Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Little Book
This is a really well laid out book with a nice story line to keep you motivated. Very logical and clear approach. Good audio to accompany it. Definitely the best teach yourself polish language text I have come across. However, you'll need a lot more than four weeks to work your way through it!
Published on 19 April 2010 by Caro

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but there are no MP3s!
A very nicely produced introduction to Polish. Lessons lead with a conversation, then vocabulary and grammar rules are extracted from these in a meaningful way. It's an excellent approach and reminds me of Pimsleur a little. The interactive conversation program on the CD is a touch clumsy to use but is extremely useful and integrates well with the book.

Why...
Published 4 months ago by dhc


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Little Book, 19 April 2010
By 
Caro (Lancaster) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Polish in 4 Weeks - Level 1: An intensive course in basic Polish [Book and CD-ROM] (Paperback)
This is a really well laid out book with a nice story line to keep you motivated. Very logical and clear approach. Good audio to accompany it. Definitely the best teach yourself polish language text I have come across. However, you'll need a lot more than four weeks to work your way through it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but there are no MP3s!, 21 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polish in 4 Weeks - Level 1: An intensive course in basic Polish [Book and CD-ROM] (Paperback)
A very nicely produced introduction to Polish. Lessons lead with a conversation, then vocabulary and grammar rules are extracted from these in a meaningful way. It's an excellent approach and reminds me of Pimsleur a little. The interactive conversation program on the CD is a touch clumsy to use but is extremely useful and integrates well with the book.

Why the 3 star review? The adverts, the book and the CD itself all state that the CD contains MP3s of all conversations. It doesn't. If, like me, you were looking forward to practicing conversations in the car during the daily commute, you're out of luck. Here's what the CD contains:

D:\>dir /s /w
Volume in drive D is PIn4W
Volume Serial Number is F23C-F5CF

Directory of D:\

PIn4W.ico PIn4W_PC.exe ReadMe_PC.txt autorun.inf [lessons]
4 File(s) 2,790,709 bytes

Directory of D:\lessons

[.] [..] pel1.swf pel10.swf pel11.swf pel12.swf
pel13.swf pel14.swf pel15.swf pel16.swf pel17.swf pel18.swf
pel19.swf pel2.swf pel20.swf pel21.swf pel22.swf pel23.swf
pel24.swf pel25.swf pel26.swf pel27.swf pel28.swf pel3.swf
pel4.swf pel5.swf pel6.swf pel7.swf pel8.swf pel9.swf
28 File(s) 77,406,314 bytes

Total Files Listed:
32 File(s) 80,197,023 bytes
3 Dir(s) 0 bytes free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for speaking, reading and writing, 6 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Polish in 4 Weeks - Level 1: An intensive course in basic Polish [Book and CD-ROM] (Paperback)
An excellent book! It contains conversations that you can use in everyday life and lots of useful vocabulary including verbs in the present form and a few past and future. The CD is great for listening to the language, it's not spoken to fast or slowly and is very clear from my point of view. Good for beginners and intermediate level learners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Polish in 4 weeks, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polish in 4 Weeks - Level 1: An intensive course in basic Polish [Book and CD-ROM] (Paperback)
Some hope! But it looks like an interesting approach and I can't really rate it properly until I've spent more time with it. The disc didn't need to be an MP3. It would have fitted easily onto a CD and would have been immediately useful without the need to resort to a computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, so far so good!, 26 April 2013
By 
Lucia Almeida "L A" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polish in 4 Weeks - Level 1: An intensive course in basic Polish [Book and CD-ROM] (Paperback)
Still only on lesson 5 (Unit 5) but so far so good!

It will take me far more than 4 weeks to complete it as I'm only doing a lesson or two a week... but for the devoted student who can study 2/3 hours every day it would be quite possible to learn or at least to complete the course in just 4 weeks.

It's very well written, and all the complicated grammar aspects are well explained.

Well worth it's money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is not basic., 11 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polish in 4 Weeks - Level 1: An intensive course in basic Polish [Book and CD-ROM] (Paperback)
I received this as expected and the item arrived as described.
I bought this because I'm a complete beginner. This did look like a good learning package. However the DVD ROM is extremely confusing. It's very hard to follow and for a beginner such as me, virtually impossible to learn from with out guidance.
My partner is Polish and even with her help. I really could not get to grips with the teaching structure.
If you already have a decent back ground knowledge this might be ideal to brush up your Polish. As for me I'll be looking
to find something more to my level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CD-ROM could be a disappointment or a bonus, 24 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polish in 4 Weeks - Level 1: An intensive course in basic Polish [Book and CD-ROM] (Paperback)
I was very surprised to find that the files are .swf (Shockwave Flash) : this means the lessons play as on-screen text with audio. I have not yet been able to access the files as pure mp3 files, which is what I really wanted and what is advertised on the box. My intention was to put the files onto an mp3 player. At the moment I cannot see how to do this. If you intend to use the CD-ROM on a computer you may well find the on-screen dialogues a positive advantage.
If anyone can advise me how to transfer the files to an mp3 player I would be grateful.
The book is paperback size and quite thick.
I have just received the pack and am only submitting this review (1) to alert buyers to the nature of the disc (2) to see if anyone knows a workaround.

Update. Thanks to dhc (whose review also appears here), whose comment on this review pointed the way to a site where .swf files can be converted to purely audio .mp3 files and then easily transferred onto your mp3 player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not good, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polish in 4 Weeks - Level 1: An intensive course in basic Polish [Book and CD-ROM] (Paperback)
Big big letdown of this book is lack of Polish pronounciacion. Had this accompanied the vocabulary which neatly grouped by subject it would have been a very usable book. Without it it is a bit pointless if you want to learn to speak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polish in 4 Weeks - Level 1: An intensive course in basic Polish [Book and CD-ROM] (Paperback)
It's really a good book for starters to learn!i have used it to learn Polish for 4 weeks, although I haven't finished the book, because for me I think it's impossible to finish the book within 4 weeks. Anyway it's a nice book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for me, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polish in 4 Weeks - Level 1: An intensive course in basic Polish [Book and CD-ROM] (Paperback)
This is good book and tape for me because I have a little and I mean little bit of Polish.
I am sure it would help anyone learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Polish in 4 Weeks - Level 1: An intensive course in basic Polish [Book and CD-ROM]
£27.95
Usually dispatched within 9 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews