Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible
A contemporary coming of age/ finding self story. it is a fun and informal read yet extremely hard to put down. Especially with the lovable in-depth characters that Bhagat has captured. Just beautifully written.
Published 1 month ago by faerie_faller

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strictly for teenagers and IIT wannabees
Five point someone refers to the low grade point average of Hari Kumar and his friends desperately trying to keep up with their brilliant classmates in the top ranking institution in the country (The Indian Institute of Technology in Delhi). It is an entertaining student romp which is at times very funny but at others quite critical of a system which concentrates entirely...
Published on 30 April 2009 by Parvati P.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A contemporary coming of age/ finding self story. it is a fun and informal read yet extremely hard to put down. Especially with the lovable in-depth characters that Bhagat has captured. Just beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read for every student !!!! This is the 7th time I am reading this book !!!! 5 star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He's done it again!, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Chetan Bhagat has to be one of my favourite Indian authors. All his publications has had me eager to read on. Well worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the bestseller ever in India, 23 Jan 2012
This book is a must for everyone who is in college, has everbeen to or teaches in college. 'Five point someone' has turned many people into book lovers. Chetan's narration is vivid enough to hold you till the last page.The book has also been adapted to a superhit flick '3 idiots'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 13 Aug 2011
By 
N. Chouhan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Point Someone: What Not to Do at IIT (Paperback)
Don't try and relate this to the inspired film '3 Idiots' - you will be disappointed. This is an original plot, and much of which unfolds after the first half. A good read but not as good as Chetan bhagat's other books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not excellent but still very good, 21 Oct 2010
By 
A. Khatri "aaykay" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Five Point Someone: What Not to Do at IIT (Paperback)
I read this book few months after I watched the movie '3 Idiots' whose script is inspired by this book. There is a lot in the book that is not in the film and there is a lot in the film that is not in the book. It is not as good story as the film but still a good read. First 2 thirds of the book the story is sort of OK but it does get better in the last one third of the book and hence the rating of 4 out of 5. Otherwise it would have been 2 star or barely 3.

Having said that, I am actually planning to read one more book of Chetan Bhagat. Not sure which one though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice fun read. Nothing specific to IIT., 17 Feb 2011
By 
S. Joshi (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Five Point Someone: What Not to Do at IIT (Paperback)
This was my first book by Chetan Bhagat and must say I read a couple more of his books because of this one. Chetan Bhagat does clear it out in the initial pages itself that this book doesn't give any tips for IIT wannabees. Far from it, it's how NOT to behave when you get in there. There isn't anything specific about IIT. Anyone who has gone through rigorous education course at any reputable institute can easily connect. It is the tale of 3 pals, the ups and downs in their friendship, their efforts to 'survive' at the IIT and get out with a decent job offer in hand. If you are looking for some serious literary content, you may not find it enough in this, although there are some serious moments articulated delicately.

It's lighthearted, comical read. I'll read it again in a few months time and I'm sure I'll enjoy it just as much. All in all, it's the best of what I've read from Chetan Bhagat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strictly for teenagers and IIT wannabees, 30 April 2009
This review is from: Five Point Someone: What Not to Do at IIT (Paperback)
Five point someone refers to the low grade point average of Hari Kumar and his friends desperately trying to keep up with their brilliant classmates in the top ranking institution in the country (The Indian Institute of Technology in Delhi). It is an entertaining student romp which is at times very funny but at others quite critical of a system which concentrates entirely on grades rather than thinking and creativity, in that sense it is an eye opener, but for the most part the book is just a run-of-the-mill school story.

Hari and his pals, are like high school kids with their angsty crushes, attempts to cheat in exams, terrors of poor marks, and them-and-us attitudes to the staff, while also finding time to deal with family ups and downs. It is entertaining in a gentle way, but there are also some fine serious moments which suggest that Chetan Bhagat has considerable literary talent if only he would use it...
This book was a big seller in India, probably more because parents (and students) were looking for tips on what kind of brilliant person gets into IIT (and are likely to be sorely disappointed!) but it is too juvenile to be anything like an Indian "Brideshead Revisited". The worries and capers of these young people are pretty mundane.
It is fun and readable, but strictly for teenagers and IIT wannabees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Five Point Someone: What Not to Do at IIT
Five Point Someone: What Not to Do at IIT by Chetan Bhagat (Paperback - 30 April 2006)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews