Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS NOT THE EDITION YOU'RE LOOKING FOR!
The Conquest of Happiness is, of course, another Lord Russell classic. However, the edition that you perhaps see above (Amazon blends reviews of different editions), specifically the one which features these statements on the cover: "TIMELESS Concepts for TODAY" and "Media-Eight Self Help Classics", whose publisher (scroll down) is listed as Media Eight International,...
Published 11 months ago by M.J.P.

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars False advertisement . Beware.
A case of misleading advertising. This is not the book you are looking for. Borrowing words from another review not a word in this book was written by Bertrand Russell .
Published 9 months ago by Nitsan Lehavi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS NOT THE EDITION YOU'RE LOOKING FOR!, 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Conquest of Happiness (Paperback)
The Conquest of Happiness is, of course, another Lord Russell classic. However, the edition that you perhaps see above (Amazon blends reviews of different editions), specifically the one which features these statements on the cover: "TIMELESS Concepts for TODAY" and "Media-Eight Self Help Classics", whose publisher (scroll down) is listed as Media Eight International, this edition is most likely not the edition you want. This is a sort of guide to Russell's original book, with a commentary on the elements, distilling what they think necessary for the ultimate self-help work out, not for a jaunt through the philosophical woods. Not a word of this book is from Bertrand Russell.

The edition you really want, and no other, is the Routledge Classics edition: The Conquest of Happiness (Routledge Classics)

Disregard any other edition you find, it is most likely not the edition you're looking for! (I found out the hard way...via a refund process)

M.J.P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He never intended this as a "philosophical masterpiece", 3 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
One of the reviewers complained that this was not a "philosophical masterpiece". Of course it isn't. It's an excellent work of popular psychology aimed at the layman. As Russell himself commented:
"Unsophisticated readers, for whom it was intended, liked it... Highbrows, on the contrary regarded it as a contemptible pot-boiler..."
These words are from Russell's autobiography.
The contention of the same reviewer that Russell was a deeply unhappy man is a plump over-simplification of the truth that anyone who is brilliant and intellectually rigorous as Russell was will never - in Russell's own words - find consolation in philosophy. Never satisfied by anything less then what could be backed up by fact he suffered from the corresponding lack of assurance that certainty brings. This does not mean his life was without joy or he was generally unhappy. Read and enjoy, and if you are a highbrow unable to go beyond Principia Mathemetica, at least try to recall that you are a human being for whom cerebration is a part time job and that there is more in Russell then is dreamt of in your philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Read and Practical, 4 Dec. 2006
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to say that when I bought this book I was pretty skeptical and even cynical about the topic matter, having read Russell's History of Western Philosophy and some of the other titles in the Routledge Classics and expecting something similar.

I was very pleasantly surprised and intend to re-read this book annually, Russell wrote this book for a mass audience, combining philosophy, psychology and common sense Russell first surveys what he believes to be the main causes of unhappiness, byronic unhappiness, competition, boredom and excitment, fatigue, envy, the sense of sin, persecution mania and fears of public opinion, and then proceeds to consider the possible sources of happiness Zest, affection, the family, work, impersonal interests and effort or resignation.

Some of it can appear dated and the work of the age in which it was written, for instance I think that he wrote about a sense of sin at a time where this could be a great deal more troubling to the conscience than present day, then again I remind myself that there are probably people and places where this remains very much the case today.

I cant fault Russell in his ultimate conclusion that to be happy one should live objectively, have a wide range of interests and be as sincerely and genuinely interested in and warm towards others, engaging with the world instead of retreating from it where possible. The book is full of great advice about how living after this fashion can permit you to cope with the sources of unhappiness which Russell perceives.

Russell also, in his wisdom, does not pretend to have all the answers and when he does touch upon the topic of psychology does say that it is possible that on occasion more professional advice and assistance could be called for, something that I think is very much lacking in other self-help genres or treatise.

I would also recommend this book as very readable, its jargon free, the pace is excellent and I enjoyed it as much as any book of its kind or more light reading like genre fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars False advertisement . Beware., 29 April 2014
By 
Nitsan Lehavi "the visualiser" (London,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Conquest of Happiness (Paperback)
A case of misleading advertising. This is not the book you are looking for. Borrowing words from another review not a word in this book was written by Bertrand Russell .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertised, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Conquest of Happiness (Paperback)
The book I received was not Bertrand Russell's Conquest of Happiness, but a modern commentary on it, which refers to it, but contains none of the original's text. The "read inside this book" link on the site is completely misleading. I was disappointed and felt I had been tricked into buying something I didn't want. I am returning the book and requesting a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars POOR BOOK DESCRIPTION, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Conquest of Happiness (Paperback)
THIS BOOK IS NOT THE BERTRAND RUSSELL TEXT I WANTED BUT SOME SUMMARISED 'COMMENTARY' ABOUT THE BOOK.
WRONGLY DESCRIBED IN THE ADVERTISEMENT AND TOTALLY MISREPRESENTED.
VERY WRONG AND POOR SERVICE FROM AMAZON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY -NOT WHAT IT SAYS ON THE TIN, 12 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Conquest of Happiness (Paperback)
As others have noted this is not an edition of Russell's work but a sort of jokey GCSE crib for a crit. of the book. Nowhere within the volume is there any admission of authorship-perhaps a journalist from "The Onion" a learned publication quoted in the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good book but is a summary - you don't find much of Bertrand's original writing, 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Conquest of Happiness (Paperback)
All the ideas mentioned in the book are valid. People who read self-help books and reflect about the way they live, will have probably thought or come across similar conclusions. It does feel good when several sources affirm your thoughts.
I was disappointed that this book was not the original. After reading through the chapters, it appeared that this book was written by someone else summarising Bertrand's ideas; he uses his own style and reads like a self-help book. He does make it more current by giving examples from our time which is good. When I bought this book I expected it to be that written by Bertrand Russell and was interested in how he writes his thoughts. If I just wanted a summary of the ideas I could have found them on the internet or youtube.
Overall it was still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Do-it-yourself guide to happiness, 8 Jan. 2004
Half DIY happiness guide and half philosophy of human behaviour. On the whole a complete must read. Russell manages to condense into a short and enjoyable book his personal views on why we are happy or unhappy. He identifies causes of unhappiness and gives practical remedies for them. He shows us the sources of happiness and helps us profit from them. A deeply penetrating book I found most of it very relevant and practical both for understanding yourself and others, and for being happier. Read it, it gives us the education for life we should get at school. And remember enthusiasm is one of the most important source of happiness, live with enthusiasm and you will enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drag yourself out of that pit of misery, 21 July 2008
By 
Sally Wilton "Sally" (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bertrand Russell, mathematician, philosopher and Nobel prize winner,appears to have lived a full and interesting life for 97 years so his philosophy to achieve happiness should be well worth a look. I like the easy to read format, chapters that may be read at your leisure one at a time or even read the whole book in one sitting.

BR looks at the reasons for unhappiness ie Boredom, envy, being a victim, having a persecution complex etc and gives very good advice, often hilariously funny, to change your way of thinking, if that is your problem. So, if something really upsets you keep thinking about it, force yourself to think about it until it becomes so tiresome and boring that you never want to think about it again, he says. This is of course contrary to the usual advice of putting things to the back of your mind, but a good idea I think.

I love his thoughts on women and envy, the women on a train with their jealous looks when a well dressed lady steps on. Women on the whole dont much like other women, whereas men are only jealous of someone in the same field as themselves, an interesting idea. Envy and conforming to society ie 'keeping up with the Jones' causes no end of dissatisfaction and this needs knocking very firmly on the head to avoid lifelong misery.

Then BR gives some good advice for long term happiness and it can be summed up by saying 'Zest'. Having an interest in everything around you is the key to not falling into the misery trap. So take my advice, get this book, it is better than most modern self help books on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Conquest of Happiness
The Conquest of Happiness by Bertrand Russell (Paperback - 1 May 2013)
£5.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews