Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kentuck Fried Movie - better than the chicken
Okay so I'm old enough to have seen this at the cinema when it was first released, but on DVD I can watch it on my own sofa. As funny as I remember, and it brought back a whole raft of other 70's memories as well. Top Film
Published on 21 May 2009 by A. Briggs

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some bits are still funny and other bits just seem stupid.
If you don't like gore then be warned that a trailer for Day Of The Dead begins immediately on start up before the Kentucky Fried Movie menu appears. Subtitles in Scandinavian and Dutch only. Two DVD set, the second containing extras which were nothing special. Kentucky Fried Movie has dated, some bits are still funny and other bits just seem stupid.
Published 2 months ago by Destiny Detective


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kentuck Fried Movie - better than the chicken, 21 May 2009
By 
A. Briggs "Aibee" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay so I'm old enough to have seen this at the cinema when it was first released, but on DVD I can watch it on my own sofa. As funny as I remember, and it brought back a whole raft of other 70's memories as well. Top Film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fistful of Yen, 14 May 2009
By 
D. Lancaster "Dave Lancaster" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I went to see to see this film when I was still at school (no, I wasn't 18 but things seemed easier then) and have got to say I missed half of it because I was laughing so much. It preceded Airplane and never, in my opinion, got the credit it deserved. How pleased was I when I found it again on Amazon and, although it looks a little dated now, still had me in hysterics.

The film is a series of sketches with a loose TV/Film motif with silly humour and hidden gags being the order of the day. I warn you, "A Fistful of Yen" will ruin Bruce Lee films for you forever (but in a good way).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPECIAL EDITION - Kentucky Fried Movie, 23 Jan 2013
On July 4, 2011 Arrow Video in the United Kingdom released a two-disc special edition DVD, with the following special features:
- Feature presented in widescreen 1.85:1 and full-frame 1.33:1
- Original mono audio
- The audio recollections of director John Landis; writers Jerry Zucker, David Zucker, Jim Abrahams; and producer Robert K. Weiss
- A conversation with David and Jerry Zucker: A feature length interview with the co-creators of The Kentucky Fried Movie, Airplane! and The Naked Gun about their lives and career, from growing up and starting out in show business to their comedy influences and spoofing Midnight Cowboy
- Jerry Zucker's on-set home video shot during the making of the movie
- Behind-the-scenes photo gallery
- Original trailer
- Four-panel reversible sleeve with original and newly commissioned artwork
- Double-sided fold-out artwork poster
- Collector's booklet featuring brand new writing on director John Landis by critic and author Calum Waddell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first Zucker-Abrahams-Zucker movie and one of the best, 29 Nov 2008
By 
R. A. Caton "Arcaton" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I saw this film in the cinema (yep, that old) and bought from Major 8 Movies both 400 ft Super 8 extracts, one of selected sketches and the other "A Fistful Of Yen". I bought the VHS in the days before video certification and now I have the DVD.
It is brilliant. They could never make anything like this again... I can see it getting canned when they reviewed the script for "Danger Seekers" on the basis of ONE WORD.
And as for "Catholic High School Girls In Trouble"?!! I wonder whether Samuel L Broncowitz was named for Bronco Lane the western hero or Bronco the British brand of Toilet Paper.... but the films paraded under his name mercilessly rip the hell out of the soft porn movies of the '70s, the action thrillers studded with big stars in mini cameos, the technical gimmicks used to sell cinema when TV looked to have killed it dead....
Fancy a porno like "Deep Throat" in Feelarama? they'd have to sell mouthwash with the KiaOra....
Henry Gibson is a wonderful spokesman on behalf of the dead (nowadays they'd be called vitally challenged and have govt. funded counselling)
KFM is not for the faint of heart or the easily offended, it takes a scattergun approach to humour and if one sketch doesn't work for you, then there's another right along in a moment... This is no feather touch of comedy but a Louisville Slugger to your laughter glands...

But enough! My copy of "Fistful Of Yen" on 8mm cost me £15 and ran for about 20 minutes. You have the opportunity to have the whole crazy shooting match for about a third of that.
WHERE CAN YOU GET A BARGAIN LIKE THAT NOW!?
Here, of course.
Buy this movie and make serious film critics weep.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kentucky Fried Movie, 28 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kentucky Fried Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this after finding a very old worn vhs video of this film, and what a brilliant film it is, totally tasteless these days, not PC friendly at all but what's wrong with some boob jokes, famous people in their day making silly commercials, feel-o-rama cinema films( imagine that in 3D) and of course A Fistful of Yen which sends up martial arts films, James Bond films and even the Wizard of Oz. DVD was perfect, lots of extras too. 5*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The all time greatest Bruce Lee Spoof, a must have video !, 11 May 2000
By A Customer
This is one of the all time great videos. Loads of short clips based on an advert format. The main feature is the funniest Bruce Lee 'Enter The Dragon' spoof you will ever see. Featuring plenty of well known stars like Donald Sutherland. Cannot recommend this highly enough, cheap as well. Brilliant, buy it now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some bits are still funny and other bits just seem stupid., 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you don't like gore then be warned that a trailer for Day Of The Dead begins immediately on start up before the Kentucky Fried Movie menu appears. Subtitles in Scandinavian and Dutch only. Two DVD set, the second containing extras which were nothing special. Kentucky Fried Movie has dated, some bits are still funny and other bits just seem stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The conent is great, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kentucky Fried Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I bought it mainly for the AM show sketch with Dino. The rest are good but video quality is a little weak. Lots of great laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars kentucky special, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film that started it all for Zucker bros, Jim Abrahams & John Landis in this very special edition funny film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good price and service and you've probably never heard of ..., 12 Oct 2014
By 
S. O. Morris (norwich uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just wat I wanted. Good price and service and you've probably never heard of the film but give it a go . Very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kentucky Fried Movie [DVD] [1977] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £2.30
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews