Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars8
2.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2015
This book is fantastic, one of the best Latin American books I've read , but the binding and printing is some of the worst I've come across. The book has a stolen image for a front cover, the text is extremely small. The book is supposed to be in two parts, but this printing is not. There are paragraph breaks where there shouldn't be, and sometimes it just doesn't signpost chapters. It was printed by Amazon. DO NOT BUY THIS PRINTING.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Had to get this book for reading for a Spanish class. Difficult to get into it at the beginning - lots of new vocab, and lots of local slang; but got used to it and then thoroughly enjoyed the story (despite it being somewhat disturbing). Not an easy story to understand immediately, due to author's style of writing - flashbacks, monologues, jumping into medias res - but would recommend book without hesitation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
Absolutely shocking. The story itself is amazing, but the amount of typos and general mistakes there are in this edition make it unreadable. I had to get it from the library in the end to be able to read it. I would have demanded my money back straight away if I had noticed early enough. What a disgrace that people actually take money for this rubbish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
El libro esta muy bien pero la edicion es muy mala, hay cambios de paragrafos a mitad de frase, errors de tipografia... El libro esta impreso por amazon, no una editorial reconocida.
Quality of the book itself is very bad, it's printed by Amazon, not an actual publishing house. Paragraph changes happen mid sentence, plenty of typos...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
He tenido que dejar de leerlo debido al elevado número de errores tipográficos de la edición, da la sensación de que estuviera escaneado y vuelto a imprimir sin revisar. Recomiendo comprar otra edición distinta.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Was amazing to received it in only 24 hours, a good quality book, perfect as a present to people who learn spanish, and good novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Book has many typing errors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2010
Vargas Llosa is a good and lively writer in Spanish. He's gifted, but not a genius as Jorge Luis Borges, but this is the case very common, he has won the Nobel Price that Borges never attained, a thing that has happened many times owing generally to political ideas.
Peru, as other Spanish American countries has three class of population, the indigenous, the mongrel and the practically Spanish. Mario Vargas is practically a Spanish man. But when South America become independent from Spain, many countries as Peru adopted customs from the USA because they judged at last they were Americans.
But geographical situation I think isn't enough to assimilate some costumes. One of these is the institution of military or pre- military colleges for children of upper bourgeosie. "La ciudad y los perros" is the biographical account of the hard college when the author passed his childhood and adolescence, submitted to terrible discipline but with many traces of humor, as the carnet to go to prostitution houses.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.