Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read
A brilliant fun read- anyone who has lived in india will see friends, families and traditions throughout the book, a great bit of insight!!
Published on 29 Jan. 2010 by rudraksh2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining story but...
Not the greatest piece of writing you'll ever see. Having married into a Punjabi origin family and a being non Punjabi myself, some of the situations in the book made me laugh because they rang so true. I can see how Bhagat's no frills, humorous style of writing is a hit with many and this book serves its purpose well as a light hearted read to fill the time.
Published 13 months ago by Rei7han


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read, 29 Jan. 2010
This review is from: 2 States: The Story of My Marriage (Paperback)
A brilliant fun read- anyone who has lived in india will see friends, families and traditions throughout the book, a great bit of insight!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 11 Aug. 2010
This review is from: 2 States: The Story of My Marriage (Paperback)
Excellent book. One can relate to it quite easily if you had to deal with type of marriage contained in the book. The book contained humour & sadness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and very interesting., 12 Oct. 2010
This review is from: 2 States: The Story of My Marriage (Paperback)
The writer seems to have captured the spirit of modern Indians very well. Well written and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, loved it. Very refreshingly written & funny.
Good storey, well told.
I would thoroughly recommend this book to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best read in long time, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
after long time felt like I read good book, whole book seemed really and so much relatable. Not boring at any stage, funny parts that you can lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It couldn't have been better..., 10 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Witty, inspiring, melancholic, thought provoking...there are a few adjectives to describe the book.
It's not everyday you get a chance to read about a rebellion, that culminates in a happy ending...as rebellions invariably have sad ending by their nature...you are bound to make someone unhappy by rejecting the "norm". But here, Chetan manages a masterpiece by doing the unthinkable...he asks us to walk that extra mile...consider the extra effort in reconciling with the enemy (the other clan in this book).
Thank you for the brilliant effort Chetan...and I'm do not merely refer to his writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing read..., 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The upcoming movie based on this book inspired me to read the book. I must say I have been pleasantly surprised. I found it easy to read and connect with. The cultural elements underlying the plot really come out well. The author has painted a reasonably believable picture with words not just about the cultures but also about the physical settings.

This was an enjoyable read and kept me engaged. Would recommend it to anybody looking for some light hearted fun and easy read.

After readying the book, I am so looking forward to the movie! Would like to read some other works from the author as well now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining story but..., 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the greatest piece of writing you'll ever see. Having married into a Punjabi origin family and a being non Punjabi myself, some of the situations in the book made me laugh because they rang so true. I can see how Bhagat's no frills, humorous style of writing is a hit with many and this book serves its purpose well as a light hearted read to fill the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly Funny, 28 July 2010
By 
Vishal Sinha (Wembley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2 States: The Story of My Marriage (Paperback)
Quite an interesting read. Very funny description of the 'exaggerated' local traits. Enjoyed it immensely. Indians tend to take themselves too seriously and this is one book which has tried to move away from that mindset and show things in a lighthearted manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! Brilliant!, 13 Aug. 2011
By 
N. Chouhan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 States: The Story of My Marriage (Paperback)
This is a masterpiece, and from the moment you start reading you can't put the book down! Very Bollywood inspired but nevertheless it's a great book and you can relate to most of the characters in some way. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2 States: The Story of My Marriage
2 States: The Story of My Marriage by Bhagat Chetan (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2009)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews