Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walking in Andalucia
This book is just perfect! Several of us decided to spend much of our week in Andalcua walking and we were recommended Guy HW's book. Not only was it perfectly laid out and easy to follow, but it had the added bonus of illustrations of the flora and fauna and all the hostelries etc., that we visited ticked the box perfectly. WE had a marvellous time thanks mainly to...
Published on 23 April 2012 by Janie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Limited walks
The book is fine if you want a lot of long walks. We didn't find it suitable as we would have preferred more variety on length. We have a number of walking books and this is probably better described as hiking in Andalucia.
Read through it and as we were there in warm weather, May 2013, The long walks would have been no good. We are active ramblers (Rambler...
Published 12 months ago by Mal


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walking in Andalucia, 23 April 2012
This review is from: Walking in Andalucia (Paperback)
This book is just perfect! Several of us decided to spend much of our week in Andalcua walking and we were recommended Guy HW's book. Not only was it perfectly laid out and easy to follow, but it had the added bonus of illustrations of the flora and fauna and all the hostelries etc., that we visited ticked the box perfectly. WE had a marvellous time thanks mainly to this hugely informative book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most excellent walking guide, 8 April 2012
This review is from: Walking in Andalucia (Paperback)
Clearly written with the walks graded and accurately described, this guide book is streaks above any other we've used elsewhere. Not only does the author take you through the most diverse and very beautiful country, through National Parks, mountains, woodlands and beside lakes but he give us other interesting and helpful information and his book is a delight to read. There are lists of places to stay, places to eat and bird and plant check lists. Mr.Hunter Watts attention to detail and research is clear as is his knowledge and love of Andalucia - and his enthusiasm is infectious. An essential walking guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential guide for walking in Andalucia, 6 April 2012
This review is from: Walking in Andalucia (Paperback)
We have a house out in Andalusia and we always use Guy Hunter-Watts' walking books and recommend them to anyone who stays in our property. This book is an essential guide for anyone wishing to explore the wonders of Andalusia on foot. It is well written and informative with easy to follow routes and good helpful lists of places to stay, what to take etc. He has rediscovered and recorded many of the most beautiful walks in Spain, presenting the reader with vivid, evocative pictures of the landscape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Limited walks, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Andalucia (Paperback)
The book is fine if you want a lot of long walks. We didn't find it suitable as we would have preferred more variety on length. We have a number of walking books and this is probably better described as hiking in Andalucia.
Read through it and as we were there in warm weather, May 2013, The long walks would have been no good. We are active ramblers (Rambler Association members and walk leaders) and fir enough to handle 10 miles in hilly country (Voges last year) but this was not used at all for any walking in Andalucia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful walks, wonderful guide, 15 April 2012
This review is from: Walking in Andalucia (Paperback)
I do quite a lot of walking in the Alpujarras and elsewhere in Andalucia and can really recommend this book. Guy Hunter Watts has done a marvellous job of selecting great walks and doing thorough research. I like all the extra information he gives and the directions and maps are excellent. With this guide you can really explore rural Andalucia - hiking through National Parks, wandering through beautiful woodlands, meadows and river gorges. Andalucia is so much more than a mass tourism destination and this guide enabled me to discover and enjoy all the natural beauty the region has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars walking on air, 12 April 2012
This review is from: Walking in Andalucia (Paperback)
I am not known for my enthusiasm for walking but this book helped me on my way. The intrigues and imaginings that a good long stroll will tease out of us all soon became apparent when we set out on our quest with a few random people we had met on the Costa. By the end of a week the bonding had become meaningful and, when we followed the advice of the book, every walk and each hostelry was a revelation. It is so easy to be lazy and cool and just chill on the beach, but the satisfaction and sense of achievement after a gruelling (not very) day's hiking in the interior repays one's efforts over and over. Can't wait for the next adventure and what a wonderful way to explore this magnificent country ..simultanously opening herself up to us as we did to each other...let's go..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walking in Andalucia, 5 April 2012
This review is from: Walking in Andalucia (Paperback)
I've used several editions of Mr Hunter-Watts walking books over the years and have found them well written, well presented and of course accurate and easy to follow. Most of the walks here have stupendous high points, some just give you one scenery high after another. Well recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very useful, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Andalucia (Paperback)
this book is ideal for planning walking routes in Andalucia. the area is wonderful, i heartily recommend a walking trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for hiking in Andalucia!, 19 Jan 2014
This review is from: Walking in Andalucia (Paperback)
We've been using Guy's guide books for years and have always found them to be very clear and concise. The route notes are very easy to follow. Be sure to check out the walk of the Hidden Valley- it is one of our favorites! My boyfriend took full advantage of the GPS files which the author can send you for uploading to your Garmen. The book made our vacation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 6 Sep 2013
By 
D. Evans "fat5hark" (Off the Cape) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Andalucia (Paperback)
I've used this for some of the walks around the Gaucin area. The walk descriptions are excellent and - for those I completed - almost faultless. Each walk has an overall 'expected' time, taking in rest stops, birdwatching, staring at the view, picnics etc. which are reasonably accurate, together with a breakdown of individual sections of the walk 'non-stop'. The latter are very accurate, the former depend on how leisurely you are. The walks are accompanied by GPS coordinates, listed at the back of the book. I think these are also available for download, but I couldn't access them using the web address provided. The walks are accompanied by 1:50000 maps but would be better still if the GPS waypoints were marked on the maps. Smartphone users should consider getting ViewRanger which offers the same maps as tiles for a few pence - a perfect way to track the routes. Finally, at least for the Gaucin area, the rating for the walks (easy/medium/difficult), are perhaps a little pessimistic. Even the medium walks are very straightforward, both in terms of ruggedness and route finding ... all very subjective, and of course weather dependent, but readers wanting full-day challenges and rugged, exposed routes in remote locations might be disappointed with anything other than the hardest and longest routes.

Note ... I've also read the 5th edition and, although the routes compared were very similar, the maps were much better, so this current edition is a worthwhile purchase rather than getting an old secondhand edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walking in Andalucia
Walking in Andalucia by Guy Hunter-Watts (Paperback - 9 Jan 2012)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews