book devoted to London!
The London Underground is the transport spine of the city, and the map is a cultural icon. Putting out a book focusing on London and omitting sections of the tube map just makes this book a waste of time. Nothing else about the book really stands out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Handy compact travel tool, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Notebook (Moleskine City Pocket Book) (Hardcover)
This notebook is superb and so compact. It was delivered very promptly as usual. Although it's a few weeks before going on my trip, this is great for planning what we want to do etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews