Customer Reviews


203 Reviews
5 star:
 (162)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Comfort Film - And A Glorious English Romance!
Some people have comfort food to help them through dull, drizzly evenings. I have comfort films, and Ang Lee's, (and Emma Thompson's), "Sense And Sensibility" is one of my favorites. I have watched this movie several times since I first saw it, and it never fails to lift my spirits.
This glorious romance of mores and manners, set during England's Regency Period, is...
Published on 16 Feb 2005 by Jana L. Perskie

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing
I found this Blue ray transfer pleasing, however darker scenes don't do much justice for the HD aspect, not well defined, this production is 1995, the transfer is fair to average, outdoor scenes scrub up well,the audio level on DTS is low, having to crank my amplifier up to a lot higher level is required to get audible dialogue, its just not in the same the league of say...
Published 18 months ago by Geoffrey Dixon


‹ Previous | 116 17 1821 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film one to watch again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my favourite Austen adaptations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a classic. well acted. well directed. lovely scenery. Will watch it time and time again and would not tire of watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sound volume not really loud enough, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sense And Sensibility [DVD] (DVD)
Sound volume needed to be a maximum for comfortable listening level, so not good if you have family members who are a bit deaf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent product and service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A better world, 31 Dec 2006
I cried at the end. Emma Thompson's reaction was perfect. It could not have been handled any better. I feel lucky that I could understand why she reacted that way. She was great as were the rest of the cast. I have not read the book and so judging this film simply as a free standing film I was really impressed. I do like romantic films but I had reservations about watching this period classic. If you are not ignorant and have some sense of emotion and thought you will love this film. Only an idiot could dislike this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my favourites (Ann)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The quality of the DVD left much to be desired. The picture is very dark, and sound poor., 13 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very poor quality d v d.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really pleased Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always a joy to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1821 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sense and Sensibility (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [1995]
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews