Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Sketching
This large sketchbook is the perfect size for me, each page is just a little bigger than my hand when relaxed. The paper is a nice weight and the surface is silky smooth.
Inside the back cover is a pocket to keep various bits and pieces of paper in and because it opens inwards and seems to have strong joints to the book it seems like a great addition.
The best...
Published on 8 Mar 2006 by Richard Stowey

versus
28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a great sketchbook...
To me the term 'sketchbook' implies something versatile, able to handle a variety of different mediums. The Moleskine would perhaps be better labelled an illustrators drawing book, as the ultra smooth paper is primarily suited to fine, detailed drawings using fineliners. Using a graphite pencil in this book for the first time I was surprised to hear it screech over the...
Published on 30 Oct 2010 by LordGorse


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Sketching, 8 Mar 2006
By 
Richard Stowey "Senior Project Manager" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moleskine Sketchbook (Hardcover)
This large sketchbook is the perfect size for me, each page is just a little bigger than my hand when relaxed. The paper is a nice weight and the surface is silky smooth.
Inside the back cover is a pocket to keep various bits and pieces of paper in and because it opens inwards and seems to have strong joints to the book it seems like a great addition.
The best bit of the book is that because of the spine design you can open the book right out and litterally have any two page spread flat accross each other. This means you don't have to have a regular sketchbook and not be able to sketch accross pages without seriously destroying the spine, and you don't have to delve into the ring-bound sketchbooks.
The hard cover seems pretty hard wearing and a good choice of material to protect all of those sketches buried deep inside.
Plus, the value for money from Amazon when i bought it is superb!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a great sketchbook..., 30 Oct 2010
This review is from: Moleskine Sketchbook (Hardcover)
To me the term 'sketchbook' implies something versatile, able to handle a variety of different mediums. The Moleskine would perhaps be better labelled an illustrators drawing book, as the ultra smooth paper is primarily suited to fine, detailed drawings using fineliners. Using a graphite pencil in this book for the first time I was surprised to hear it screech over the page. Another favourite sketching tool, the Pentel brush pen, in every other sketchbook I've used produces a rich black line; not so in the Moleskine. The ink appears weak, almost charcoalish, rather than the beautiful deep black I'm used to. There are far superior sketchbooks available, many for much less money. Don't be taken in by the romantic advertising; this brand has been around for less than 20 years and was never used by the famous names mentioned on the cover flap. They still have a lot to learn about making 'classic' sketchbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great little pad., 16 July 2009
By 
Z. Zhang (B'ham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moleskine Sketchbook (Hardcover)
I have very few qualms with this sketchbook. As I'd expect from Moleskine, it's a terribly well made, hardy piece of kit that's great for sketching on the go. The covers are tough and waterproof, providing good protection.
Although the dimensions are printed on the amazon site, one thing that is a little misleading is the naming 'large' sketchbook, as its size is medium at best, comparable to a paperback novel. Helpfully however, it is so bound that pages can be opened to more or less a completely flat drawing space, allowing you to draw quite easily across both pages, so you can use it as an A4 pad should you need it. The size does mean that it is thoroughly portable - great for carrying with you, sketching in airports, cafes, etc.
A final comment is that, certainly for me and likely others using pencil, the paper is a little too smooth and would benefit from a bit more tooth for these mediums. Perhaps the watercolour pad would be more suited to this purpose.As a result the graphite also smudges fairly easily so watch where you're laying your hands.
However these pages are still excellent quality and are perfect for people sketching in pen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good travel sketcher, excellent at half price!, 27 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moleskine Sketchbook (Hardcover)
This sketchbook is designed with the traveller in mind: hard, durable covers held shut with a ribbon of elastic, contains plenty of heavy weight, durable paper, and a handy fold-out pocket in the back for loose paper paraphernalia. The size won't hog too much bag space and could probably fit inside a coat pocket. In any event it isn't too cumbersome to carry about in the hand.
A thing I would say is the paper is exceptionally smooth, having little tooth, and proves to have a slightly resistive quality with certain media. It's fabulous to work on with inks, felt pens etc., not so easy with water-based paints and some pencils - if you prefer these to inkwork then I would suggest looking at other books, for example the Moleskine watercolour sketchbook, or one with toothier cartridge paper.
Another thing is if your book isn't going to travel and what you want is purely a sketch book then possibly you'll need a larger format, A4 or more. The recommended retail price is quite expensive for a sketchbook of this size but at around half-price with Amazon discount they become excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moleskein is an age old travel classic, 11 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Moleskine Sketchbook (Hardcover)
I bought a moleskein sketchbook some time ago to keep in my bag.
I loved the thought that these books had been used by "great thinkers" so many years ago - it added an element of charm & old age to them, I can imagine those books now with curling pages and worn covers filled with the lovely handwriting of Hemingway, Shakespeare and the sketches of van gogh - objects of beauty! They seem to look very smart and professional - even compared to copies, they stand above in terms of look, quality and "feel".. I'm not sure why they are so lovely to hold and use, but they are.

There was one mention of the colour of the paper in the sketchbook - saying it was a horrible yellow.... Its not yellow, its more a parchment or off white/antique cream and I thought that this added even more beauty to this little book, imo - making it look more substantial in quality and feel. I love the colour of the paper, I prefer it to stark white.
Once you get a fair few pages of this pocket book sketched in, it starts to take on a lovely look of interest and "design".
They are small, since they are intended to slip into a pocket or bag and travel with you without being cumbersome. As people have mentioned the paper itself is smooth and works nicely for pen and some fine pencils - I have had success with quick watercolor and watercolor pencils too, but if you like paper to have a tooth then try the watercolor pad - which is also very nice and is orientated in landscape, which is lovely. (The watercolor books pages are more white than the sketchbook.)

This is a surprisingly sturdy little book with the spine being strong enough to take quite a lot of abuse and flattening. It also has a very handy black elastic band that hold the sketchbooks closed - I hold a small pen/pencil within mine using this band and it has not distorted or ruined the book (as has happened in other similar products).

It is elegant in its simplicity and is a beautiful little book to have and use. I recommend it and am converted, even though i like to use large sketchbooks at home - for the purposes of travel and quick notes etc.. this is perfect.
Also, amazons price is excellent - these moleskeins usually range between £10 and £20....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strange coated paper!, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moleskine Sketchbook (Hardcover)
Cream paper is great - less stark than pure white, but with this book it's **just a coating** and can rub off if not careful, leaving a rough white patch (use a 'very' soft type of putty rubber or plastic eraser).

Most sketchbooks I've tried - even cheap college sketchbooks of very ordinary cartridge paper - take a light wash, whether it's for watercolour sketching, water soluble pencils, ink washes - but this won't. This is a pretty normal thing to want to be able to do and don't think this is expecting too much. The paper appears as a wax resist does then when wetted, then goes grainy.

Binding is is fine, seems to be usual quality. But reading reviews on Amazon.com it appears that the paper changed to this one recently and it was better before.

Several sheets also had kinks in (not worth returning for - but another detraction).

It's ok for pencil/ink (line) drawing and will use for practise or experiments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality sketchbook with very smooth creamy paper, 26 Jan 2010
By 
H. Nye "han3617" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moleskine Sketchbook (Hardcover)
A quality sketchbook (as might be expected from Moleskine); the paper is a very smooth, creamy coloured and quite stiff, and the book opens flat fairly easily so you could draw across the two-page spread quite easily. Personally I rather like the colour of the paper (and knew what I was getting as I have bought these before) - but am torn between rating it as a 4 or 5 as I do wonder if slightly whiter paper may have a wider appeal. (The paper in the sketchbook is certainly more yellowy than in their watercolour notebooks) In contrast to a previous reviewer, I actually find that HB pencils (and softer) show up perfectly well though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read the product dimensions, 3 Feb 2010
By 
J. A. Boyce "indie person" (uk (wherethe gud music is)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moleskine Sketchbook (Hardcover)
These books are fantastic. I'm a graphic designer/illustrator and have been using them for years. I have no sympathy for the people who have a problem with the size because it clearly states in the product dimensions section what the measurements are. One of the most reliably well made brands around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great except yellow paper, 5 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Moleskine Sketchbook (Hardcover)
Looking at other reviews I can see that a few people have had problems with this. Although the product is extremely well made and what I was expecting the paper has a yellow surface which is rubbed away with powerful enough rubbing. Not a huge problem for me as I'm using it for ideas and quick sketches but if anyone wants to do proper colour work then this is potentially problematic.

Overall I would say a good purchase as it's easy to work with and is very smooth to work on however not perfect with the yellowish paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars moleskine a5 journal, 1 Sep 2011
This review is from: Moleskine Sketchbook (Hardcover)
A great size for drawings and sketches. Also good for a water painting, as long as you don't use too much water on the page as it will bleed into the page on the other side and completely ruin it (same applies when using inks). Whether you're on page 1 or page 29, it never feels as if you're battling to keep the double page nice and flat. It's also quite strong, so it will take a few knocks wherever you store it. Overall, really good quality. So I'll definately be buying more..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moleskine Sketchbook
£7.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews