Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


154 of 157 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yoga Nidra by Swami Satyananda Saraswati
This is an easy to follow, in depth guide to the authentic yogic practice of Yoga Nidra and will suit teachers and serious yoga students alike. It gives the theory, basis and health benefits of the practice in considerable detail,and is written in a style which is logical and easy to understand. There are also a number of transcriptions of the practice which are a must...
Published on 23 Jun. 2002 by Pauline Masters

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yoga Nidra deserves better
Detracts from the psychological and physiological benefits of the wonderful practice of Yoga Nidra by trying to reconcile human anatomy and physiology with the philosophy of the subtle body. The are many gems of wisdom in this book, but also unsubstantiuated and incredible claims which can make it difficult to take it seriously.
Published on 2 Nov. 2012 by EarlRufus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

154 of 157 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yoga Nidra by Swami Satyananda Saraswati, 23 Jun. 2002
By 
Pauline Masters (Coleford, Glos. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yoga Nidra (Paperback)
This is an easy to follow, in depth guide to the authentic yogic practice of Yoga Nidra and will suit teachers and serious yoga students alike. It gives the theory, basis and health benefits of the practice in considerable detail,and is written in a style which is logical and easy to understand. There are also a number of transcriptions of the practice which are a must for anyone who wishes to lead their yoga students through the experience of deep relaxation. Especially welcome is the transcription for helping children to learn to relax.
This book provides information and anwers to almost any question which may be posed about this subject and helps us learn how Yoga Nidra may bring about postive changes in our lives. Included is a section on the scientific investigations into this practice and how the research was carried out,colour plates indicate how the brain waves change as the relaxation process develops and the bibliography cites the references quoted and where they may be found.
It is a very helpful reference book to have as part of a yoga teachers library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars accessing the subconscious mind, 4 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Nidra (Paperback)
Highly recommended yoga technique for deep relaxation and accessing the subconscious mind and thereby releasing tensions. If more people did yoga nidra on a regular basis I am sure the world would be a happier place as people would be more at peace with their inner world.

All yoga teachers should be aware of this book and bring the technique to the aid of all those stressed students who come to their classes. At least they can recommend the many commercially produced CDs on the market by some quite well known Swamis.

One word of caution though: from my experience yoga nidra needs to be practised in moderation i.e. not every day. It is a very powerful technique especially with visualisation. It is enough just to do the body scan - that can be done daily - but the visualisation on top can just be too powerful. I have learnt from experience. Jon Kabat-Zinn provides a very good body-scan meditation. Swami Pragyamurti takes it a step further and brings in some visualisation but just enough. There are some CDs out there that perhaps overdo the content. The 'dosage' of such CDs, especially if they take one through the chakras, needs to be low or you may be asking for an overload of subconscious matter that you can't control. So please, if in doubt keep the dosage low to once or twice a week!

Enjoy in moderation the wonderful world of yoga nidra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A window into a sacred science, 12 Jan. 2008
By 
S. P. Verma (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yoga Nidra (Paperback)
You don't need to have done any kind of yoga before to be able to use this book to improve your life. All you need is a floor, a blanket and a friend to read to you, or a cassette player. The exercises, and the theoretical descriptions in the first part of the book, have given me huge stores of energy, motivation and concentration, in all of my activities.

It's extraordinary to think that this great Swamiji, born in a small village in the Himalayan foothills, has written so many clear, lucid textbooks to guide truth seekers all over the world.

On a sideline, I have listened to quite a few Yoga Nidra tapes made by other great teachers in other yoga schools, but have not encountered any quite as good as those I've recorded onto a tape from this book.

I'm quoting here the end of the "Sacred mountain" visualisation that I hope one day to be able to master in my practise - it is in my 1984 edition, although it may not be in the recent editions, it should give you a flavour of the sacred knowledge Swamiji is imparting onto us.

"You trudge languidly on alone... and finally reach the top... Where the guide is waiting for you. As you observe the spectacular panoramic view, a feeling of exhilaration floods through your body and mind. The guide gives you a meaningful smile... And you are grateful to him for his forcefulness during the climb. You are exalted by the environment; you are overcome by a feeling you have never experienced before. You are still absorbed in this exhilaration when the guide says to you "Follow me"... and leaps from the peak and disappears into space... without a further thought you follow".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very very good, 29 April 2008
This review is from: Yoga Nidra (Paperback)
a very good and informative book specially when used in combination with the cd made by the author (seperat buy) on which you find two sessions of yoga nidra leading to deep relaxation helping you to train, develop an one-pointed mind. Excellent is all I can say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best I have found, 22 April 2010
This review is from: Yoga Nidra (Paperback)
this is by far the best Yoga Nidra book I have yet come across. The subject of Yoga Nidra is well explained in language that is easy to pass on to yoga classes. In addition, the actual examples of Nidra are easy to use either for oneself or in a class situation. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Cedric Bennette, Bilkent University, 13 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Yoga Nidra (Paperback)
An excellent introduction to yoga nidra which explains the many benefits of this meditation technique and also gives some easy to use example lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for yogi's, 30 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Yoga Nidra (Paperback)
I love this book, I'm studying to be a yoga teacher and this book I find it indispensable. It takes you through all the nidra's, and explains them really well. It also goes in great detail about how effective nidra is. This book is a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and Interesting, 30 Nov. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Nidra (Paperback)
This book provides a clear and concise explanation of yoga nidra with interesting scientific background and evidence, so that I understand why the practice has worked for me. The practice notes will prove very useful in future and particularly the exercises designed for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great superinteresting well written and referenced book, 11 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Nidra (Paperback)
This is a great superbook, that explains in a very scientific but simple way, step by step, the theory and practice of yoga nidra, plus it does include many yoga Nidra practices. I feel it is suitable for readers of all levels.

The only comment I would have is that you feel that the book is a translation in the practice chapters because the author uses lot of sentences in third person or complex sentences that are not necessarily appropriate when practicing Yoga Nidra (they make the practice less fluent) but this is easy solvable.

I guess it would have been great to have a CD with the book with somebody reading the text of the Yoga Nidra exercises reported in the book - but again, the lack of CD may be a stimulus to read these chapters in depth, personalize them and record them for personal use that I'll do.

Great book, great interesting learning that I would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yoga Niddra, 14 Mar. 2009
By 
Zan Wood (Stonehaven, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yoga Nidra (Paperback)
Accessible and an excellent guide to Yoga Niddra for both the experienced and inexperienced yoga practitioner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yoga Nidra
Yoga Nidra by Swami Satyananda Saraswati (Paperback - 12 Aug. 2003)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews