Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Polish coursebook I've come across
I found it difficult to find a good coursebook for Polish, but this one, though not cheap, is great. It's communicative, but includes enough grammar to help you understand and goes beyond a phrasebook approach. The CD material is realistic but understandable and the whole approach is well-structured and thought through. Strongly recommended.
Published on 24 Feb 2011 by Peter Trumper

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Po Polsku
I purchased this book because I am trying to teach myself Polish at home. This book is only suitable if you have someone who can speak Polish to help you learn. All the text is pretty much in Polish so very much designed for a student to use with a teacher. One of the early sections is learning to ask and answer the question "How are you?". I've been told by a couple of...
Published 16 months ago by Emi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Polish coursebook I've come across, 24 Feb 2011
By 
Peter Trumper (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hurra!!! Po Polsku: Student's Textbook, Vol. 1 (Book & CD) (Paperback)
I found it difficult to find a good coursebook for Polish, but this one, though not cheap, is great. It's communicative, but includes enough grammar to help you understand and goes beyond a phrasebook approach. The CD material is realistic but understandable and the whole approach is well-structured and thought through. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hurra Po Polsku Student Textbook, 21 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hurra!!! Po Polsku: Student's Textbook, Vol. 1 (Book & CD) (Paperback)
I love this book.

There are loads of exercises to get you familiar with the language. It is the only textbook on Polish that I know that has a modern approach to learning the language.

The only thing that some people may find difficult is that every single word is in Polish,even the parts of the exercises that are telling you what you need to do. You have to translate the questions before you answer them. However, with Google Translate that is not that much trouble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starting to learn Polish, 25 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hurra!!! Po Polsku: Student's Textbook, Vol. 1 (Book & CD) (Paperback)
This is one of the few learning-Polish-books in existence, and is a must if you are just starting the journey to learn Polish. I am half way through the book, with my own Polish teacher and can already make myself understood after a few months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but not for self teachers, 22 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Hurra!!! Po Polsku: Student's Textbook, Vol. 1 (Book & CD) (Paperback)
I used this book when I did a Polish language evening class. It is entirely in Polish so it is of no use to anyone who is trying to teach themselves. You will need a Polish speaker and preferably a teacher toprovide explanations of why every one of your answers is wrong!

I was very impressed with the variety of exercises and they are all very much based in the 'real world' and are genuinely practical. Not so impressed with the tables of verb conjugations, endings of words etc which miss out half of them (so your teacher can tell you) but forces you to write in the book or write out everything by hand if you are to have anything to refer back to.

If it was twice the size with English translations, Polish/English dictionary and plenty of reference tables then I would have given it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Way to Start a Difficult Language, 21 Sep 2011
This review is from: Hurra!!! Po Polsku: Student's Textbook, Vol. 1 (Book & CD) (Paperback)
As an English as a second language teacher and linguistic who has successfully learned several other languages and therefore seen a fair number of textbooks in my life, I highly recommend this one. It is worth the money (and honestly, not that expensive as other reviews might suggest; most professionally used ESL textbooks cost 20-25 and the quality is often much lower). Even though it is completely in Polish, even if you can't read the instructions in the beginning, the writers have done a good job of finding ways to show things in non-verbal ways, so even studying on your own, this is possible. I am up to ch 10 (of 20) and I feel that between this book and the help of my Polish speaking husband, I am learning, slowly but surely, to communicate in Polish.

If you are serious about Polish (and who tries a language as hard as Polish if they aren't!), I recommend the workbook as well. Grammar practice is a must with a language with as many endings as Polish, so the extra help is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of vocabulary, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hurra!!! Po Polsku: Student's Textbook, Vol. 1 (Book & CD) (Paperback)
I like the level of material offered. I consider it quite sophisticated. What I do not like is that you need either the assistance of a teacher or the teacher's guide to be sure that you have answered all of the questions correctly. That makes the book a good text book for class but not so good if you are trying to teach yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Po Polsku, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hurra!!! Po Polsku: Student's Textbook, Vol. 1 (Book & CD) (Paperback)
I purchased this book because I am trying to teach myself Polish at home. This book is only suitable if you have someone who can speak Polish to help you learn. All the text is pretty much in Polish so very much designed for a student to use with a teacher. One of the early sections is learning to ask and answer the question "How are you?". I've been told by a couple of Poles and also seen in another book that this just isn't an expression Polish people use in the way that English people do, so I am not sure about how relevant some of the lessons are. If you are just starting Polish by yourself I would reccommend looking at Polish For Dummies (For Dummies (Lifestyles Paperback)) instead and combining it with Michel Thomas Method: Polish Foundation Course. These are the only things I've made any progress with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hurra!!! Po Polsku: Student's Textbook, Vol. 1 (Book & CD)
Hurra!!! Po Polsku: Student's Textbook, Vol. 1 (Book & CD) by A. Szymkiewicz (Paperback - 1 April 2010)
20.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews