Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius
For those that say this is the worst film ever made, you've obviously never watched anything with Ben Affleck in it.
Genius. Buy. It never gets boring watching this film.
Published on 16 Jan 2004 by Mark

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "I'll bet my badge that we haven't seen the last of those weirdies."
Flying saucers are spotted over Los Angeles and some recently-buried are rising from their graves to frighten the locals. Terror ensues!

Not really, of course. This film has consistently been voted "Worst Movie Ever Made" and really is horrendous. It looks like a sci-fi film your ten-year old wrote and filmed over a weekend. Director Ed Wood was never daunted...
Published on 4 Sep 2011 by Kona


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 16 Jan 2004
By 
Mark (Plymouth, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
For those that say this is the worst film ever made, you've obviously never watched anything with Ben Affleck in it.
Genius. Buy. It never gets boring watching this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So bad it's good, 19 Aug 2009
By 
How do you review a film which is universally panned as being the worst film ever made? Well it's obvious, you must tell it like it is. Actually it isn't that obvious at all. Yes, this is a truly awful film created by people who clearly had no idea what they were doing, but the irony of ironies is that all that incompetence and earnest endeavour makes this an unintentional comedy classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best worst movie ever, 13 Feb 2006
A little backstory first...
Ed Wood will always be associated with incredibly inept directing,amazing goofs and plotholes and unintentionally comical scripts,taking on all-comers for title of worst director ever.People like Uwe Boll(House of the Dead,Bloodrayne),Paul Anderson (Resident Evil,Aliens vs Predator) and Hal Warren (Manos:the hands of fate,luckily his only film) may challenge Ed,but,at the end of the day,Ed remains as king.
Plan 9 is considered by many to be his magumn opus (I believe that even Ed described Plan 9 as his Citizen Kane in his diaries)
and,well,everything you've heard is true.Yes,Criswell really does say "Future events such as these will affect you in the future",yes,Bela Lugosi is mostly played by a obvious stunt double (Bela died after Ed shot two minutes of footage) and yes,the string holding a UFO in mid-air does catch fire.
However,this is an essential purchase for any film buff's collection.To be the worst film ever,it would have to be devoid of any entertainment,which Plan 9 has in spades.To really watch the worst films ever,just hunt down any of the thousands of straight to video horrors that come out every year.After those,you'll be glad to go be to Plan 9.
In short,if you want a film to enjoy with your friends and to laugh at the lack of quality control,buy this.
If you want a masterpiece of film making,a classic that is universally regarded as a piece of art,avoid like the plague (But who actually watches that kind of film?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Plan 9 from Outer Space (1959) ... Ed Wood Jr. ... Legend Films (2006)", 17 Sep 2007
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Legend Films presents "PLAN 9 FROM OUTER SPACE" (Released: July 1959) (79 mins) (Fully Restored/Dolby Digitally Remastered) --- now in COLOR and Glorious Black and White --- Plan 9 from Outer Space is a 1959 science fiction/horror film written, produced and directed by Edward D. Wood, Jr. --- The film stars Gregory Walcott, Mona McKinnon, Tor Johnson and Maila "Vampira" Nurmi --- The film also claims to posthumously star Bela Lugosi through use of archive footage, although Lugosi's character is primarily portrayed by chiropractor Tom Mason.

The plot of the film is focused on a race of extraterrestrial beings who are seeking to stop humans from creating a doomsday weapon that would destroy the universe --- In the course of doing so, the aliens implement "Plan 9", a scheme to resurrect earth's dead as zombies to get the planet's attention, causing chaos.

By merit of its writing, unconvincing special effects, and multiple production errors visible in the final version of the film, Plan 9 from Outer Space is sometimes regarded as a leading candidate for the title of "worst movie ever made." --- It has also earned Edward D. Wood, Jr. a posthumous Golden Turkey Award as the worst director ever. (From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)

the cast includes:
Bela Lugosi - The Ghoul Man
Maila Nurmi (Vampira) - The Ghoul's wife
Tor Johnson - Insp. Daniel Clay
Gregory Walcott - Jeff Trent
Mona McKinnon - Paula Trent
Duke Moore - Lt. John Harper
Tom Keene - Col. Tom Edwards
Gloria Dea - Mourner
Dudley Manlove - Eros
Joanna Lee - Tanna
John Breckinridge - The Ruler
Edward Reynolds - Grave digger
Reverend Jim Lymon - Minister at Clay's funeral
Dr. Tom Mason - Lugosi Double
Paul Marco - Patrolman Kelton
Conrad Brooks - Jamie the cop
Carl Anthony (Wuco) - Patrolman Larry

SPECIAL FEATURES -
1. Includes All New Clorized Version & Restored Black & White Version
2. Commentary by Mike Nelson of Mystery Science Theater 3000
3. Never Before Seen Ed Wood Home Movies
4. Rare Ed Wood Commercials
5. The Lost Plans 1-8
6. Delted Scenes
7. Plan 9 Trailer In Color

In 2006, Legend Films released a colorised version of Plan 9 from Outer Space on DVD --- The DVD featured an audio commentary track by comedian Michael J. Nelson of Mystery Science Theater 3000 fame, a restored black and white version of Plan 9, a home video of Edward D. Wood in drag performing a striptease (Wood, in real life, was a cross-dresser) and a comedic feature narrated by Nelson detailing the "lost" Plans 1-8.

Hats off and thanks to Barry B. Sandrew Ph.D. (Founder, COO & CTO) and his Legend Films Staff --- looking forward to more high quality releases from the vintage era of the '20s, '30s & '40s --- order your copy now from Amazon where there are plenty of copies available on DVD --- if you enjoyed this title, why not check out Legend Films where they are experts in releasing long forgotten films and treasures to the collector.

Total Time: 79 mins on DVD ~ Legend Films. ~ (6/27/2006)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plan 9 on Blu-ray, 6 Jun 2012
By 
M. Massey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is solely for Legend Films Blu-ray release.

Firstly the disc is advertised as a Region A only release, but thankfully is in fact region free.

The print is the same one used on the Region 1 colourised DVD.Plan 9 From Outer Space [DVD] [1959] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] ,and it includes the same compression problems inherent with the so-called remastered B & W version. That aside the colourised version is surprisingly good quality; the soundtrack beefed up to DTS, even. The extras are few: a few trailers, and the same comic commentary track from the DVD (some bloke from Mystery Theatre 3000?, apparently)

The final thought, is it worth upgrading? Cheaper than the UK DVD, yes; better picture than the UK DVD release, no.

The choice is yours....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Terrible... it's HYSTERICAL!!!, 8 Aug 2003
Yes, this is what is supposed to be the "worst movie" in Hollywood history by the "worst director" ever. This is the film that is the butt of so many running jokes and gags. And as terrible, goofy, stupid, and ridiculous as this movie is, it is still highly entertaining and enjoyable! "Plan 9 from Outer Space" is a memorable and silly film.
The movie focuses around aliens who orchestrate a plan to resurrect the dead to scare earthlings and show them their power. Nobody is safe when these mindless and very dull zombies create havoc all over town. It's up to the police and the government to put an end to the aliens' plans before things get more out of hand in this uproariously terrible film that leaves you wanting more.
I wanted to see this as soon as I saw Tim Burton's "Ed Wood." I knew that this was something I would have to see. And trust me, the movie wasn't over exaggerating on how goofy this film gets. The flaws are so in-your-face that you cannot help but laugh hysterically. First it's night, then it's daytime, then night, then daytime, and so on and so on. Bela Lugosi died before the film started, but never fear! Ed Wood used an extra (his wife's chiropractor who covers his face the whole time) and earlier shots of the late actor that don't even match up with what's going on in the movie! The acting is cheesy and horrendous, but that only adds to the unexpected glory of this cult-classic.
Although it is deemed as "the worst movie" in Hollywood history, I really don't think it is. As bad as it is, it is not the worst movie in the world. And I don't believe that Ed Wood's the worst director ever. The difference between him and so many of the directors today was the absolute passion he had. He so much wanted to tell stories and share them with the world. It's a shame that he is the end of many jokes and gags today, but then again, maybe he wouldn't mind. Maybe he would've been happy to get all of this recognition.
"Plan 9 from Outer Space" is horrendously cheesy and flawed, and yet it is still enjoyable all the way. This is Ed Wood's baby, and I'm sure that no matter how many people said bad things about it, he was still proud of it. If you're looking for a good laugh and a fun time, check out "Plan 9 from Outer Space." It is the king of goofy and cheesy films. It is amazing how popular it has become. As Bela told Wood in the film "Ed Wood," "There is no such thing as bad press." That statement proves to be absolutely true in the case of "Plan 9 from Outer Space." Trust me, you will NEVER forget the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars has to be seen to be believed..., 21 Aug 2001
By A Customer
I havn't laughed so much in ages. It really is that bad its good. Ok, plot: aliens try to take over the world by resurrecting the recently dead. Their other 9 plans failed, hence the title... Cue lots of graveyard shots (watch out for day/night continuety), awful narration ("...Future events such as these will affect you in the future...") and wobbly flying saucers. Ed Wood created the film around footage he'd filmed before Lugosi died so Lugosi's appearences are a bit random. Anyhow, watch it. I could go in for ever about the awfulness of the film. The DVD itself has a really interesting documentary, trailers from Ed's other 'memorable' films and stuff about Ed Wood. The DVD does not take itself seriously, which is perfect for theis film. Enjoy....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this World, 9 Mar 2002
By 
Will (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Considered the worst film of all time but you can't help but love it. The acting is awful, you'll howl with laughter at the "special" effects and you'll remain totally bewildered at the lack of continuity. The presence of Blea Lugosi or the lack of him is strangely charming as they continued the film with a stand in after his death. Plan 9 is a film so full of faults but strangely faultless. As for the DVD extras, well the documentary lasts longer than the movie but it can be a bit dull at times, however for once having trailers on a DVD is a genuine bonus as you see how the film was hyped. Buy this and pine for the golden age of Hollywood, a cult classic and undoubtedly Ed Wood's masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "My friends, can your hearts stand the shocking sight of Plan 9 in colour?!", 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, my friends, it seems that future events DID affect this film in the future. Not just content to use their Blu-ray-guns on this classic, those Earth fiends at Legend Films have only gone and dropped the Colouranite bomb on it as well. Cue dialogue -
Colonel Tom Edwards: "This is the most fantastic story I've ever heard."
Jeff Trent: "And every word of it's true, too."
Colonel Tom Edwards: "That's the fantastic part of it."

So, are all of Earth idiots by allowing this to happen? It seems not. If, like me, you know, love and have this film already in its original black and white, this is a welcome alternative edition for you to own. The actual blu-ray itself is region-free and plays fine in a PS3. Don't expect any widescreen or 5.1 surround, the picture is displayed in 4:3 ratio, and audio is 2.0 stereo. This is a film made in 1956, remember, so don't expect miracles! However, the quality of the transfer to blu-ray is very impressive. The picture is very sharp, and very clean, (though with the odd scratch still there that couldn't be restored), and much better to look at than the dvd version. The actual colourization is done very well, so now it just looks like a movie that was shot in colour. It appears that the people who decided on the precise colours to use had some fun, just check out the Aliens' purple uniforms and their Ruler's (Bunny Breckinridge giving a very camp I-can't-be-bothered-I'm-too-good-for-all-this performance) lime green shirt and pink boots! And watch Eros's face turn green when he is hit. Which leads me to a point that purists might not be happy with. This is something which didn't happen in the original b&w version, obviously, as you wouldn't see it, but there are two other alterations to the film which are more intrusive to anyone who knows the film well. Legend had auctioned off the opportunity to have a photograph digitally inserted into a picture frame on Paula Trent's bedroom wall during her scene with the Ghoul Man, and so now there is a modern picture of the winning couple in it. This is made even more obvious by the fact that the picture changes to one of a building a few seconds later in the same scene! The other alteration is that a previously plain gravestone which is by the side of the murdered Inspector Clay now has the names 'Paula & Russell' inscribed on it. Maybe I'm being picky, but I did find these two things slightly distracting and incongruous to the viewing experience. Though I wouldn't imagine most people will even notice these things. Or they probably wouldn't have till I pointed them out...sorry!

As for extras, there aren't many, and frankly the MPIC dvd release has better ones, including the documentary Flying Saucers over Hollywood. The blu-ray does have quite an interesting pop-up trivia quote option, though this can sometimes be hit and miss. It is mostly informative, but I did feel that they missed a few tricks. For instance, they could have mentioned that the actor in the quick shot of a man holding a newspaper was actually Ed Wood. And maybe I didn't need to know quite so much about the subject of pillow-hugging that went on for, well, nearly all night. Unless, of course, I'm missing something here, and they're just joining in with the Woodian spirit of "Hey, that looks good, let's stick it in the movie!"

So, all in all, this colourized version is definitely a worthy addition to the film collection of any Ed Wood fan. Or to anyone new to the man, who can appreciate and find humour in a film whose cast is composed mainly of the director's backers and misfit friends, whose acting is atrocious, whose dialogue is inane and nonsensical, whose continuity is completely off, whose special effects are atrocious, whose end result is the display of enthusiasm over ability. I love this film. It never fails to make me laugh and entertain me. And now it's in colour too! So, go and watch it. And, should you fail to like it, then all I can say is......"Your stupid minds! STUPID! STUPID!!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What do you want?, 10 Feb 2004
By 
Alexander Tapp "some guy" (Berlin in Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plan 9 From Outer Space [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
Many people seem to enjoy this movie but still call it BAD. Then there are those who speak of it like it's the worst thing ever put on celluloid, but exactly those people make a buck or two with the films of Ed Wood whom they call a "would-be-director"! I don't get it! This movie is great entertainment! Ed Wood made films under circumstances that would have driven others mad but he didn't give up. You must feel sorry for him because he put all his heart into his movies, and now everybody laughs at him. He could do only so much with what little money he had, also, if you want to know what he could do with a fistful of dollars more, just watch THE BRIDE AND THE MONSTER, which looks very good.
PLAN 9, like most of Wood's films, is great entertainment, therefore not a bad movie at all, and it's not stupid, there's truth in this movie! And it features one of the greatest lines ever, delivered by the unforgettable Criswell: "Can you prove that it didn't happen?"
Also my favourite dialogue:
She:"You still seem to be up there somewhere."
He:"Maybe I am."
She:"I don't think I've ever seen you in this mood before."
He:"I guess it's because I've never been in this mood before!"
If you wanna see something truly bad I'd recommend CAT WOMEN OF THE MOON", which will bore you to death(when watching it I could feel the devil's breath in my neck!)
Ed Wood's films should be approached with an open mind, and if you do so, you'll be rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plan 9 From Outer Space [DVD] [1956]
Plan 9 From Outer Space [DVD] [1956] by Mark Patrick Carducci (DVD - 2000)
9.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews