Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic road movie
This is a great movie! First of all it stars Singer Songwriter James Taylor an Beach Boys drummer Dennis Wilson in their first and only acting roles. They are two drifters who race their Ol' 55 Chevy for money. Warren Oates stars and steals the show as the driver of a Pontiac GTO who races them across the backroads of america for "Pinks"(car docs) picking up various...
Published on 19 Jan 2004 by Mr. M. R. Pountney

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad transfer to bluray.
I bought this thinking they would of done some work on it to make the picture better for blu-ray but no all it looks like is a straight transfer from dvd to bluray. some of the night scenes are really bad, i wish i just stuck with the dvd and saved some money.
Published 15 months ago by Atomspheres


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic road movie, 19 Jan 2004
This is a great movie! First of all it stars Singer Songwriter James Taylor an Beach Boys drummer Dennis Wilson in their first and only acting roles. They are two drifters who race their Ol' 55 Chevy for money. Warren Oates stars and steals the show as the driver of a Pontiac GTO who races them across the backroads of america for "Pinks"(car docs) picking up various weirdos on the way. They pick up a (Laurie) "Bird" who joins them for a ride. You never really know what's going on or what might happen next and the film does have an abrupt ending. This can all be explained in the director voice over option. It's a shame this appears to be in short supply. Maybe get it from amazon.com. It's a classic buy it! IMPORTANT I can only play this on my PC dvd player and not on my multi-region DVD player for some reason(maybe my dvd player isn't too hot)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A love-it-or-hate-it movie. Personally I love it., 22 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. K. Dawson "KFD" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two-Lane Blacktop [DVD] (DVD)
Read the comments on the IMDB site and you'll find plenty of people who obviously watched it thinking they were getting another "American Graffiti" or 1971 version of "The Fast And The Furious" and came away hugely disappointed - little action, monosyllabic and underplayed acting, no real story and a strange unsatisfying ending. But it's all those things that make the film so wonderful! It's a perfect late 60s/early 70s road movie. Two guys who just drive about in a 1955 Chevy (so stripped that it doesn't even have a paint job) challenging local hotshots to street drag races until they bump into a strange bullshitter who challenges them to race across the US, and off they go. James Taylor and Dennis Wilson beautifully underplay their parts. They just exist to race and so anything else, talk included, is really superfluous. A girl hitcher gets picked up at one point and ends up walking away from the pair of them obviously bemused and somewhat pissed off that despite her attempts to make one jealous of the other they really just don't care about her. And you get all the talk you need from the wonderful Warren Oates, who plays the GTO driver brilliantly - the character's just too old to have `gotten' the sixties and knows they he's missed something. Every hitcher he picks up as he races across the country gets told a different story, and his sense of jealousy for what he thinks Taylor and Wilson has is palpable. It's beautifully shot and proceeds at a langorous, leisurely pace. The ending is what one can only describe at "cinematic". If you want thrills-and-spills then give it a miss. If you want to see a cult gem, one of the coolest films ever made, check it out. I first saw it twenty odd years ago and it became my favourite film; the nice thing is, twenty odd years later it still is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Road Movie with a difference, 8 Aug 2006
By 
Mrs. S. Kirman "sheilakirman" (Wolverhampton, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two-Lane Blacktop [DVD] (DVD)
I've been waiting for this to be re-released in this country for years. I remember seeing it a couple of times on TV. For anyone who's into this period of American movie making this can be considered a classic. For anyone who's interested in James Taylors' career it's very interesting to watch. Why it's taken until 2006 to get a release seems strange, although I expect it'll only appeal to niche markets and true movie lovers unless there's some promotion. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive '70s Road Movie, 25 Jan 2007
By 
F. Kelly (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two-Lane Blacktop [DVD] (DVD)
This is THE film that for me defines the "Road Movie" genre. This is a window into endless days and roads, there's no particular start or end, just stark, listless and sometimes uncomfortable punctuation on the way to nowhere. It also protrays the cultural no-mans land of the post hippie period perfectly, the half bitten relationships between the main players, lacking sentiment so profuondly that the saccarin smiles that would fill the cinema later in this decade seem like grotesque parade floats. This film is mesmerising, once seen you can't forget it, it took me a long time (and a lot of money) to get it on import, here it is, easy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some movies you forget as you leave the cinema, some you remember decades later..., 8 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two-Lane Blacktop [DVD] (DVD)
This movie came out when I was at art school. Easy Rider had set the scene for road movies of this era and Bullet's car chase sequence had given us an unforgetable taste of American Muscle Cars. Vanishing Point was THE (?) big road movie of 1971 and Amercian Graphitti was still in the making. One of my lecturers had actually done the car ferrying across the States that is the initial motive for Barry Newmans character in Vanishing Point and had spotted the screenplay for Two Lane Blacktop in Esquire magazine. I read it and was hooked by it's imagery. When the film was released the two leads seemed perfectly cast and the locations and characters were exactly as I'd imagined they would be. The world of back road America away from all that was modern and the roar of the freeways was perfect for this "new Easy Rider" as Esquire had dubbed it. It wasn't Easy Rider "the sequel" but it had the concept of drifting and following your next whim. Warren Oates character provided "the bread head" and a contrast with their aimless wandering as well as most of the films understated humour. This is not an action film. As other reviewers have suggested it is a thoughtful, thought provoking film, set in the world of back roads America that I'm sure will stick in your memory as it has for mine ....for 39 years now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GHOSTS ON THE HIGHWAY, 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: Two-Lane Blacktop [DVD] (DVD)
Often cited along with Easy Rider as an example of 60s counter culture film making, Two Lane Blacktop is really a very different kind of movie. Easy Rider is about the pop culture of the late 1960s and the idea of the romantic outsider on a quest. Two Lane Blacktop is far odder and far more timeless.
To me what this film does is capture the mesmerizing almost hallucinogenic rootless quality of travelling. It's like being in the passenger seat on a long journey with nothing to do but observe the shifts in the landscape. It should be deathly dull, but it isn't. It's hypnotic.
The race between the Driver (James Taylor), the Mechanic (Dennis Wilson) and GTO (Warren Oates) is simply a meaningless gesture, a theoretical destination on an infinite map. The girl ( Laurie Bird) is a self invented muse, almost like ghost on the highway. She's not really interested in the male characters and they are not really interested in her beyond the belief they all seem to share that at some level cars and girls seem right.
Two Lane Blacktop is a truly fascinating film and the ending is perfect. Who care who won the race, it was just a race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing happens, no-one says anything - wonderful, 1 July 2009
By 
Christopher Owens (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two-Lane Blacktop [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film where nothing happens, except right at the end, when nothing happens. Dialogue is minimal. Acting is underplayed, and several of the stars are "non-actors" (whatever that means). The tone is nihilistic - although I should point out that no-one dies, and nothing particularly bad happens. Yet despite all that, it's watchable and engaging.

This re-defined for me what film making can be. It's not like anything else I've seen (including films made after it), although directors like Jarmusch obviously share some of Hellman's values.

It was on my "must see before I die" list for years, and I was prepared for it to fail to meet the hype. In fact, I think it far exceeds it: a classic, a milestone, a must for everyone with a serious interest (whatever that is) in film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little-known classic!, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two-Lane Blacktop [DVD] (DVD)
I first came across this on VHS back in the day, when of course James Taylor had hair, though it was "bad boy" Dennis Wilson that attracted me, the chemistry between the two works brilliantly,....silence is golden, less is more, cool! And I havent even mentioned the star of the show, the grey-primer Chevvy, it all adds up to a classic slice of American road movie, hugely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ULTIMATE CAR MOVIE?, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two-Lane Blacktop [DVD] (DVD)
Driver James Taylor and grease monkey Dennis Wilson go from town to town across America street racing,blowing the doors off the fastest cars around in their big bad '55 Chevy until they get into a long distance race with Warren Oates in his new Pontiac GTO.A beautiful film to watch with a surreal ending thought by many to be the best car movie ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars god bless this movie!, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Two-Lane Blacktop [DVD] (DVD)
this sits deservidly in my all time top ten movies!!! it puts you in a time where any man could have muscle and mpg just did'nt matter. its gentle and laid back and alot of people won't get it which probly makes me love it even more. if your a fan of the fast and furious movies this movie is NOT for you. i would call this a love story, the love of a car and a lifestyle which sadly would be impossible to pursue in todays world. theres no guns, helecoptors or fanfares..... god bless this movie!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad8214c8)

This product

Two Lane Blacktop [DVD] [1971] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 32.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews