Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars georgette fan
My father found a very old copy of this for me a long time ago and I have never seen it since..the binding is falling off my copy and I wanted to get a new one but it seems very expensive; however, if you have never read it and are as avid a fan as I, you probably ought to get it. It is one of her more seriously historical novels with a somewhat unusual main character who...
Published on 27 Nov 2009 by Mrs. J. Rivett

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting as juvenilia
I've loved most of Georgette Heyer's novels since I was in my teens and was thrilled to find that some of her more obscure titles had recently been reissued in small printings.

For me, 'The Great Roxhythe' has some compelling aspects, but is ultimately not one of Heyer's better offerings. This is one of her earliest published writings (first printed in 1923 -...
Published 17 months ago by Seren Ade


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting as juvenilia, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Roxhythe (Hardcover)
I've loved most of Georgette Heyer's novels since I was in my teens and was thrilled to find that some of her more obscure titles had recently been reissued in small printings.

For me, 'The Great Roxhythe' has some compelling aspects, but is ultimately not one of Heyer's better offerings. This is one of her earliest published writings (first printed in 1923 - the same year as the book now retitled as 'Powder and Patch' - and later suppressed by the author) and is perhaps most of interest for i) the uncharacteristic time period selected, ii) the atypical storyline, and iii) the insight it gives into the author's developing style.

A rather cold man with distinctly Machiavellian traits the title character, Roxhythe, is a fictional spy - fervently dedicated to the service of his King (Charles II). A dedication which comes at the cost of his relationships with friends and relatives. Roxhythe is by no means a likeable character - yet the intrigue is built up quite nicely, and there are many aspects of this enigmatic and dominating personality that can be spotted in Heyer's later work: perhaps most notably informing the character of the Duke of Avon ('These Old Shades', 'Devil's Cub').

The time period is typically well-researched and Heyer's use of linguistic devices creates an appropriate flavour of the Caroline age. However, despite the firmly historical and unromantic slant taken, the prose at times lapses into rather grandiose periods (bordering perilously on purple).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 Oct 2013
By 
M. Lovett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Roxhythe (Paperback)
This is another from the Queen of Literature.

Although I gave it 3 stars, the story is brilliant, but I could only read it in fits and starts since the printing in the book is very small which makes one's eyes go funny eventually.

Anyone who likes Heyer, get this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A deceptive purchase, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Roxhythe (Paperback)
Although a very rare title, the production is very poor. The cover indicates a Regency novel but the period of the book is earlier. It may possibly be a good story but the photographed original text is very small, pale and very difficult to read. I could not manage more than a couple of pages vefore getting a headache. Possibly a well meaning but very disappointing US production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrifically bad print - not a Heyer Regency romance, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Roxhythe (Paperback)
Paperback book just received - but already the front and back cover images are of the wrong period (1810 instead of 1688!!!!) and the pixillation of the back cover picture is appalling. Georgette Heyer did not write only Regency novels.This is a study of the Charles II Stuart period politics, and as serious as her final novel "My Lord John", and far far removed from her Regency romantic vein.

This US "production" has been done on the cheapest of cheap. Nobody bothered to check that the print inside is the size of a gnat's footprint and of a faded grey colour designed to merge seamlessly with a dilapidated stone wall. Why are the margins so wide? The print size could have been enlarged to something remotely 10 point. Did Important Productions really believe that people buy Heyer books just to complete a collection and not to read? Such laziness is inexcusable. Total lack of any kind of quality control.

So, gentle Reader, beware. The author repressed any reprinting of this early work of hers, and some Americans have buried it even further. Forget romance, this story is about politics - an early historical biographical novel where, sadly, all the research is too near the surface. A far cry from the incomparable "An Infamous Army" but the hero a precursor to the Duke of Avon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A challenge, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Roxhythe (Paperback)
Really small type, out-of-register print and American spellings which, given the subject matter, spoils the usual pleasure I take in Heyer's use of language. If you can get beyond these issues, you may enjoy the storyline. I rapidly came to appreciate why Heyer chose to suppress publication of this work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading cover, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Roxhythe (Paperback)
I found the previous reviews very helpful (though my copy did not have a gathering with page order reversed). As has been said, text is not very clear (more so some pages than others.) Clearly it was photocopied from an old copy - and may have been reduced in size when this was done. The type face is very small, and there is a line at the top of each page which shows the current page size is not the original one. A US edition of the book too, as all "-our" endings of words are rendered as "-or". No other oddities of spelling though.

The cover is laughable - clearly someone scanned a paperback cover of another Heyer book, perhaps 1790s or 1800 in date, without bothering to check the subject matter of this work - which begins in 1668. I am glad now to have read this one, of whose existence I have been aware for about 50 years. You can see foreshadowings of other characters of the same period in her work, such as Avon and Rule, in Roxhythe, and even of Leon/Leonie in Christopher Dart's hero worship of his master. Strange to read a Heyer book with no male/female realtionships, but it makes an interesting change. Quite an enjoyable read, but not her best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Great Roxhythe, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Roxhythe (Paperback)
The printing is very faded and extremely difficult to read and then of course the print on top of that is very small. The cover is lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars georgette fan, 27 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: The Great Roxhythe (Hardcover)
My father found a very old copy of this for me a long time ago and I have never seen it since..the binding is falling off my copy and I wanted to get a new one but it seems very expensive; however, if you have never read it and are as avid a fan as I, you probably ought to get it. It is one of her more seriously historical novels with a somewhat unusual main character who has a very strong loyalty to his King but with whom it is not always easy to sympathize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling print quality, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Roxhythe (Paperback)
The rating is for the print quality, not for the book, which I haven't read yet, and may not be able to.

The font is very small - which would be OK if the print quality was acceptable - which it isn't - it's dreadful. It is extremely faint - looks like super-economy draft mode to save toner.

A less important defect is the quality of the cover pictures - pixelated to the point of hurting the eyes. I don't know why the publisher bothered - a plain cover would have been preferable.

I bought three of these to give as gifts. It's too late to change them now, but if the recipients find them illegible they will be returned for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars History is amazing, 11 Jun 2011
By 
elizabeth (ALFORD, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Roxhythe (Hardcover)
I can see why this one got sidelined. I enjoyed it. It was a great slant on a period in history. The way she gives Roxhythe such an important role in the Kings life. I went to my history books to check it out during and after reading this novel. My sister however gave up with it. It is a little like hard work to read butI loved the relationships in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Roxhythe
The Great Roxhythe by Georgette Heyer (Paperback - 23 July 2013)
9.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews