Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A necessity in your backpack to Nepal
One of Lonely Planets best guidebooks and definetely the best one for Nepal. As always Lonely Planet got it all covered, accomodation, things to see and do, food and travelling. Very accurate and well written with lots of facts. Also contains useful advices and information on the culture, Gods, religions, etc. I have used it on journeys throughout Nepal and you can really...
Published on 3 Dec 2001 by Fredrik Tukk

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A BIG letdown
Having used Lonely Planet India and found it excellent, this book was a huge dissapointment. The writing style is often patronising and ill-informed and the maps have many errors.
Published on 19 Sep 2009 by Bookgeek


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A necessity in your backpack to Nepal, 3 Dec 2001
One of Lonely Planets best guidebooks and definetely the best one for Nepal. As always Lonely Planet got it all covered, accomodation, things to see and do, food and travelling. Very accurate and well written with lots of facts. Also contains useful advices and information on the culture, Gods, religions, etc. I have used it on journeys throughout Nepal and you can really tell that the authors knows what they are talking about and have set their foot on the places they are writing about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably still relevant, 6 April 2010
I used this 2006 edition in 2008 and it was very helpful. Of course many things have changed since then so most people will probably want the latest and most up to date guide but most of the Guest Houses and Hotels in Kathmandu will be the same. It was very strange going back in 2008 after 10 years. I thought things would be better for Nepalis and they weren't;they were worse-petrol shortages;electricity cuts every day etc.
As a traveller there are now things to think about none of the Guide Books tell you. The new taxes added onto your food and Guest House mean that the country has become much more expensive and when you have no electricity half the day and yet are paying the same as to stay in Europe you cannot help but query their thinking as it will without a doubt impact on the younger travellers and mid-range travellers who are travelling on a Budget and who love the country but will not be able to stay as long and so not contribute as much to the economy through tourism/trekking etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet Nepal, 26 May 2009
By 
C. P. Grimshaw (Devon England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This guide is superb for puttng tigether a trip to an unknown country and allows you to choose the very best bits to see and where to eat and stay on varios budgets. I used the Peru version last year and was very impressed with the impartial advise and in depth knowledge of all parts the country. I am now using the Nepal guide to plan my trip there later this year and if it's as good as Peru I will be very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Usual top of the line guide from LP, 5 Sep 2000
This review is from: Lonely Planet: Nepal (Paperback)
If you're used to Lonely Planet guide, this is another of their top of the line guides. Same style and layout as all the others. I've used both this and older editions and they've all been as acurate as you'd expect from a guide book. It's well worth getting a newer edition if you have an old one, they've updated quite a lot and added a lot more info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Guidebook, 12 Dec 2010
Probably on of lonely planets best, because it's a small country without many places to go! Although this is an outdated version and I would recommend getting the to date version as things are developing and changing fast in Nepal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nepal Lonely Planet, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
wONDERFUL TRAVEL GUIDE CONTAINING ALL OF THE NEED-TO-KNOW INFO WITH RECOMMENDATIONS AND PLACES TO VISIT. I WOULDN'T TRAVEL ANYWHERE WITHOUT A LONELY PLANET GUIDE. NEVER FAILS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series of books!, 3 Jan 2004
By 
J. C. Eames "Winston" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As me and a friend are planning a round the world trip this series of books has been a great help.
In picking places where to go it's helpful to know whats there!
Were mainly backpacking and using hostels so specific country guides aimed at this was essential. We needed to know campsites, country entry requirements, cost of living, activities, etiquette, transport options, do's and don'ts and most importantly what the food was like! As well as info on touring in campervans, car or footslogging.
The book has it all and more. It covers all such topics and then reviews each place in the country individually. It has topics on law, car rental and purchase, gay and lesbians interests and so much more. If your travelling to this country then this book will be very useful. I don't think there is one thing I could think of that it does not cover. It even has places to rock climb in it! There are even phone numbers and addresses of hostels and hotels. Local culture and etiquette is covered, which is very useful in order that you don't upset the local inhabitants. Loads of major city centre maps and tons of colour pictures all add to the books appeal.
In addition their website [...] is a great site containing a lot of invaluable information.
The books are very durable and will stand the test of time. I now own five in total, including a Thai phrasebook, as the LP guides are an extensive series, covering more than just travel.
A very worthy and essential purchase, money very well spent indeed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A BIG letdown, 19 Sep 2009
Having used Lonely Planet India and found it excellent, this book was a huge dissapointment. The writing style is often patronising and ill-informed and the maps have many errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nepal (Lonely Planet Travel Guides)
Nepal (Lonely Planet Travel Guides) by H. Finlay (Paperback - 1 Nov 2001)
Used & New from: 26.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews