Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different setting for a zombie film, but it works
This film is fine and has a strong and commanding lead role by Andre Morell. It's a good story, is well put together, and interestingly is set in 1860 in darkest Cornwall (and not as you would perhaps expect in the Caribbean, or Haiti in particular).

Sir James Forbes, an eminent professor of medicine at London University, receives a troublesome letter from one...
Published on 5 Jan 2008 by LXIX

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars One of Hammer's best...
...but doesn't bear much re-watching. It's good to see zombies portrayed as something other than athletic cannibals and there are some genuinely creepy moments. However campness overwhelms it. It doesn't have the durability of Quatermass and some other Hammer offerings, but I'm happy to have watched it.
Published 6 months ago by J. Stockwell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars One of Hammer's best..., 18 Jun 2014
By 
J. Stockwell (Here, there and everywhere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
...but doesn't bear much re-watching. It's good to see zombies portrayed as something other than athletic cannibals and there are some genuinely creepy moments. However campness overwhelms it. It doesn't have the durability of Quatermass and some other Hammer offerings, but I'm happy to have watched it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic hammer film re-visited, 11 May 2014
I don't have a blu ray player but this edition of the movie features a normal dvd copy too. I bought it mainly for the special features which are great! This is my favourite hammer film and it deserves such a great makeover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Andre Morell is superb in fascinating Hammer entry., 17 Sep 2013
Anyone that digs zombie movies of the past decade should probably stay well clear of this horror classic. Back in the 60s, we got plots that made more sense and charcater building, not to mention great acting. So you won't find tons of gore here or cardboard cut out actors that act as if a zombie outbreak is as normal as boiling the kettle.

Andre Morell is superb throughout the film and there is a devilish atmopshere that never lets up. The film also inspired someone called George A Romero and thus 2 years after this movie, Romero the Godfather of the zombie movie gave us Night of the Living Dead.

Hammer did better movies that Plague, and there have been better zombie movies, but Plague is a decent horror, backed up by a great script and superior acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any hammer horror fan, 25 Feb 2001
By A Customer
When I first saw this film on the tv i thought i had to have it so I did and its still as brilliant as it was, A squire dabbles in voodoo rituals creating zombies that run a mill for him, A doctor and his daughter go to cornwall to visit old friends but find that they hve to stop the evil squire before its to late
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plague Of The Zombies Blu Ray review, 3 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is always around this sort of time of year when the nights are getting cold and dark that I yearn to dig out my old Hammer Horror collection and bask in the atmospheric wonderfulness of the UKs best known horror studio. So with this in mind I decided it would be the perfect opportunaty to sample the new Blu ray releases from Hammer that are being distributed by Studio Canal and for no other reason than that I found a very resonably priced copy here on Amazon my first and definatly not last Hammer Blu ray is John Gilling's 1966 Plague Of The Zombies.
For most modern audiences the word zombie in a movie title conjurs up images of the films of Romero, Fulci or even TV shows like the Walking Dead complete with gratuitous gore, grue and general mean spiritedness. Plague Of The Zombies which also happens to be Hammers only foray into the zombie genre is a far more sedate, charming and elegant film compared to the blood and thunder approach of more recent walking dead movies and is more more akin to the zombie movies of old such as the Bela Lugosi starrer White Zombie or the wonderfuly titled but suprisingly tame I Eat Your Skin complete with a voodoo master and a hord of drone like and mostly unthreatening zombie slaves. I suppose this was a time before Night Of The Living Dead with its cannabalistic ghouls and social commentary that took over the genre and cemented audiences expectations of what a zombie film should be all about but this far more classical take by Hammer is thouroughly commendable and totally in keeping with the studios 60s output.
Though obviously a Hammer film this misses a number of traits assciated with the studio. There is no Christopher Lee or Peter Cushing, no bared fangs and not pumped up heaving cleavage in sight. What it does possess though is that wonderful Hammer atmosphere and gothic feel that permeates every frame and despite the relatively low budget these films endured, lavish sets, costumes and rousing orchestral score.
The cast for Plague is also suprisingly strong helped a good and entertaing script. Veteran actor Andre Morell who plied his trade on epic productions such as Bridge On The River Kwai and Ben Hur is perfectly cast as the pushy headstrong professer and John Carson is suitably sinister as the secretive and arrogant squire. Brook Williams is effective enough as the doctor but always seems to play second fiddle to Morell's persistant professor character when ever they share a scene.
As most Hammer fanatics will already know, Plague Of The Zombies was shot back to back with John Gilling's other Cornish set piece The Reptile with which its shared locations and cast and crew members. It was then double billed with the far more flamboyant Dracula Prince Of Darkness which itself was shot back to back with Rasputin The Mad Monk which then went on to be a double bill with The Reptile. Confused? Well this was a clever marketing ploy by Hammer and then distributor 20th Century Fox meaning audiences could have a horror double bill and not think they were getting the same movie. This ment Hammer could release more films while keeping the costs of the movie making process down. Compared to its companion piece The Reptile, Plague is a far more accomplished production with a better script, storyline, costumes and make-up and it is blatently obvious more went into this. It is fair to say that Plague is up there with some of the best that came out of Bray Studio. There are images in this feature that have stayed with me since I saw this on TV as a child. The first zombie sighting by the abandoned mine shaft and the now infamous graveyard nightmare sequence are amongst some of the best Hammer has to offer and I'm sure must have sent a shiver down the spines of 60s movie goers. I defy any fan of classic horror not to enjoy Plague Of The Zombies and this comes comes highly recommended.

As I mentioned earlier in this review this is the first Hammer/Studio Canal Blu ray I have bought and if this transfer is anything to go by it will not be my last. In a word Plague Of The Zombies MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.66:1 transfer is exquisite. Ok so this doesent look as if it were shot yesterday and nor should it but if a bar were to be set on to how a mid 60s genre film were to look in HD then this would be extremely high. The first thing you notice is how incredibally detailed and well defined the image is from the opening credits which show no real signs of optical problems which persist in older films given the 1080p treatment through to close ups of faces complete with the wrinkles and lines of Morell and Michael Ripper and the pale delicate skin of Alice. Period clothing is also given a boost with intricate detailing on the lace of a nightgown to the tweed of a gentlemans jacket. Exterior scenes also look extremely strong with exceptional clarity showcasing the wonderful English countryside settings with accurate rendering of foliage and rustic scenery through to stone walls and gravely roads. Black levels are pretty good. These can look a little grey in day time scenes but look nice and inky in the voodoo ceremony scenes and the mine set finale with only a mild amount of crush and the fire in the study shows no signs of pixalisation. Of course Hammer were well known for shooting day for night on almost all of their productions and Plague is no exception but even these sections look as good as they can possibly could be given the circumstances and definatly add to the charm of these films and like the rest of the transfer look very crisp with plenty of depth. Colour reprodution is pleasing and very natural without any real boosting seeming to have taken place and apart from some nice film grain there are no age related problems to report. Superb.
Audio has been given the lossless treatment in the form of an LPCM mono track and although Studio Canal have been blasted recently for the sound on a couple of their other Hammer titles I am pleased to say that this release is absolutly perfect in every way. Right from the opening when the voodoo drums came pounding through my front speakers I new this was going to be a strong track. The music exhibited plenty of depth from the aformentioned drums through to the classic Hammer theme. I knew when this music cue would come bursting through over the opening credits and almost winced in the antisipation only to be pleasantly suprised at how rich James Bernard's strings sounded. Everything else in the film sounds just as strong. Of course there isnt going to be any real movement or overt dynamics and yes it is only plain flat mono but I wouldnt want a stereo or 5.1 remix of this and with exceptionally clear dialogue and crisp sounding foley work plus not to mention a complete lack of distortions or background hiss fans couldnt really ask for more.
Extras are obviously light years ahead of any previous release from the Uk with an informative documentary, restoration comparison, theatrical trailer and vintage world of hammer episode narrated by Oliver Reed. A highly recommended package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Film!, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great restoration of one of Hammer's most admired films. The prototype of future zombie films from George Romero to Simon Pegg and set against the backdrop of an eerie Cornwall.The gothic atmosphere and excellent shock moments, including the mass rising of the dead, are perfectly complemented by the first rate performances of Andre Morrel and John Carson as hero and villain respectively ........ prompt delivery.... thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Hammer's best films gets the makeover it truly deserves, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant Hammer horror, produced back to back with The Reptile in 1965, this B-film proved to be one of the studios best loved and memorable titles, still producing shivers when seen today.

Nasty squire John Carson is practising voodoo rituals he learnt in Haiti to raise the dead of a Cornish village and work as cheap labour in his tin mine.
Good professor Andre Morell and his daughter Diane Clare discover the truth, and help put an end to the horror.

A really good old fashioned Hammer horror, rith tons of style and atmosphere, and very good zombie makeup for the time, the famous nightmare scene is still one of the studios finest achievements.

The blu-ray is loaded with extras and the print quality of the main feature ( shown as it properly was in the UK version rather than the re-edited US version,) is breath-taking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Presentation of a Forgotten Gem., 18 Oct 2012
By 
S. Muzyka (Rugby,Warwickshire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you were going to compile a DVD of classic horror moments then the so-called "Nightmare Sequence" from this movie would undoubtedly feature. Even if you think the rest of the film is garbage (and I don't, by the way), this scene will stay long in the memory. Discordant music, disorientating atmosphere and a stunningly effective depiction of zombies rising from the grave, its one of the greatest moments in British horror history. The film itself was shot on a ridiculously low budget as part of a four-picture deal that included 'Dracula, Prince Of Darkness' 'Rasputin The Mad Monk' (shot back to back with the same sets and mostly the same actors) and 'The Reptile' (ditto with this film) and its probably the best of the lot. The lead actors, John Carson and Andre Morell, appear to be enjoying themselves immensely and while some of the supporting cast are a bit wooden to say the least (honourable exception to the great Hammer stalwart Michael Ripper of course), it doesn't detract too much from the film itself.
The picture for this release is excellent and probably as good as could be expected for a film shot so cheaply (it wouldn't have been high-grade film stock but they HAVE been able to restore the picture from the original camera negative). Scratches and overall picture damage are significantly better than the previous DVD copy I owned, that's for sure, and the colour is noticeably richer. Sound is pretty good too, though only basic (no surround effects here), but again that's probably down to the source material.
The extras are well presented, with a new documentary a particular highlight. Not only do we get the usual Hammer experts sounding off (that's not a criticism ,in case you were wondering),but also the added bonus of interviews with surviving cast members John Carson and Jaqueline Pearce. Carson is a delight - full of warmth and good humour - while Pearce is refreshingly candid in her insights.So often these documentaries are like a mutual back-slapping society so it's great to hear someone not afraid to give their honest opinion for a change and Pearce certainly does - Revealing Andre Morells' intense dislike for the actress Diane Clare who played his onscreen daughter, as well as offering her own withering assessment on Brook Williams' performance as her husband.
Given all the problems and disappointments that are surrounding these Blu Ray releases of Hammer films (with much of the criticism justified) this one at least appears to be free of such troubles. You could do a lot worse than this and if you want to get into classic British horror this is a great place to start, with the "Nightmare Sequence" sure to make an impression - even if the rest of the film does not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, mostly good BD, 4 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a fan of this film, as a rare example of English/Hammer zombie horror from the 60's. Good to great acting (Morell and Pearce) and an interesting plot, with a great "dream" sequence and a satisfying resolution make for a cult classic. The blu-ray is, as expected, a big improvement in terms of resolution and detail over previous DVD releases. The colours, esp. reds and greens, jump off the screen, and scratches/dirt etc. have been mostly eliminated. Day time scenes and interiors are very pleasing to view. My only real quibble is with the exterior night time scenes, and the previously mentioned dream scene. My comments are comparing the BD to the very good Anchor Bay DVD of a few years ago. Shot day for night originally these scenes could, I feel, have been printed down slightly in the BD transfer to give a more nightime feel. As it is these scenes seem overly bright to my eye, the night feel supposedly conveyed by just muting the colour. This is especially apparent in the dream sequence where the Anchor Bay DVD had a very effective blue/green cast in this one scene that very effectively added to the weirdness of it. So, overall a big jump in picture "quality", but maybe a slight lessening in terms of "mood". I think I'll keep viewing both versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer Horror in a dual pack!, 14 Dec 2014
By 
P Goodhead (Worcester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exceptional Blu-ray transfer (and also DVD as this is a dual package) of one of Hammer's better gothic output from the sixties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plague of the Zombies [DVD] [1966] [US Import]
Used & New from: £4.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews