Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the New York Times Bestseller list
I have read this book a number of times and I can totally understand why it is called "the most popular book on the mind!"
It is a relatively easy to read book and covers the entire subject of the mind and gives a technique how to improve areas one wants to improve.
The book was released in 1950 and since millions have used it - including me.
Published 2 months ago by Gabor Toth

versus
256 of 295 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read real psychology instead
Dianetics argues that the sources of human suffering are stored in 'engrams' in the 'reactice mind' - complete recordings, down to the accurate detail, of every perceptual experience. It also describes the way to rid yourself of these 'engrams' as a process called 'clearing'. It sounds reasonable until you dig deeper into Dianetics and Scientology (the Church of...
Published on 12 May 2008 by Anonymous


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

256 of 295 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read real psychology instead, 12 May 2008
Dianetics argues that the sources of human suffering are stored in 'engrams' in the 'reactice mind' - complete recordings, down to the accurate detail, of every perceptual experience. It also describes the way to rid yourself of these 'engrams' as a process called 'clearing'. It sounds reasonable until you dig deeper into Dianetics and Scientology (the Church of Scientology).

I bought 'Dianetics' in 1998 from a street recruiter from the Church of Scientology (L. Ron Hubbard was the founder of the 'Church'). Luckily, I only wasted 6 pounds. 'Dianetics' is an entry point into the 'Church' of Scientology - a blend of pseudo-psychotherapy, religion and science fiction which has bankrupted hundreds of people and led to some suicides (see Time Magazine, 6th May 1991). You can find scientologist recruiters on city streets everywhere. A popular trick (used on me) is to ask - survey style - "if you could change three things in your life, what would they be". Scientologists call this 'finding your ruin', i.e. a weakness or problem they can hook into. Alternatively, they use a 'personality (or 'stress') questionnaire' - with no scientific basis and no demonstrated psychometric validity (i.e. never validated in a scientific peer-reviewed journal). The Scientologist wrote my three answers down and mentioned a book which could help - 'DIANETICS'. I was taken to a basement beneath a pub, which was full of the books, and others by the Author Ron Hubbard, the founder of the Church of Scientology. I am a psychologist - not stupid - but was then persuaded due to my interest in psychology. I bought the book for 6 pounds, and was asked to give my name and address, in order to send out a "receipt". What I received was over 10 unsolicited letters from Scientology members asking if I had resolved my three issues, and offering 'help' in their local centre.

Hubbard describes a process called 'clearing' (called 'auditing' when performed by another person, which it has to be). This is a form of 'psychotherapy' performed by people who are not trained in psychology or counselling, and are not members of any professional psychological or counselling organisation. It involves aspects of hypnotism, social pressure and conditioning, though the church states that it is not psychotherapy. Auditing costs a lot of money. After some years of auditing, at great expense, one might reach an 'advanced level' known as OT III. Here you are told that...the cause of your (and everyone's) problems was that the world is full of the souls of space aliens murdered 75 million years ago. The alien galactic ruler Xenu was in charge of Earth and 75 other planets in this part of the galaxy some 75 million years ago and cured overpopulation by paralysing the people of the other planets, flying them to Earth in DC-8 space planes, arranged them round a volcano to murder them with H bombs. These souls of murdered people were gathered up and boxed, taken to cinemas and shown films for several days. The end result was that the souls clustered together and now inhabit people in their thousands. Scientology will help 'clear' you of this, at great expense. Sounds ludicrous? Well it's true. Check it out for yourself.

'Dianetics' is full of unscientific nonsense with no supporting empirical evidence that has been published in peer-reviewed psychology journals. The American Psychological Association denounced it as such. The language is deliberately complex to baffle and impress the average reader. Most would consider it unreadable.

The author was actually a science fiction writer, who saw that he could make more money by inventing a new religion - Hubbard stated: "Writing for a penny a word is ridiculous. If a man really wants to make a million dollars, the best way would be to start his own religion". Scientology has been exposed by many independent Judges and Governments, and by the press (famously by Time magazine, 1991). Scientology or its practices has been banned on and off in many countries and states. However, in order to silence its critics the it issues legal procedings citing copyright infringement against journalists, newpapers and websites that reveal negative information about Scientology.

As for the author, Hubbard the (Australian) Report of the Board of Inquiry into Scientology (Victoria) stated that "expert psychiatric witnesses" were of the opinion that Hubbard's writings indicated "symptoms of paranoid schizophrenia of long standing with delusions of grandeur" and came to the conclusion that Hubbard's "sanity was to be gravely doubted." Hubbard claims to have visited Venus, the Van Allen Radiation belt, and heaven (twice). Hubbard wrote the fair game policy - that anyone critical of scientology is fair game for abuse including violence. You can find his sci-fi books on Amazon - and science fiction is exactly what Scientology is. Hubbard claimed to have a Ph.D. from "Sequoia University" - a residential dwelling in Los Angeles which operated through a post office box and delivered mail order doctorates without exams, or attendance... Hubbard had no qualifications in psychology, counselling, psychotherapy, theology, or philosophy.

Still interested in reading it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 106 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A review, and a warning., 14 Oct. 2009
By 
J.C.D. (North Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health (Paperback)
'Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health' was first published in 1951 by American science fiction writer and part-time philosophical thinker L. Ron Hubbard. The book was an instant hit, and spawned a movement that would evolve in Scientology only a few years later in the mid-1950s. Many of the Amazon reviews are posted by people who disagree with the Church of Scientology, but who have not read the book themselves. If you want the opinion of someone who has, read on.

Let me first say that this review is genuine. I've read the book, and I was also a member of the Church of Scientology and a member of staff at one of their missions. I can tell you exactly what this book is about and speculate with some accuracy where it leads people. 'Dianetics' is one of the most interesting books published in the 20th century, but not for entirely wholesome reasons. If anyone should choose to read the book, they need to be fully aware of the accuracy of its claims, and should not go blindly in search of the elevated states of being it promises.

Many people's first experience of Dianetics comes after wandering into a Church of Scientology building or possibly being accosted by a Scientology stress tester (you won't find the word 'Scientology' anywhere in their displays or literature, but that's who they are). Usually, a punter is hooked up to an 'E-Meter' which WILL indicate that a great deal of stress is present. The tester will then point out that 'Dianetics' can help. Some people buy a copy, many do not. A wise move would be to forget the whole thing and go on with your life, but if you must read the book, pick it up off Amazon for a tiny fraction of the £15 Scientology UK charges for it.

The book is comprised of Hubbard outlining his 'discoveries' regarding the human mind. He claims to have isolated the common principle of all life on earth (which you won't be blown away by, let me assure you). He also claims that humans are held back by nothing other than remnants of past experiences stored up in a previously undiscovered part of the mind. It's all shockingly simple, and sounds like common sense. Hubbard claims that a well trained 'auditor' (counsellor) can uncover these past experiences and help the person overcome them. Once all past experiences have been discharged, a person becomes 'clear' (Hubbard claims that 'clears' have total recall, perfect vision and never get the common cold). Once a person is 'clear', they have reached the highest state of possible existence (until, that is, they start reading Scientology books, which offer endlessly more attractive and expensive levels of brilliance).

As a former Scientology staff member, I can tell you will some authority that Dianetics is just a way of getting people through the door. It is written in a way that makes it sound believable and its claims attainable, but they are not. Even in the Hubbardian pseudo-psychological world of Scientology, one would have to undergo years of training and spend huge sums of money after reaching the state of 'clear' in order to TRULY reach the ultimate state of existence. Scientology is a world of ever-moving goals and boundaries, always placing total freedom a little further away for the person seeking it.

Here is my warning; Dianetics auditing achieves something similar to Catholic confession. Divulging painful details about your past to a stranger offers a powerful but temporary feeling of 'release'. This was not Hubbard's invention, but it worked well for him. Reading the book will do nothing, it is merely an extended advertising leaflet for costly 'auditing' sessions. If you absolutely must try Dianetics, buy the book, read it, understand the auditing techniques, explain them to a friend and have the friend act as your 'auditor'. Don't go into a Church of Scientology - the only thing they know how to liberate is the money from your wallet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE REMOVE THIS CRAP, 6 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health (Paperback)
Why would someone even read this crap,Not only is this book brainwashing material>This cult should not even be allow to publish a book.IN my eyes DAVID KORESH WAS MORE SANE THEN L RON HUBBARD is at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 90 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the truth, 6 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health (Paperback)
this is a work of fiction masquerading as science.

do not be fooled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the New York Times Bestseller list, 31 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health (Paperback)
I have read this book a number of times and I can totally understand why it is called "the most popular book on the mind!"
It is a relatively easy to read book and covers the entire subject of the mind and gives a technique how to improve areas one wants to improve.
The book was released in 1950 and since millions have used it - including me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to know what's been done to you ..., 15 Feb. 2015
By 
W.Keene (Kansas City, KS) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health (Paperback)
If you want to know what's been done to you by others that results in any of the less than ideal situations in your life, read this book. It also teaches you how to do something about these situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dianetics, 13 Feb. 2015
By 
This review is from: Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health (Paperback)
Helped me a lot to understand what was going on with me and others. Made a lot of sense to me when I read it. I've used it since many times and will continue using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to understand yourself, people and society, you want need to read all of this best selling book., 20 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health (Paperback)
I really like this book, if you're smart enough to really read and understand the mental, medical and coined terms used in this text you'll find you can get a huge amount out of this book. The amount of research (over 10 years of independent research) that went into this book, the staggering amount of data you can gain from this text and the awe inspiring concepts on the human mind (not just the brain) will leave you not only with a full conceptual understanding but also wondering how anyone could ever get the two confused after knowing this book has been around and winning awards for so many years and also how anyone could try and disprove something that has been so thoroughly proven time and time again. I have been very impressed with this body of work and completely understand how Mr. Hubbard came to the conclusions he did and fully understand how and why he continued his research, any logical, sane person would do the same.
This book answers so many questions I had about the mind, about peoples responses to situations and the way they handle grief, joy, relationships, children and life that once I stared reading I didn't want to stop. If you want to understand yourself, people and society, you want to read all of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Life Changer, 20 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health (Paperback)
I read this book 30 years ago and it changed my life. It shook my world. I tested out what I had read and found it to be true. Over the years I have received processing and have been better off because of it. I'm happily married for 28 years and I'd never have managed that without what I learned in Dianetics. I love my family very much. When my oldest son turned into a "typical" teenager I introduced him to Dianetics and he was relieved to know he was not in fact crazy. He'll have to write his own review! It has made me successful in many areas of my life that I did not expect to do well in. I'm very thankful that my then boyfriend at the time handed it to me and said, "Read this. It's incredible."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dianetics Review, 28 Feb. 2008
L. Ron Hubbard has been grossly underestimated as a writer of Science Fiction. He is possibly one of the greatest fiction writers of the 20th century. With "Dianetics," Hubbard has been able to weave a complex, believable tale of the science of the mind, essentially forming the basis for what would come to be taken to be a religion. How many other Science Fiction writers have done something of that magnitude with such far reaching effects? Darn few.

"Dianetics made an early appearance in the magazine "Astounding Science Fiction" back in May of 1950. It garnered a lot of press and created a buzz that eventually garnered the attention of a wider audience.

Hubbard created a whole mythology around himself. It is said he was a bronco buster at the age of three, a teenage explorer, a blood brother of the Blackfeet Indians of Montana, a Nuclear Physicist, and a World War II hero, among other things. But above all, he was a writer of pulp Science Fiction.

Interestingly enough, there's plenty of documention that many of the ideas put forth in this book are not original. Many may not be aware that at the root of Dianetics are the discoveries of Dr. William Sargant (a psychiatrist). Sargant's research observed post traumatic stress syndrome in World War II soldiers, leading to a cure known as Abnormal Reaction Therapy. This entailed re-experiencing traumatic events (Hubbard called these "engrams") utilizing a hypnotic (or drugged) state to confront these real or imagined items with the aid of a facilitator. If you are interested in exploring Sargant's work, his book is called "Battle for the Mind: A Physiology of Conversion and Brainwashing." There are many very close similarities between the two texts.

The key is to become "Clear." Getting to the state of clear comes via "auditing" (a confessional) to remove engrams, thus destroying one's reactive mind. This is the portion of the mind that Dianetics states is the cause of mental and physical ailments. A Dianetics auditor questions the "pre-clear" with the use of an e-meter (a simple lie detector) to assist with this process.

It's been debated that either George Orwell or Ron Hubbard said: "Writing for a penny a word is ridiculous. If a man really wants to make a million dollars, the best way would be to start his own religion." Well, Hubbard did just that. And he did indeed make millions. And here is the book that started it all, compliments of the extremely imaginative mind of Science Fiction writer, L. Ron Hubbard, and a few uncredited Psychiatrists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health
Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health by L.Ron Hubbard (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2007)
£13.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews