Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time for the Exorcist to step down
Forget comparisons with the Exorcist and the Omen, this is THE best religiously - themed horror film, bar none. While all the other horror films were busy dealing with Satanists and evil, Rupert Wainwright manages to make a top rate horror film out of Christianity.
The film follows Frankie Paige, a hairdresser whoes realtively 'normal' life is shattered when she...
Published on 9 Feb 2004 by Chaz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch
This was on TV a couple of weeks back but unfortunately I missed it so I bought the dvd. It's okay, nothing special, but something I wouldn't want to watch again. It's not a terrible film, but I didn't find it that amazing either. Average at best.
Published 9 months ago by R. Szikra


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time for the Exorcist to step down, 9 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: Stigmata [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Forget comparisons with the Exorcist and the Omen, this is THE best religiously - themed horror film, bar none. While all the other horror films were busy dealing with Satanists and evil, Rupert Wainwright manages to make a top rate horror film out of Christianity.
The film follows Frankie Paige, a hairdresser whoes realtively 'normal' life is shattered when she sufferes the first of the stigmata, the nails through the wrists. She has meetings with a priest to try to understand what is happening to her, and manages to fall for him, despite his vow of celibacy. As the movie progresses, a conspiracy to cover up a hidden gospel is unearthed, and the Vatican is prepared to take extreme measures to silence Frankie. I don't want to give away too much of the plot, because it is excellent, and the fil has an atmosphere unlike any others. True, the scenes where Frankie appears possesed and talks in a strange tongue, and the scene where she floats out of the bed are copied from the exorcist, but so what? They're done far better here, and the films own scenes are terrific. The scenes where Frankie recieves the stigmata are all sudden and shocking, especially the scene on the train, with the light flickering as the train goes through tunnels. If you like religously - themed film such as the Exorcist, the Omen, Rosemary's Baby, Bless The Child, etc. then you'll love this film. If you're new to the horror genre, then this is a great place to start. Top notch acting and visual effects, a great soundtrack and a truly absorbing plot make this one of the best films in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality film which makes you think, 22 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stigmata [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I saw the film in the cinema when it came out and had not read any reviews. I came out thinking it was a thought provoking film nicely dressed in a modern gloss (good visuals, sound etc). The main actors put in good understated performances that simply enhance the story - as it should be. I have read numerous reviews in DVD magazines which have slated the film but everyone I know who has seen it enjoyed it. Personally I found the Exorcist jumbled and disappointing but this film flows well. Its in my DVD library and recommend it heartily. I don't give 5 stars unless the film's astounding but this is certainly 4 (and a bit).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love this movie!, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stigmata [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have watched this film countless times on TV and decided to finally purchase it. I love it because of the rather Lutheran view on the gospels: that Jesus woud have said that the Kingdom of God is within us and around us and does not call for extravagant buildings. It gives whole new meaning to the term 'a good christian'! And oh well...I enjoy Gabriel Byrne as a catholic priest what's not to like? And Patricia Arquette is charming vulnerable and believable as Frankie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doves & Demons, 19 July 2003
This review is from: Stigmata [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The brilliant Stigmata is one the most intelligent and polished additions to the growing horror sub-genre of modern, surrealistic, gothic films designed to appeal to the younger end of the market - although the melodrama and unnecessary gore which plague similar efforts have found no place in this movie.
Whilst some of the composite sequences taking place as the protagonist, Frankie Paige (Arquette), receives her stigmatic wounds can tend to drag, the cinematic style is slick, dark, and highly atmospheric, with some stunning camera work. The sets themselves are well worth the viewing too, particularly the mahogany-lined vaults of Vatican City.
As far the plot goes - there is much to frustrate the expert theologian, with tenuous movie-science forays into dead languages and Catholic IT networks. However, the core thread of the story makes compelling viewing, creating a real sense of empathy with the main characters which keeps the suspense and adrenaline running high. The developing relationship between the main characters is extremely touching, even to the hardest rom-com cynic, mainly thanks to some sensitive acting from Byrne. The only and most vital flaw is the film's incessant need to explain everything as explicitly as possible without actually using subtitles - and occasionally actually using subtitles - though this is unlikely to bother the first-time viewer.
Although the chain of events which lead to the appearance of the stigmata - involving crying statues, pickpockets and a perennially absent mother on a trip to Brazil - beggars belief, you may well be left pondering anxiously on the film's tag line: Pray You're Not Next.
I can definitely recommend investing in this film - with the warning that due to the high reliance on suspense related to the ending, it is unlikely to give you the same adrenaline kick on the second viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stigmata, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stigmata [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Really excellent movie. Gabriel Byrne is top of the top. Very powerful story, very good casting, excellent realisation. Absolutely classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Criticism of the Catholic Church, 6 Sep 2000
This review is from: Stigmata [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
I am a nineteen year old girl..I do believe in god but I don't believe in the Catholic Church. Before I watched this film I didn't know why I didn't believe in this institution. But when I walked out of the cinema I knew why..I don't want to tell you too much because you have to experience it for yourself. After all this film is brilliant, it is quite scary and the actors are brilliant! I absolutely adored Patricia Arquette! She must have spent ages on the myth of Stigmatas! After all, Enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing religious thriller, 4 Sep 2005
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stigmata [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
"Stigmata" is an interesting film exploring the phenomenon of people afflicted by the bleeding wounds of Christ. Over the centuries there have been many stigmatics such as St Francis of Assissi and more recently Padre Pio of Italy. This film explores the events surrounding a young atheist hairdresser (Arquette) who suddenly begins to suffer these afflictions and starts channeling messages. A Vatican priest (Byrne) is sent to investigate and as the mystery unravels secrets that could threaten the Roman Catholic Church are revealed. "Stigmata" is an intelligent ,well-acted and visually impressive film. Try to imagine a combination of "The Thorn Birds", "Constantine", "The Exorcist" and "The Godfather Part 3" and you'll get a feel for the atmosphere and plot of "Stigmata".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please !!!, 29 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Stigmata [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Man i love this film, i've seen it 4 times, and every time i watch it i spot something new. Every scene in the film is significant, so if you need to leave the room, be sure to pause it, because you will come back confused !! It is very thought provoking, and has managed to stir some religious interest in me. The soundtrack is amazing, and the acting and special effects (especially the scenes when Frankie recieves the Stigmata) are top quality. Love this film, buy it now !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films that I've seen for a long time!, 7 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stigmata [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
As a general rule I don't go in for the horror, cult, and gore films, but as soon as a sat in the seat at the cinema I was hooked on this one. It had a good story line, great special effects, and very impressive performances from Arquette and Byrne. But even more importantly it didn't drag on, not at one point did I even consider looking away from the scene, and it stayed well clear of the stereotypical films which have loads of money thrown at them, stars with even bigger wallets (even though they can't act to say their lives!), and then get given 18 classification, so every idiot below the age of 25 flocks to see them. I would recommend this film to anyone (no matter what your taste in films is) who wants to see something original, not trashy, and with the novelty of actors that can actually act. Now I will stop dragging on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stigmata, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stigmata [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I saw this film years ago and was reminded of it recently so bought it. It's a great film with the wonderful Patricia Arquette (Medium) and equally wonderful Garbriel Byrne. Arquette is Frankie Paige, an atheist hairdresser who loves to drink and go clubbing with her mates. When her mother sends her a rosary that she buys from a pedler whilst on vacation in South America as part of a small parcel of souvenirs (unaware that it was stolen from a newly deceased and highly devout priest), Frankie starts to experience the stigmata, (the 5 wounds of Jesus Christ before and during his crucifixion). A Vatican priest called Father Keirnan (Byrne) who specialises in religious phenomenon (but with a scientific background) hears about her and goes to investigate. When Frankie starts to write in Aramaic (the language spoken in the time of Christ) the words of Christ which go against the church (Rome), it brings out the dangerous aspect of an institution (the church) that seeks to hide the truth from the masses to protect it's position (and wealth). Thus begins a very real and heart-opening journey for both Frankie and Father Keirnan on many levels.

The acting is fine and there's a great soundtrack as well as being nicely shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3948cc0)

This product

Stigmata [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Stigmata [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] by Rupert Wainwright (DVD - 2000)
4.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews