Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars21
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 September 2007
This book gives a wonderful picture of life for a princess when the princely states of India were governed by benevolent rulers. The rulers really seemed to care for their people, who had great trust in them. The Maharani was fortunate to live at the time when she did not have to observe purdah, except occasionally. She was able to accompany her husband around the world and they really knew how to live. It describes the time of independence in 1947, when the princes lost their power. Somehow they seem to have adjusted remarkably well in very difficult circumstances. I didn't want to put it down.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2010
Fantastic book... It has so much of information on the Princely states and the life of people pre and post independence..Not sure whether some of the views were a bit biased.. but quite accurate mostly I would guess. Must read for people interested in Indian history.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
This is a great book for anyone fascinated with royalty ! The details of the life of the Maharani are truly wonderful and gives you an insight into the life of royalty in pre-independence India. I definitely recommend this book and i am sure to read it again myself someday.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2012
A completely fascinating insight into the lives of the Indian elite and very well written too. I just wish I had read it before visiting Jaipur. It would have brought so much more to life in all the palaces and museums I visited there.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2012
A delightful read giving an insight into a way of life that has now passed. When I visited the palace in Jaipur, I felt I knew it already! I almost felt the ghosts of the previous occupants as we walked around.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2010
Its been several years since I read this but everytime I hear of friends going to visit India, I have to send them my copy of this book. I bought it in Agra en route to the Western desert and it is absolutely fantastic. Required reading for anyone travelling to Jaipur. I couldn't put in down!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
This book is a real eye-opener on the Indian elite who led a pampered existence prior to Indian independence. It speaks volumes for the impoverished caste-ridden population who struggled to survive the slums of Bombay and Calcutta while their rulers shot tigers and lorded it in palatial residences in Jaipur and London. Who cares if Devi Gayatri was a renowned beauty with charitable intentions ? Gandhi did his best in a hopeless cause and the ever-growing population explosion and sub-tropical climate will bring India to its knees. Who cares if educational establishments are named after Gayatri Devi. "Let them eat cake" is a familiar and ominous observation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2012
Absolutely fascinating personal insight into a life style of Indian Royals before and since Indian independence. Highly recommended for anyone interested in India and the transition to independence.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
A fascinating & very readable insight into the life of a royal in India. Disappointed in quality of paper & photographs which is the only reason for giving 6 star rating
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
great read. could not put it down. it gives one an opportunity to be part of that time when maharajas and maharani worked for the welfare of the people. it is a great tour of Jaipur as it was and it is today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)