Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The answer is 42.
Fascinating, but extremely brief. At only 167 pages, I read the
book, cover to conver in less than 2 hours. I can't say I'm
dissapointed, but I'd have liked a little more at this price.
Content focusses on the successive models and theories that
science has employed to discover the inner workings of the world
around us. Including much of Hawkings...
Published on 18 Nov. 2003 by markgoats

versus
89 of 92 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hawking has disowned this book
Stephen Hawking's home page states that he hasn't endorsed this book and that "a complaint was made to the Federal Trade Commission in the US in the hope that they would prevent the publication". The site urges people "not to purchase this book in the belief that Professor Hawking was involved in its creation."
Published on 22 Mar. 2007 by John H


Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 92 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hawking has disowned this book, 22 Mar. 2007
By 
John H (Orpington, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Stephen Hawking's home page states that he hasn't endorsed this book and that "a complaint was made to the Federal Trade Commission in the US in the hope that they would prevent the publication". The site urges people "not to purchase this book in the belief that Professor Hawking was involved in its creation."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Theory On How to Recycled your previous books !, 6 Mar. 2008
By 
I. Allen (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very disappointed in this book as it is extracts from previous books. I have sent it back I am that disappointed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This work is a re-iteration of much previously published material and I didn't find anything new to me. Rather disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The answer is 42., 18 Nov. 2003
Fascinating, but extremely brief. At only 167 pages, I read the
book, cover to conver in less than 2 hours. I can't say I'm
dissapointed, but I'd have liked a little more at this price.
Content focusses on the successive models and theories that
science has employed to discover the inner workings of the world
around us. Including much of Hawkings on work on black holes,
theories on the expansion and contraction of the universe, and
the 'direction' of time.
A little more content would easily have cranked this up to 5 star
material. I'm giving it 4 starts only becuase it's a little short.
Good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the fate of the universe, 22 Aug. 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"One evening in November ... I started to think about black holes as I was getting into bed." (P 75) As one does. He points out that, with his disability, getting into bed takes a long time.
This is typical of the way Hawking mixes biographical details and scientific, astro-physical thinking of the rarest kind in this little book, but "little" only in the physical sense as it opens the mind to the vastness of the universe.
The notion of the widely-accepted expanding universe led him to consider (with Roger Penrose) the reversing of time and to what it would lead, i.e. a big-bang, singularity. This was his work until 1970 and that November evening. Since then his pioneering thinking on black holes has provided some startlingly original ideas.
The "theory of everything" is the physicists' Aladdin's Cave, Holy Grail or, in Hawking's case, tomorrow's desk job.
Disappointing in some ways, i.e. its brevity and (for Hawking's followers) its repetition but it is worth the investment in time and, short as it is, that is not long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy science and out of date when published, 28 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is pretty out of date. It yaks on and on about "closed" and "open" universes, and speculates on which. We know now that the universe isn't slowing down - it's accelerating away. Something completely unexpected and radical. The greatest discovery in science since Hubble. But not a word in the book - because the book is old material rehashed for a quick sale. This is then compounded by sloppy science - e.g. Hawking talks about rockets going at 25,000 mph to escape Earth's gravity. Rockets don't go at this speed - this is the escape energy for a ballistic object, not a powered object like a rocket. Shame on Hawking for being so sloppy, shame on the publishers for peddling out-of-date speculative writing on us as up-to-date science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Aug. 2014
By 
Mrs. P. Purkiss (Dorset England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not for me, but recipient was well pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most Interesting books i ever read!, 7 Feb. 2003
By 
Matthew Sweeney (Wallasey, England) - See all my reviews
Have you ever wondered what happened before the universe started? Have you ever wondered what makes masses attract (gravity). If so buy this magnificent book.
this is stephen hawking's third book, trying to explain to the common person the wonders and mysteries of the universe. This book unlocks the final secrets of the universe which Stephen Hawking has been searching for his whole life. if you care at all about the universe get this book and enjoy knowledge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought, 12 Nov. 2009
By 
Andrew Hill "FlyingAce" (Czech) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Didn't understand a word of what Hawking is saying but he is one of the most celebrated minds of our generation (in this field) and it does impress visitors if you can at least remember some of the key topics. There are also pictures and diagrams for those of you who cannot get past chapter 1 without having to go back to the beginning and start again.
Not an easy read and probably not something you can discuss with your friends down at the pub. Better to read in solitute and smile smugly at others who don't know who Hawking is.
He's still alive, you know. And he wrote the book using his head, literaly.
Can't wait for the film no doubt staring Kate Winslet and that Australian man all the girls like. Russell Crowe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Theory of Everything: The Origin and Fate of the Universe
The Theory of Everything: The Origin and Fate of the Universe by Stephen William Hawking (Paperback - 30 Dec. 2007)
Used & New from: £11.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews