Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it
I don't care that this film has had bad reviews, or that lots of people don't like it. I watched it at the cinema last year and absolutely loved it. I know I'm a hopeless romantic, but it had me crying solidly for the last half an hour or so. Anyone who knows how hard it is to say goodbye to someone you really care about will understand this film.
Published on 6 May 2001

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prinze & Stiles deserve better than too cute romantic comedy
"Down to You" is a romantic comedy that insists on substituting style for substance at key moments in the proceedings. It wants to take a cute approach to a serious relationship, as Al (Freddie Prinze, Jr.) and Imogen (Julia Stiles) do a retroactive post mortem on their relationship. The problem, as they both confide to the audience, is that they were too young when they...
Published on 10 Jan 2005 by Lawrance M. Bernabo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prinze & Stiles deserve better than too cute romantic comedy, 10 Jan 2005
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
"Down to You" is a romantic comedy that insists on substituting style for substance at key moments in the proceedings. It wants to take a cute approach to a serious relationship, as Al (Freddie Prinze, Jr.) and Imogen (Julia Stiles) do a retroactive post mortem on their relationship. The problem, as they both confide to the audience, is that they were too young when they met each other, implying that if only the timing was right the relationship would be right. The tagline for this film was "A new comedy about giving first love a second chance," which goes beyond the boundaries of either description or foreshadowing enough to warrant losing a star on the rating on that basis alone.
Al and Imogen meet at a bar and click immediately, which seems to be more of a surprise to him than to her. She has sworn off dating so can enjoy her college experience, but she is not about to let a rule make her pass on Al who she considers to be cute. He has some strange dorm friends (Selma Blair, Shawn Hatosy, Zak Orth and Rosario Dawson) who want him to swear off on Imogen, but he manages to ignore them most of the time. Meanwhile, the damage caused by his famous chef father (Henry Winkler in a nice turn, with Lucy Arnaz as his wife) does not seem to be too bad since he has the family cooking gene, but we have to wait a long time in this movie for him to grow up enough to be almost good enough for her.
Director-writer Kris Isacsson has two personable performers but never really does right by them. She is the more serious of the pair (it will be a long time before Stiles is ever the flighty one in a romantic comedy; it takes a Jason Bourne to get her to back down in a film), and he never really succeeds in bridging the gap to the point where we believe these two have a real chance. Al is just not in her league. The problem is that ultimately this is not a cute film about a serious relationship but a cute film about a cute relationship, and that can be fraught with danger, especially when songs get used to cover up the problems. When the character of Monk in this film becomes the voice of reason, you know the train has left the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, 6 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I don't care that this film has had bad reviews, or that lots of people don't like it. I watched it at the cinema last year and absolutely loved it. I know I'm a hopeless romantic, but it had me crying solidly for the last half an hour or so. Anyone who knows how hard it is to say goodbye to someone you really care about will understand this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious 'rom-com'; a mess of a movie, 19 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Kris Isacsson's debut feature - which centres round the failing 'first love' relationship of Imogen (Julia Stiles - impressive) and Al (Freddie Prinze, Jr - not so) - is at least intriguing in theory. So it's all the more disappointing when you discover what a mess it really is. The failings are all too apparent: the unpleasant central couple; the baffling subplots (one involving Al's best friend becoming a successful porn actor); the finger-down-throat inducing dialogue ("She's perfect for me"); the banal aspects of the relationship (their favourite song etc) not to mention the complete lack of roots within any sort of realistic framework. On the plus side, the always-reliable Selma Blair is on hand to provide a few (if somewhat brief) moments of interest as a porn starlet - but even this is not enough. Just awful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange Film, 4 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This IS a strange film. Initially I watched it because I liked Julia Stiles' other films, however gradually throughout the film I began to like Freddie Prinze Jr too. People can get allsorts out of a film, and sometimes the best films are ones that most people rubbish, but thats because they dont understand them. This could well be one of those films. The plot is strange, but you can see the lead character Imogen struggling to find her identity within a couple. I personally struggled to understand her committment to the relationship (until the end) - but can you tell me everyone it enthusiastic about their relationship? I'd say try it - you don't have to understand it to find something appealing about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually quite enjoyable., 4 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Although it seems that everyone else has grand designs for what is essentially a 'chick flick', I was taken by the film. Don't expect 'The Madness of King George', or anything that you can bang on about at the hip cafes, because its NOT THAT TYPE OF FILM. Its an enjoyable film that you can quite easily watch on a Tuesday evening, when there is nothing on the tele. And yes, both of the actors have done better, but yes, the soundtrack is rather good. And Selma Blair is quite good in it.
In short, all I say is don't expect something deep and meaningful, but do expect a nice, watchable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'M BEING GENEROUS, 6 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have to say in giving this film one star i'm being generous. The film has two up-and-coming young stars both of which are too annoying to watch, the only thing that saves this film is the end credits - highly enjoyable because the film has then finished and you can celebrate. The only thing that saves this film is Henry Winkler (the man!!!!!). But, even if you love him you won't love this 'Down To Poo'!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "down to you" whether you buy it or not..., 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] (DVD)
a great film, the acting may be wanting, but the narrative is fantastic, seriously - everyone should watch this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Item, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] (DVD)
Superb item, i would recommend this item, I love this item which i purchased, i would consider this item without a doubt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not happy with the state that dvd arrived., 4 Feb 2013
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I bought this dvd for my girlfriend and it came rattling in the box. The dvd was scratched and skipping, I couldn't be bothered to get in touch with you and mess around for a couple of pounds so I just bought another one from Amazon (AGAIN), And it came rattling in the box again!!! Only this one worked, always nice to buy someone a Christmas present that comes broken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks direction..., 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: Down To You [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Well, when a film is a rom-com starring Freddie Prinze Jr, you shouldn't hold out much hope. Bought solely for Rosario Dawson's small role, this is actually a film of missed opportunities. Instead of being your typical boy (Prinze Jr) meets girl (Julia Stiles) it actually turns into a break-up and a series of 'what ifs?' What if they had stayed together? This results in what started as a rom-com trying to turn into a drama making a mess of the general feel of the film. Freddie Prinze Jr has absolutely zero screen presence, Stiles doesn't so much better. It does have a few good moments, generally involving Dawson or Selma Blair but it's a film that doesn't know which direction it wants to go in and because of that, it falls apart. 2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4d0fc84)

This product

Down to You [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 1.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews